SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5639 (Misses dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 915 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing in the Wind
photo

 
 
About Sewing in the Windstar
DC USA
Member since: 3/31/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/12 3:49 PM
Last Updated:3/13/12 3:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
This dress really, really works in the linen. Not sure you could have made a better choice. As for the shape... well, it looks like a tough shape to wear, honestly. Such a shame because your dressform looks fab in it. Kudos on the fabric, though, as I said: Can you use it for a skirt, perhaps?
4/10/12 11:12 AM
Gendun said...
This dress really, really works in the linen. Not sure you could have made a better choice. As for the shape... well, it looks like a tough shape to wear, honestly. Such a shame because your dressform looks fab in it. Kudos on the fabric, though, as I said: Can you use it for a skirt, perhaps?
4/10/12 11:11 AM
twinkle72 said...
What a shame! It looks so lovely and chic on your dress form.
3/14/12 4:41 PM
Clareew said...
What a pity, as others have said, it looks wonderful on the dress form
3/14/12 8:24 AM
arianamaniacs said...
When I look at your close-ups, your sewing doesn't look very advanced beginner to me :) I love this dress - what size did you sew? Would you consider selling it?
3/14/12 4:24 AM
heathergwo said...
Looks really nice, a good job! So sorry it didn't work out... I hate wadders!
3/14/12 0:35 AM
Barbara V said...
Oh too bad it didn't work for you. I too love the look of this dress/jumper and added it to my pattern list. Hope you have luck with it in the future if you decide on another go round.
3/13/12 11:44 PM
mrs quickly said...
Love the look of the front of the dress, especially the pockets. It's really lovely, too bad it didn't work. I wonder if you could do a mash up with another pattern for a basic sleeveless dress?
3/13/12 10:29 PM
21wale said...
Too bad about the fit, because it's lovely. Have you figured out a good alteration for your back? Once you do, you should be able to transfer that from pattern to pattern. Or get a good fit on some basic garment and compare that to other patterns you want to use.
3/13/12 7:58 PM
momsurfing said...
such a nice looking dress, too bad about the outcome.
3/13/12 7:34 PM
trumbelina said...
What a tragedy. I LOVE it on your dressform.
3/13/12 4:58 PM
morzel said...
It sure looks good on the dressform. Beautiful fabric, well sewn. Hopefully some aquaintance will fit into this!
3/13/12 4:51 PM
karen n said...
Golly, too bad it didn't work for you. It looks adorable on the dressform!
3/13/12 3:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now