SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1205 (Marseilles shirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1219 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 354
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 353
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/02 1:11 AM
Last Updated:7/27/02 10:23 PM


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
R. Tee, this pattern is for soft draping fabric such as rayon crepe or textured rayon. Also, the wrong side of the fabric will show at the neck so fabric that looks the same on both sides is better.
7/19/02 0:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Is this pattern only for knit fabrics?
7/18/02 3:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looking forward to seeing the pictures! The pattern front says this is a Loes Hinse design, so I think this one was designed before they split.
7/18/02 1:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lori, this review is very inspiring. I love the use of doubled sheer fabric; also love looking at the JJill catalog for ideas! Can't wait to see the picture.
7/18/02 12:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sherril, You can just exchange a small zigzag for anything that says serged. Use the zigzag for a stretch fabric - like a .5 width. I wouldn't think you would need a dart - some on pattern review use a large bust adjustment. I think it is just adding a bit more fabric in the front and then easing it in around the bust area.
7/18/02 9:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Just to Clarify, when I had a chat with Loes last time, she mentioned that after Soho Pants none of the patterns are designed by her. So this one is also designed by Marsha Day... who owns the company now.
7/18/02 9:24 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lori, I have been drooling about this pattern for a long time. Today I broke down and bought it on-line and I should be getting it by Saturday. However, I don't have a serger. Does Loes give instructions on how to make this top with just a sewing machine? Also, I am almost a C cup. Do you think I will have to add a dart. I really don't want to because I'm afraid it will disturb the simplicity of Loes' design style. However, I just hate it when a top folds over at my bustline, putting in a dart anyway. I look forward to seeing the photos of your top.
7/18/02 4:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 2069-1001

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now