SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 200965-1003 (slinky knit dress)

Viewed 228 times 
Reviewed by:tigergirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About tigergirlstar
QLD Australia
Member since: 11/30/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 1:43 AM
Last Updated:3/2/12 5:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
I think this dress looks wonderful.
3/2/12 1:51 AM
karen n said...
What an attractive and comfortable looking dress! I'm looking at my small pile of slinky with some apprehension now!
3/2/12 2:33 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress! I have a couple of pieces of slinky in my stash but I'm scared to try them out. Thanks for the tip on the wondertape.
3/2/12 8:34 AM
nicegirl said...
LOL, I feel the same way as you about slinky. But I love this dress! Fun use of the stripes and you got a great fit.
3/2/12 10:14 AM
wordchick said...
Great dress!
3/2/12 3:54 PM
tigergirl said...
Thanks everyone - I'm just glad it's over! @ karen n & Levone - sorry if I've put you off, I don't remember having as many problems with it the first time around (15 years ago). I believe there are different weights etc. of slinky - this one was quite thick. One suggestion I would make is to have as few seams as possible (what was I thinking???). This dress is really just an example of an uber bad pairing of pattern and fabric. Oh, I'm editing my review because I realised that I actually used different stitches.
3/2/12 5:24 PM
pdiddly said...
I am not familiar with slinky so don't know the pain you went through, but either way lovely looking end result
3/3/12 4:25 AM
bananaoil said...
Yes, this design is very attractive. Thanks for the chuckles.
3/3/12 8:25 AM
magpie57 said...
This is the most fun review I have ever read!! Sorry for your pain but I love your writing style as much as the dress, which is a knock out by the way!! I hope you get a lot of wear out if it. It looks like it can go all crumpled up into a suitcase and come out fresn and ready to wear!
3/3/12 12:07 PM
norie creates said...
Very pretty dress. No one would know you had so many problems with the construction.
3/3/12 7:05 PM
BeaJay said...
Great dress - LOVE what you have done with the fabric.
3/3/12 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vogue Patterns 8546

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
No Pattern Used grand-daughter quilt

photo
by: lvs2sew

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now