Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8622 (T-shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1182 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Maria Hatfield
photo
About Maria Hatfieldstar
OK USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/04 2:50 PM
Last Updated:11/18/04 3:13 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
You did a beautiful job of sewing this shirt-velvet is a tricky fabric to work with. Adding hip ease is one of the easiest adjustments to make-believe me, I know:)! Really, all you need to do is decide how much bigger the measurement needs to be, and then add 1/4 of this amount per side seam at hip level. If the upper part is okay, just angle the wider seam allowance in above the hip, and taper it back to the original size at the top.
11/18/04 4:53 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
These tops look beautiful and so do you.
11/18/04 5:57 PM
Diana M said...
Maria, I love this shirt on you -- good color, great fit! It should be easy enough to add to the hip. Wish I had a pattern that fit me as well.
11/18/04 7:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Maria, this is the best fitting of the three! It's also beautiful, I love your fabric. Mini gave great directions on how to add to the hips. I, too, have to add about 3-4 inches to patterns to get it to go around my big belly and hips. Since it's so easy to add to the hips, try not making the upper chest so large, and just add where you need to. Thanks for sharing your reviews, and the photos. Now smile! :D
11/18/04 9:51 PM
MaryBeth said...
Pretty, pretty, pretty. I agree that the other patterns were too big on you. All you need is the extra fabric through the hips and this is a winner!
11/19/04 0:02 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Maria, I have been known to cheat to add extra room at the hip: when I place the center front and center back of the pattern pieces on the fold, I just slide the hem end of the pattern away from the fold a little. Leave the top of the pattern lined up with the fold. You can do this on the front or the back or both, depending on where you need the extra room. Moving the CF and CB away from the fold by 1" would give you an additional 4" in the hip and you don't have to mess with changing anything else on the pattern. And another thought: if you want to remove a little bit of excess shoulder and neck width, you can do the reverse at the top of the pattern pieces: let the pattern hang over the fold just a tiny bit. I've done these sneaky changes on both wovens and knits - but knits are the easiest because the fabric is so forgiving.
11/19/04 6:12 AM
Runrover said...
Maria, your t-shirt looks great on you. I love the color and fit.
11/19/04 8:12 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Yay! This one looks very good, Maria. If all you need is hip ease, you've got a winner! I envy you sewing stretch velvet - I've not been brave enough yet!
11/19/04 8:17 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
What would i do without everyone of you and your help you so freely give ? Thank you so much.
11/19/04 11:43 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely top, what luscious fabric. I like Karla's "cheat" hint. The shoulders look fine to me in the picture.
11/21/04 7:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Vogue Patterns 2815 Halter top
photo
Review by SueV on 7/5/04
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 2880 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mary Themo... on 11/2/13
Read Review

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2789 Pattern
Jalie 2789 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6441 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us