Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3073 (T-shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1609 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Maria Hatfield
photo
About Maria Hatfieldstar
OK USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/04 3:08 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mini said...
Congratulations on your t-shirt projects. You can really learn a lot by trying patterns from different companies in a similar style. For a good and easy sloping shoulder adjustment, I like the method shown in Nancy Zeiman's Fitting Finesse book. You asked about adding hip ease to your Burda pattern, and Nancy's book also shows how to pivot pattern piece to add ease. Or, since this KS pattern fits in the hips, you could just trace the lower part of this pattern and graft it on to other patterns. Saves time!
11/18/04 4:49 PM
Georgene said...
Hi Maria, nice to see all your tee shirts. This pattern is definitely made with a drop shoulder. If the Burda one fits better in the armhole/shoulder see if you can get the 2 patterns to get 'married' like Mini says. I like the pink color on you. I bet this style could be cute just the way it is if you make the sleeve length real short, like about half as long as it is now. Try folding up the hem on this one and see if you like it.
11/18/04 5:25 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Hi Maria, love your t-shirt and thanks for reviewing this pattern. I think your shirt looks good but if the shoulder bothers you, you could try a shoulder pad.
11/18/04 5:55 PM
marya said...
Hi Maria. Congratulations on working on fit. I share that challenge. I wanted to agree with Mini that Nancy's Zieman's Fitting Finess seems to really have the info that you're asking for. At first it seemed like some of the retracing tasks required were more time consuming than I wanted, but really they're not so bad (they get easier), and the results are great without losing the pattern lines.
11/18/04 8:13 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Maria, I think you are using patterns that are just too large for you. Are you measuring your upper bust or around your full bust? To get a pattern to fit right, you need to use the measurement above your bust under the armpits and around the back. Then alter for the bust and hips. This will get you a better fit at the neck and shoulders. Read absolutely everything in FFRP about a bust adjustment. In this pattern your dart may be too low, it's hard to tell. To raise a dart, just cut around it on the pattern and slide it up the distance you need. Then tape it back in place filling in the hole you made. Easy!
11/18/04 9:43 PM
SouthernStitch said...
I think this is such a pretty color on you! Mini and Georgene have excellent advice. You will get a perfect tee, I know you will.
11/19/04 8:15 AM
Sew it seams said...
You are getting great advice here, Maria. I also love that pink color on you. You look beautiful in pink!
11/19/04 9:42 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Absolutely great suggestions and help here, thank you so much.
11/19/04 11:42 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Hi, Maria, I think the pattern looks very nice on you, and definitely wearable. But that drop shoulder is very wide and this may be why you feel like it's sloping too much. I agree with Sherill that you might be using a size that is too large for you in the neck & shoulders. If you start with a smaller size and then just increase the bust (and hips, if needed) then you might not even need a sloping shoulder adjustment. I do think that pink is a great color, and the fabric looks nice too.
11/20/04 8:30 PM
AnneM said...
Looks very comfy. I agree w/ the others that the shoulders could be a smaller size (although the dropped shoulders make it deceptive).
11/21/04 7:38 PM
terri said...
just a ditto to the others - the shirt is too big at the shoulders : )
1/29/05 5:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us