SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 200965-1003 (slinky knit dress)

Viewed 227 times 
Reviewed by:tigergirl
photo

 
 
About tigergirlstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/30/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/2/12 5:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
I think this dress looks wonderful.
3/2/12 1:51 AM
karen n said...
What an attractive and comfortable looking dress! I'm looking at my small pile of slinky with some apprehension now!
3/2/12 2:33 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress! I have a couple of pieces of slinky in my stash but I'm scared to try them out. Thanks for the tip on the wondertape.
3/2/12 8:34 AM
nicegirl said...
LOL, I feel the same way as you about slinky. But I love this dress! Fun use of the stripes and you got a great fit.
3/2/12 10:14 AM
wordchick said...
Great dress!
3/2/12 3:54 PM
tigergirl said...
Thanks everyone - I'm just glad it's over! @ karen n & Levone - sorry if I've put you off, I don't remember having as many problems with it the first time around (15 years ago). I believe there are different weights etc. of slinky - this one was quite thick. One suggestion I would make is to have as few seams as possible (what was I thinking???). This dress is really just an example of an uber bad pairing of pattern and fabric. Oh, I'm editing my review because I realised that I actually used different stitches.
3/2/12 5:24 PM
pdiddly said...
I am not familiar with slinky so don't know the pain you went through, but either way lovely looking end result
3/3/12 4:25 AM
bananaoil said...
Yes, this design is very attractive. Thanks for the chuckles.
3/3/12 8:25 AM
magpie57 said...
This is the most fun review I have ever read!! Sorry for your pain but I love your writing style as much as the dress, which is a knock out by the way!! I hope you get a lot of wear out if it. It looks like it can go all crumpled up into a suitcase and come out fresn and ready to wear!
3/3/12 12:07 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty dress. No one would know you had so many problems with the construction.
3/3/12 7:05 PM
BeaJay said...
Great dress - LOVE what you have done with the fabric.
3/3/12 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6318

photo
by: pt6356

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now