SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5639 (Misses dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 882 times 
Reviewed by:Sewing in the Wind
photo

 
 
About Sewing in the Windstar
DC USA
Member since: 3/31/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/12 3:49 PM
Last Updated:3/13/12 3:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karen n said...
Golly, too bad it didn't work for you. It looks adorable on the dressform!
3/13/12 3:58 PM
morzel said...
It sure looks good on the dressform. Beautiful fabric, well sewn. Hopefully some aquaintance will fit into this!
3/13/12 4:51 PM
trumbelina said...
What a tragedy. I LOVE it on your dressform.
3/13/12 4:58 PM
momsurfing said...
such a nice looking dress, too bad about the outcome.
3/13/12 7:34 PM
21wale said...
Too bad about the fit, because it's lovely. Have you figured out a good alteration for your back? Once you do, you should be able to transfer that from pattern to pattern. Or get a good fit on some basic garment and compare that to other patterns you want to use.
3/13/12 7:58 PM
mrs quickly said...
Love the look of the front of the dress, especially the pockets. It's really lovely, too bad it didn't work. I wonder if you could do a mash up with another pattern for a basic sleeveless dress?
3/13/12 10:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh too bad it didn't work for you. I too love the look of this dress/jumper and added it to my pattern list. Hope you have luck with it in the future if you decide on another go round.
3/13/12 11:44 PM
heathergwo said...
Looks really nice, a good job! So sorry it didn't work out... I hate wadders!
3/14/12 0:35 AM
arianamaniacs said...
When I look at your close-ups, your sewing doesn't look very advanced beginner to me :) I love this dress - what size did you sew? Would you consider selling it?
3/14/12 4:24 AM
Clareew said...
What a pity, as others have said, it looks wonderful on the dress form
3/14/12 8:24 AM
twinkle72 said...
What a shame! It looks so lovely and chic on your dress form.
3/14/12 4:41 PM
Gendun said...
This dress really, really works in the linen. Not sure you could have made a better choice. As for the shape... well, it looks like a tough shape to wear, honestly. Such a shame because your dressform looks fab in it. Kudos on the fabric, though, as I said: Can you use it for a skirt, perhaps?
4/10/12 11:11 AM
Gendun said...
This dress really, really works in the linen. Not sure you could have made a better choice. As for the shape... well, it looks like a tough shape to wear, honestly. Such a shame because your dressform looks fab in it. Kudos on the fabric, though, as I said: Can you use it for a skirt, perhaps?
4/10/12 11:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 002

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now