SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Cityscapes (Cityscapes)

6 more reviews
Viewed 3354 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/04 8:45 AM
Last Updated:1/14/08 2:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
joan said...
Lisa, You ended up with a very nice dress. The silhouette is lovely. I have considered buying this pattern several times, but couldn't come up with an appealing fabric to use. Your use of slinky and your helpful review leads me to consider that option or better yet the stretch velvet idea. Thanks for the thorough review.
11/15/04 9:29 AM
KarmenG said...
Lisa - it looks really cute on you! Nice job.
11/15/04 9:34 AM
PhyllisC said...
Great job Lisa! I've made this up in both slinky and stretch velvet - the low armholes you note are mostly pattern related - I had the same thing happen with stretch velvet, although not as much....one thing slinky does give you is enough stretch to walk at a normal stride instead of a hobble - the bottom hem circumfrence of the dress is pretty narrow.
11/15/04 10:17 AM
MaryBeth said...
Eeesch, Lisa, I thought the same thing about this pattern but yours looks very nice on you. I haven't sewn a dress from slinky either so thanks for sharing the problems it can give us. Glad to see you're sewing again!
11/15/04 10:53 AM
Skymom said...
Lisa, this looks just darling on you! Even with the drastic shortening, I can still see the shape clearly, and you probably ended up with a slightly wider hemline that you can actually walk in. Hmmm...maybe I need to break out this pattern myself.
11/15/04 1:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Brave soul! Attempting a SW pattern that are to me a little off from the norm; not a bad thing! And using slinky to test it. I love slinky but like you found it is unbelievable how it grows. Great results, good review.
11/16/04 5:26 AM
Pat T said...
Good job! I made the jumper part out of a sweater knit and wore it over a turtleneck and pants, and shortened it a bit. It looked good. You definitely need the insert pieces (if not the whole thing) out of a knit so it drapes instead of standing away from your body. Fun top, easy to make.
11/16/04 6:05 AM
lindrix said...
great look on you, make sure you show us the vest together with the dress when you get it done --lin
11/17/04 0:45 AM
Annika said...
I just bought this pattern - thanks for writing this review!
11/18/04 11:30 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I made this dress out of a black jersey (don't remember the fabric content-think it was cotton-poly but an excellent quality one with good hand). I took it on a trip to Italy in fall. I took a lot of clothes but after 2nd day I put this dress on and wore it every day after (people on tour with me probably felt sorry for me with only one outfit)! It was the perfect travel dress - covered enough for any situation - comfy and easy for fast toilet stops - chic enough to compete with the fabulous Italian women. I wore with black tights and black shoes and, if weather required, threw a vest over it. Funny, today in looking through Magellans (travel clothing & accessories) they have a dress that looks like a copy, perhaps neckline a little more scooped for $159. Mine, unfortunately, got a little pilling and worn out after a couple of years of heavy wear. I need to make another - slinky would work but, as Lisa says, it does grow. I have some black microfiber jersey that I got from Micheals - lovely stuff - pretty sure I got enough to remake this dress. Also, you can cut the top off this dress, put an elastic waist in, and you have a sensational skirt. I have a couple, one in a jacquard slinky type knit and another in a knit I got from Casual Elegance. A friend of mine made a stunning burnt out velvet knit one!
4/8/05 10:33 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Leslie, that's a good idea to make the skirt from this dress! I've been thinking the top part would make a good t, too....
4/9/05 8:09 AM
grisgirl said...
I made this dress, also. I love the dress, but don't care much for the overdress. The overdress looks like an interesting garment, but the pockets tend to stick out in an unflattering manner. I made the dress twice, using a knit with spandex. I found the armholes to be low, but comfortable for me. It looks best on me if I wear a vest over it. If you are small and without too many bulges, it looks great without a vest. I like the dress for a wintertime dress with a polar fleece vest. I plan to make it again. I did not like the pattern illustration, but the dress just called to me.
5/20/05 7:15 AM
Monabel said...
Your dress is becoming. I made this in an olive rayon knit, and liked the fit and look. However, could not walk comfortably in the hobble skirt. No one else complains of this, so maybe I messed up?
2/17/06 11:10 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Monabel, several of the ladies who commented noted that the bottom is narrow; I think mine is ok because the slinky stretches so easily as I'm walking.
2/18/06 9:06 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Your link for the pattern doesn't work, and I can't find it on the Sewing Workshop site. Also am getting an "Uh-oh. Something bad happened..." on the link for your second attempt. Sounds cute though
11/26/06 3:31 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Your link for the pattern doesn't work, and I can't find it on the Sewing Workshop site. Also am getting an "Uh-oh. Something bad happened..." on the link for your second attempt. Sounds cute though
11/26/06 3:32 PM
dreamdesigner said...
Your link for the pattern doesn't work, and I can't find it on the Sewing Workshop site. Also am getting an "Uh-oh. Something bad happened..." on the link for your second attempt. Sounds cute though
11/26/06 3:33 PM
bunz said...
ooooooh, I'm too late and the photo of the teal is gone. I'm still planning to make this, so I'm glad to hear it's not "dated".
11/26/06 3:37 PM
Nancywin said...
Your dress looks very nice and I'm not getting the update link or the pattern photos either. I think this pattern is very flattering on you!
11/26/06 3:49 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ack! I can see my photo if I'm logged in to yahoo, but not otherwise. I think this is the first time I've uploaded something since the switch to 'New Yahoo Photos', so I'm not sure what's going on. The album is set to public view, so that's not the issue. Arrgg!!! I will edit the review to reflect SW's discontinuation of the pattern...sorry!
11/26/06 4:00 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Aha! Discovery! With New Yahoo, it is not enough to upload a photo to a public album...I have to flag each new photo as public. Learn something new every day..... (the photo should be ok now)
11/26/06 4:08 PM
Erica B. said...
Lisa, the dress in teal is beautiful.
11/26/06 7:14 PM
Modiste Madness said...
That is such a flattering dress for a variety of figures. I really like both of your versions.
11/27/06 8:55 AM
mastdenman said...
Ohhh. I like that dress and have that pattern. I never thought of it as a stand alone garment.
11/27/06 9:42 AM
Irene said...
Thanks for the update and photo collection of all the versions. They look wonderful on you. I got this pattern at a local PR get-together, when no one else could imagine making the goofy-looking pieces illustrated on the pattern envelope. I, however, remembered your review and am encouraged to try this. That you've made this dress several times is testimony enough for me!
1/14/08 8:53 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Irene, I bet this dress would look fabulous on you. I always enjoy wearing one of mine...I get compliments every time I put one on. :)
1/14/08 10:05 PM
Athene said...
I just love this dress - PR has five reviews and I have looked at them many times in the past year or so - finally I found at source that still carries this OOP pattern and have been able to order it. I can hardly wait to get it so I can try making up one of these.
1/31/08 6:47 AM
moushka said...
I'm sorry this pattern was discontinued, especially with jumpers coming back into fashion. Your versions are terrific and show that good style always lasts, whatever fashion says.
9/16/08 9:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-22

photo
by: quitereaso...

Review
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now