Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-110 (Mock Wrap Top w Side Inset) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 314 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 9:46 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Love your fix for the too long sleeve. You got a terrific fit in the back.
3/2/12 10:08 AM
Mufffet said...
REALLY cute - love the style - very flattering - I should think this style would flatter most figure types. :) Nice color too!
3/2/12 10:15 AM
marec said...
Interesting pattern and your work is evident in the fit. I love your fix for the sleeves. This is a cute top and I hope you make another.
3/2/12 10:56 AM
MNBarb said...
Great save on the sleeves. I'm going to file this in my sewing memory. I've had that problem with the sides pulling in but it isn't very noticeable on your top. Wear it and enjoy. It's fun to have another crossover top that doesn't look like all the others.
3/2/12 2:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's a nice wearable top, even if it isn't perfect, and your efforts to make it work are impressive, as usual. I hope you enjoy wearing it.
3/2/12 4:24 PM
21wale said...
Too bad about the pulling at the side seams. I don't know that it's terribly noticeable. I'm wish I knew the answer to the gape-y wrap neckline! However, I think it looks really good. Definitely not a fail.
3/2/12 8:08 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top and informative review!
3/2/12 8:51 PM
SewWil said...
I like your top. As usual, great review!
3/3/12 0:04 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
It's a pretty cute top regardless of the issues you had. These funky tops can be so hard to alter (ask me how I know). I bet if you move on and make it again out of stretchier fabric it will be up to your standards. Very cute, however, as is.
3/3/12 12:36 PM
Dale C said...
great save. It's still very wearable and is flattering. I think it's a pattern worth saving.
3/3/12 2:05 PM
madronadesign said...
Your sweater looks good. I love this pattern. I've made it a couple of times, trying different sizes in rayon jersey with good recovery, but mine don't hang right either. I think the best result would be with a fairly beefy jersey, worn with negative ease. anything looser and you get distortion. :( Anyway, I'd be pleased if mine looked as good as yours!
3/3/12 6:38 PM
carolynw said...
I like this - you certainly did a lot to make it work well for you - hope you will wear it a lot and make another
3/4/12 1:08 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
It certainly doesn't look like a "fail"! Thanks for the great review.
3/4/12 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us