SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-110 (Mock Wrap Top w Side Inset)

15 more reviews
Viewed 315 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 9:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Love your fix for the too long sleeve. You got a terrific fit in the back.
3/2/12 10:08 AM
Mufffet said...
REALLY cute - love the style - very flattering - I should think this style would flatter most figure types. :) Nice color too!
3/2/12 10:15 AM
marec said...
Interesting pattern and your work is evident in the fit. I love your fix for the sleeves. This is a cute top and I hope you make another.
3/2/12 10:56 AM
MNBarb said...
Great save on the sleeves. I'm going to file this in my sewing memory. I've had that problem with the sides pulling in but it isn't very noticeable on your top. Wear it and enjoy. It's fun to have another crossover top that doesn't look like all the others.
3/2/12 2:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's a nice wearable top, even if it isn't perfect, and your efforts to make it work are impressive, as usual. I hope you enjoy wearing it.
3/2/12 4:24 PM
21wale said...
Too bad about the pulling at the side seams. I don't know that it's terribly noticeable. I'm wish I knew the answer to the gape-y wrap neckline! However, I think it looks really good. Definitely not a fail.
3/2/12 8:08 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top and informative review!
3/2/12 8:51 PM
SewWil said...
I like your top. As usual, great review!
3/3/12 0:04 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
It's a pretty cute top regardless of the issues you had. These funky tops can be so hard to alter (ask me how I know). I bet if you move on and make it again out of stretchier fabric it will be up to your standards. Very cute, however, as is.
3/3/12 12:36 PM
Dale C said...
great save. It's still very wearable and is flattering. I think it's a pattern worth saving.
3/3/12 2:05 PM
madronadesign said...
Your sweater looks good. I love this pattern. I've made it a couple of times, trying different sizes in rayon jersey with good recovery, but mine don't hang right either. I think the best result would be with a fairly beefy jersey, worn with negative ease. anything looser and you get distortion. :( Anyway, I'd be pleased if mine looked as good as yours!
3/3/12 6:38 PM
carolynw said...
I like this - you certainly did a lot to make it work well for you - hope you will wear it a lot and make another
3/4/12 1:08 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
It certainly doesn't look like a "fail"! Thanks for the great review.
3/4/12 2:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-108B

photo
by: Donna Like...

Review
Butterick 4954

photo
by: AClockwork...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now