SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 200965-1003 (slinky knit dress)

Viewed 229 times 
Reviewed by:tigergirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tigergirlstar
QLD Australia
Member since: 11/30/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/2/12 5:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BeaJay said... (3/3/12 7:55 PM) Reply
Great dress - LOVE what you have done with the fabric.
norie creates said... (3/3/12 7:05 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress. No one would know you had so many problems with the construction.
magpie57 said... (3/3/12 12:07 PM) Reply
This is the most fun review I have ever read!! Sorry for your pain but I love your writing style as much as the dress, which is a knock out by the way!! I hope you get a lot of wear out if it. It looks like it can go all crumpled up into a suitcase and come out fresn and ready to wear!
bananaoil said... (3/3/12 8:25 AM) Reply
Yes, this design is very attractive. Thanks for the chuckles.
pdiddly said... (3/3/12 4:25 AM) Reply
I am not familiar with slinky so don't know the pain you went through, but either way lovely looking end result
tigergirl said... (3/2/12 5:24 PM) Reply
Thanks everyone - I'm just glad it's over! @ karen n & Levone - sorry if I've put you off, I don't remember having as many problems with it the first time around (15 years ago). I believe there are different weights etc. of slinky - this one was quite thick. One suggestion I would make is to have as few seams as possible (what was I thinking???). This dress is really just an example of an uber bad pairing of pattern and fabric. Oh, I'm editing my review because I realised that I actually used different stitches.
wordchick said... (3/2/12 3:54 PM) Reply
Great dress!
nicegirl said... (3/2/12 10:14 AM) Reply
LOL, I feel the same way as you about slinky. But I love this dress! Fun use of the stripes and you got a great fit.
Levone said... (3/2/12 8:34 AM) Reply
Pretty dress! I have a couple of pieces of slinky in my stash but I'm scared to try them out. Thanks for the tip on the wondertape.
karen n said... (3/2/12 2:33 AM) Reply
What an attractive and comfortable looking dress! I'm looking at my small pile of slinky with some apprehension now!
Scheri said... (3/2/12 1:51 AM) Reply
I think this dress looks wonderful.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Stretch & Sew 312

photo
by: sizzle4

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2014-122

photo
by: popo

Review
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Pattern Details