SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7862 (Shoulder Bag)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1388 times 
Reviewed by:Lisette
photo

 
 
About Lisettestar
MD
Member since: 11/2/02
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/04 4:27 PM
Last Updated:11/15/04 4:29 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Nec, I did not add a gusset, I made it as designed. Melody, the pattern includes a petite version which I will make for my mom, thanks for pointing out the opposite side for those who are tall.
12/27/04 9:39 AM
Melody said...
I love your bag. You did a great job on it. I'm sure your cousin will be thrilled. I made this up last year but I ran into a problem that others like me should be aware of. I'm 5'8" and I have a large bustline and a longer than normal torso. The bag was too short. In order to fix it I'll have to add a piece in the top of the strap. It'll be fine but just a heads up for those of us who have to make those kinds of adjustments.
11/28/04 1:28 PM
Nec said...
very nice bag, did you sew a gusset at bottom of the main compartment?
11/20/04 11:05 PM
Hilary said...
Nice job! I made this also and gave it to my mother-she loves it! I want to make another someday :o) with a horizontal zipper instead. I like your "suede" version, it looks great!
11/17/04 7:40 PM
Lisette said...
Thanks everyone for your comments. Elaine she just said to use the back piece for the front, slash it where you would like the zipper to be and add seam allowances.
11/16/04 11:15 AM
Elaine Penney said...
Very nice job. I have made this bag, also. I tested it with a home dec fabric from Joanne's flat fold table. I'm 5'2" and made the shorter bag. It fits my body and carries exceptionally well. I find the center zipper awkward, though. I plan to make it again from a nice fabric and will definitely do a horizontal zipper. Any tips on Sandra's horizontal placement?
11/16/04 7:26 AM
AnneM said...
I've been eyeing this pattern (& the similar Kwik-Sew), since they seem so practical. You will have to travel over to Barcelona to give this to your cousin. I'm also not comfortable w/ that vertical zipper.
11/16/04 7:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job, very nice bag. smvite-when you put things in the bag, does it still hang nice loaded up?
11/16/04 5:28 AM
PattiK said...
Great job! I too have to make this pattern at least mine is in the to do pile :-)
11/15/04 9:16 PM
Gail S said...
I have this pattern but have yet to make it up. So many patterns and fabrics, so little time! Very nice job. I'm sure your cousin will love it.
11/15/04 8:52 PM
SueV said...
I've made this purse andit's great! Very comfortable. I want to make another, but do the zipper horizontally. I feel that my "loot" will fall out when opening the verticle zipper. But I love the compartments in the straps for my phone and small stuff.
11/15/04 5:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

McCall's 5651

photo
by: BlossomKyl...

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now