Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1277 (Misses Reversible Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 655 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/29/12 5:12 PM
Last Updated:2/29/12 5:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
manola6176 said...
How fabulous that you could all those fantastic fabric from your collection. The result is superb.
2/29/12 5:17 PM
marthamyers said...
Wonderful piece, Ann. Thanks for your detailed review including a great explanation of your technique. Much better than that in the pattern. Some day I may make this one too. So interesting!
2/29/12 5:25 PM
Aixoise said...
This is amazing on you. Your fabric combo is stunning. Love the tip about the wire - must get some of that!
2/29/12 5:57 PM
jlg said...
Ann, I love it. Dramatic is the perfect description.
2/29/12 5:58 PM
kkkkaty said...
Oh. my gosh, thanks for the wonderful review and the glimpse of your gorgeous coat, so inspiring! I love your alternate constructions method, sounds very reasonable and much smarter!
2/29/12 6:03 PM
mhoutz said...
Oh, Ann, how very beautiful! (and my colors, too!) I think I like this the best of any I've seen. Thank you for the good directions and rationale of why you did what you did. I'm going to get some of that wire, too!
2/29/12 6:05 PM
DorothyK said...
This jacket truly is a masterpiece, and you look great in it. How wonderful it was to have all the fabric in your stash. Love the wire technique.
2/29/12 6:09 PM
FreyaStark said...
You are brave even to have attempted such a complex pattern, and the result is a triumph. The fabrics all work well together.
2/29/12 6:20 PM
sfshaza said...
Oh, Ann, Ann, Ann. You used my colors, too. This is a work of art. Truly gorgeous. Thanks for all the tips in case I ever make this. If I do, I may steal your color scheme. :D
2/29/12 6:27 PM
mm said...
The complete outfit is a triumph and thanks for the construction hints.
2/29/12 6:31 PM
Patti B said...
Wow, what a stunner of a jacket! Love everything about it.
2/29/12 6:48 PM
lmg said...
Just gorgeous. And I like how you combined your fabrics a talent I do not have.
2/29/12 7:07 PM
VogueMistress said...
Another beauty from your workroom!
2/29/12 7:48 PM
Barbara V said...
Just so wonderfully gorgeous! Your applique construction technique was a smart choice and use of wire in the collar quite clever for achieving the results you wanted. A lovely masterpiece!
2/29/12 10:45 PM
Molliefran said...
Gorgeous job! I'm collecting fabrics for this pattern. It may take a year or two to get it right. Your construction techniques are perfect. The pattern companies are far behind.
3/1/12 7:19 AM
Mary Ann said...
Ann, truly a masterpiece. Thank you for sharing your creation and your construction tips. You look absolutely stunning wearing this.
3/1/12 10:13 AM
mtnbluebird said...
What a fabuluous jacket. All of the design elements really make this jacket pop. What a great way to use your stash.
3/1/12 10:45 AM
pdiddly said...
Wow what a beautiful jacket and as others have said using fabric from your stash - I too have some fabrics that are older than my children (the oldest being 29) so just proves never to throw anything away. I keep looking at this pattern because I do love it - just waiting for a discount day on the Vogue patterns.
3/1/12 3:53 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Love your combination of fabrics. Great colors on you!
3/2/12 6:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I have to say that when I saw the pattern evenlope, I wasn't that excited about the jacket but your version is super cute! It looks very nice on you!
3/2/12 7:31 PM
JillyBe said...
I already commented on your blog, but I'll say it again - STUNNING! And great tips too :)
3/2/12 11:41 PM
sew2little said...
Ann, I missed this when you posted it. It's just spectacular. I always wonder how often you wear a piece of clothing since you have so many, but I suspect this one will see the light of day quite often! It is so you.
3/4/12 4:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Colette Patterns 1003 Parfait
photo
Review by lauramae on 4/14/14
Read Review

Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size )
Butterick 5867 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )
Simplicity 2683 Pattern ( Size 3-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6964 Lingerie
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/26/14
Read Review

Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. A day in the park backpack tote Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us