Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
My Image Magazine: M1204 (Cap Sleeve Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 301 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:21wale
photo
About 21walestarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 6/25/08
Reviews written: 261
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/12 7:56 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewnotwork said...
How did you alter the French darts? I wonder how to do that myself?
3/2/12 8:44 PM
sewnotwork said...
How did you alter the French darts? I wonder how to do that myself?
3/2/12 8:44 PM
21wale said...
sewnotwork...I don't know if I can explain this well, but since this is a multisize pattern, I traced the smallest size (or biggest if you're grading up), slid the pattern over so the line matched up with the next bigger size and retraced the smallest size line. I did it separately for each line of the dart. I actually slid it two sizes because I was grading two sizes. The key to understanding if you're doing it right is to note whether you're moving the whole dart toward center front (for a smaller size) or toward the side seam (for a larger size). If that's not clear, ask again, and I can take a photo and blog it.
3/2/12 9:37 PM
pdiddly said...
your dress looks really nice
3/3/12 4:14 AM
marec said...
Wow, nice dress for spring! I love the chic design and the robin's egg blue of the fabric. really beautiful.
3/3/12 10:48 AM
nellc said...
Your dress is lovely and the shaping from the darts is very nice. This pattern is one I want to make from this issue so it is good to see a positive review.
3/3/12 1:02 PM
tigergirl said...
Love this dress. I've been wanting to make a dress like this with the french darts and cap sleeves and keep wondering whether it's a fit that will work on me - it certainly works on you.
3/3/12 6:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us