SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> My Image Magazine> M1204 (Cap Sleeve Dress)

Viewed 308 times 
Reviewed by:21wale
photo

 
 
About 21walestarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 261
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 7:56 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewnotwork said...
How did you alter the French darts? I wonder how to do that myself?
3/2/12 8:44 PM
sewnotwork said...
How did you alter the French darts? I wonder how to do that myself?
3/2/12 8:44 PM
21wale said...
sewnotwork...I don't know if I can explain this well, but since this is a multisize pattern, I traced the smallest size (or biggest if you're grading up), slid the pattern over so the line matched up with the next bigger size and retraced the smallest size line. I did it separately for each line of the dart. I actually slid it two sizes because I was grading two sizes. The key to understanding if you're doing it right is to note whether you're moving the whole dart toward center front (for a smaller size) or toward the side seam (for a larger size). If that's not clear, ask again, and I can take a photo and blog it.
3/2/12 9:37 PM
pdiddly said...
your dress looks really nice
3/3/12 4:14 AM
marec said...
Wow, nice dress for spring! I love the chic design and the robin's egg blue of the fabric. really beautiful.
3/3/12 10:48 AM
nellc said...
Your dress is lovely and the shaping from the darts is very nice. This pattern is one I want to make from this issue so it is good to see a positive review.
3/3/12 1:02 PM
tigergirl said...
Love this dress. I've been wanting to make a dress like this with the french darts and cap sleeves and keep wondering whether it's a fit that will work on me - it certainly works on you.
3/3/12 6:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now