SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7862 (Shoulder Bag)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1388 times 
Reviewed by:Lisette
photo

 
 
About Lisettestar
MD
Member since: 11/2/02
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/04 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/15/04 4:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SueV said...
I've made this purse andit's great! Very comfortable. I want to make another, but do the zipper horizontally. I feel that my "loot" will fall out when opening the verticle zipper. But I love the compartments in the straps for my phone and small stuff.
11/15/04 5:18 PM
Gail S said...
I have this pattern but have yet to make it up. So many patterns and fabrics, so little time! Very nice job. I'm sure your cousin will love it.
11/15/04 8:52 PM
PattiK said...
Great job! I too have to make this pattern at least mine is in the to do pile :-)
11/15/04 9:16 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job, very nice bag. smvite-when you put things in the bag, does it still hang nice loaded up?
11/16/04 5:28 AM
AnneM said...
I've been eyeing this pattern (& the similar Kwik-Sew), since they seem so practical. You will have to travel over to Barcelona to give this to your cousin. I'm also not comfortable w/ that vertical zipper.
11/16/04 7:20 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Very nice job. I have made this bag, also. I tested it with a home dec fabric from Joanne's flat fold table. I'm 5'2" and made the shorter bag. It fits my body and carries exceptionally well. I find the center zipper awkward, though. I plan to make it again from a nice fabric and will definitely do a horizontal zipper. Any tips on Sandra's horizontal placement?
11/16/04 7:26 AM
Lisette said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. Elaine she just said to use the back piece for the front, slash it where you would like the zipper to be and add seam allowances.
11/16/04 11:15 AM
Hilary said...
Nice job! I made this also and gave it to my mother-she loves it! I want to make another someday :o) with a horizontal zipper instead. I like your "suede" version, it looks great!
11/17/04 7:40 PM
Nec said...
very nice bag, did you sew a gusset at bottom of the main compartment?
11/20/04 11:05 PM
Melody said...
I love your bag. You did a great job on it. I'm sure your cousin will be thrilled. I made this up last year but I ran into a problem that others like me should be aware of. I'm 5'8" and I have a large bustline and a longer than normal torso. The bag was too short. In order to fix it I'll have to add a piece in the top of the strap. It'll be fine but just a heads up for those of us who have to make those kinds of adjustments.
11/28/04 1:28 PM
Lisette said...
Nec, I did not add a gusset, I made it as designed. Melody, the pattern includes a petite version which I will make for my mom, thanks for pointing out the opposite side for those who are tall.
12/27/04 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Burda 9516

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6089

photo
by: EleanorSew...

Review

Pattern