SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1205 (Marseilles shirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1219 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 346
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/02 1:11 AM
Last Updated:7/27/02 10:23 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lori, I have been drooling about this pattern for a long time. Today I broke down and bought it on-line and I should be getting it by Saturday. However, I don't have a serger. Does Loes give instructions on how to make this top with just a sewing machine? Also, I am almost a C cup. Do you think I will have to add a dart. I really don't want to because I'm afraid it will disturb the simplicity of Loes' design style. However, I just hate it when a top folds over at my bustline, putting in a dart anyway. I look forward to seeing the photos of your top.
7/18/02 4:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just to Clarify, when I had a chat with Loes last time, she mentioned that after Soho Pants none of the patterns are designed by her. So this one is also designed by Marsha Day... who owns the company now.
7/18/02 9:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherril, You can just exchange a small zigzag for anything that says serged. Use the zigzag for a stretch fabric - like a .5 width. I wouldn't think you would need a dart - some on pattern review use a large bust adjustment. I think it is just adding a bit more fabric in the front and then easing it in around the bust area.
7/18/02 9:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lori, this review is very inspiring. I love the use of doubled sheer fabric; also love looking at the JJill catalog for ideas! Can't wait to see the picture.
7/18/02 12:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looking forward to seeing the pictures! The pattern front says this is a Loes Hinse design, so I think this one was designed before they split.
7/18/02 1:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Is this pattern only for knit fabrics?
7/18/02 3:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
R. Tee, this pattern is for soft draping fabric such as rayon crepe or textured rayon. Also, the wrong side of the fabric will show at the neck so fabric that looks the same on both sides is better.
7/19/02 0:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now