Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1205 (Marseilles shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1217 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 338
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 337
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/02 1:11 AM
Last Updated:7/27/02 10:23 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lori, I have been drooling about this pattern for a long time. Today I broke down and bought it on-line and I should be getting it by Saturday. However, I don't have a serger. Does Loes give instructions on how to make this top with just a sewing machine? Also, I am almost a C cup. Do you think I will have to add a dart. I really don't want to because I'm afraid it will disturb the simplicity of Loes' design style. However, I just hate it when a top folds over at my bustline, putting in a dart anyway. I look forward to seeing the photos of your top.
7/18/02 4:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just to Clarify, when I had a chat with Loes last time, she mentioned that after Soho Pants none of the patterns are designed by her. So this one is also designed by Marsha Day... who owns the company now.
7/18/02 9:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherril, You can just exchange a small zigzag for anything that says serged. Use the zigzag for a stretch fabric - like a .5 width. I wouldn't think you would need a dart - some on pattern review use a large bust adjustment. I think it is just adding a bit more fabric in the front and then easing it in around the bust area.
7/18/02 9:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lori, this review is very inspiring. I love the use of doubled sheer fabric; also love looking at the JJill catalog for ideas! Can't wait to see the picture.
7/18/02 12:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looking forward to seeing the pictures! The pattern front says this is a Loes Hinse design, so I think this one was designed before they split.
7/18/02 1:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Is this pattern only for knit fabrics?
7/18/02 3:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
R. Tee, this pattern is for soft draping fabric such as rayon crepe or textured rayon. Also, the wrong side of the fabric will show at the neck so fabric that looks the same on both sides is better.
7/19/02 0:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmanypat... on 3/18/11
Read Review

McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6699 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3950 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3688
photo
Review by karenball on 7/16/11
Read Review

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us