SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3073 (T-shirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1609 times 
Reviewed by:Maria Hatfield
photo

 
 
About Maria Hatfieldstar
OK USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/04 3:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Congratulations on your t-shirt projects. You can really learn a lot by trying patterns from different companies in a similar style. For a good and easy sloping shoulder adjustment, I like the method shown in Nancy Zeiman's Fitting Finesse book. You asked about adding hip ease to your Burda pattern, and Nancy's book also shows how to pivot pattern piece to add ease. Or, since this KS pattern fits in the hips, you could just trace the lower part of this pattern and graft it on to other patterns. Saves time!
11/18/04 4:49 PM
Georgene said...
Hi Maria, nice to see all your tee shirts. This pattern is definitely made with a drop shoulder. If the Burda one fits better in the armhole/shoulder see if you can get the 2 patterns to get 'married' like Mini says. I like the pink color on you. I bet this style could be cute just the way it is if you make the sleeve length real short, like about half as long as it is now. Try folding up the hem on this one and see if you like it.
11/18/04 5:25 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Hi Maria, love your t-shirt and thanks for reviewing this pattern. I think your shirt looks good but if the shoulder bothers you, you could try a shoulder pad.
11/18/04 5:55 PM
marya said...
Hi Maria. Congratulations on working on fit. I share that challenge. I wanted to agree with Mini that Nancy's Zieman's Fitting Finess seems to really have the info that you're asking for. At first it seemed like some of the retracing tasks required were more time consuming than I wanted, but really they're not so bad (they get easier), and the results are great without losing the pattern lines.
11/18/04 8:13 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Maria, I think you are using patterns that are just too large for you. Are you measuring your upper bust or around your full bust? To get a pattern to fit right, you need to use the measurement above your bust under the armpits and around the back. Then alter for the bust and hips. This will get you a better fit at the neck and shoulders. Read absolutely everything in FFRP about a bust adjustment. In this pattern your dart may be too low, it's hard to tell. To raise a dart, just cut around it on the pattern and slide it up the distance you need. Then tape it back in place filling in the hole you made. Easy!
11/18/04 9:43 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I think this is such a pretty color on you! Mini and Georgene have excellent advice. You will get a perfect tee, I know you will.
11/19/04 8:15 AM
Sew it seams said...
You are getting great advice here, Maria. I also love that pink color on you. You look beautiful in pink!
11/19/04 9:42 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Absolutely great suggestions and help here, thank you so much.
11/19/04 11:42 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Hi, Maria, I think the pattern looks very nice on you, and definitely wearable. But that drop shoulder is very wide and this may be why you feel like it's sloping too much. I agree with Sherill that you might be using a size that is too large for you in the neck & shoulders. If you start with a smaller size and then just increase the bust (and hips, if needed) then you might not even need a sloping shoulder adjustment. I do think that pink is a great color, and the fabric looks nice too.
11/20/04 8:30 PM
AnneM said...
Looks very comfy. I agree w/ the others that the shoulders could be a smaller size (although the dropped shoulders make it deceptive).
11/21/04 7:38 PM
terri said...
just a ditto to the others - the shirt is too big at the shoulders : )
1/29/05 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 002

photo
by: Ms. McCall

Review
Burda 7791

photo
by: marec

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now