SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8307 (MISSES' JACKET AND COAT)

12 more reviews
Viewed 453 times 
Reviewed by:valkyrie01
photo

 
 
About valkyrie01star
QC CANADA
Member since: 8/7/11
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/12 10:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fauxgetaboutit said...
Stunning! What an incredible job! You really made this pattern and fabric sing with all your attention to detail. Great job!
4/30/12 10:25 PM
Dilliander said...
Wow, what a fabulous coat and review. You did a great job.
4/30/12 10:27 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous coat! I can see why you feel like an Empress in this. Great job!!!
4/30/12 10:42 PM
velosewer said...
I agree. Incredible job.
4/30/12 11:19 PM
tsedai said...
Wow! This looks amazing! I love everything about your coat - fabulous job.
5/1/12 0:07 AM
barebear said...
What a gorgeous coat. I love the fabric choice, and the collar and the buttons are fabrulous!
5/1/12 1:15 AM
Joanna in Western Australia said...
Congratulations. Loved the blow by blow description of how you made this beautiful coat!! How do you make sure the chevron stitching for the interfacing doesn't show through to the fashion fabric?
5/1/12 3:03 AM
Sassy T said...
Fantastic!
5/1/12 3:07 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous coat, you did an incredible job.
5/1/12 8:30 AM
butterflyfly said...
Stunning! Fantastic coat and photos!! I never knew about interfacing being hand sewn.. Great report on facebook..
5/1/12 9:51 AM
marec said...
The fabric, the style lines, the buttons...a marvelous coat!
5/1/12 10:44 AM
SavageCoco said...
Couture lives! Well done.
5/1/12 1:16 PM
cocosloft said...
Beautofully done. Enjoyed your review as well!
5/2/12 0:14 AM
pdiddly said...
I have had this pattern for ages - wonderful to see it made up - you did a beautiful job
5/2/12 2:51 AM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
Amazing Coat! Thank you for the all the details and great pictures on Facebook!
5/2/12 7:50 PM
valkyrie01 said...
Thank you everyone for your wonderful coments! To Joanna in Western Australia It is true that chevrons can come through to the other side. You can see a lot of them in undercollars of shirts and coats that are couture sewn, it is (in a strange way) proof that they are couture. As for the body it is imortant to keep that to a minimal. working with a large busy loose, weave like the one that i used helps. It is important to pick up only a thread or two while sewin chevrons.
5/3/12 11:52 PM
yummymummy38 said...
I have always been drawn to this design, but being 5'1" sighed and moved on. Love this on you, fabulous fabric, pattern, outfit. Congratulations from a coat lover and admirer.
5/8/12 8:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 1938

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now