Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4993 (One Size Rag Quilt Wall Hangin) - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 1759 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:SewTwin
photo
About SewTwinstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/04 1:33 AM


See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
J_J said...
What a cute pattern. I love it. It's going on my wishlist.
11/19/04 7:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is so cute.
11/19/04 11:17 AM
Steffie said...
What a fun blanket! I love it. How big is it? From the pic, it looks quite large. How long did it take you to cut and construct? Thanks for the review!
11/19/04 11:56 AM
SewTwin said...
It is pretty big. I would say 6 ft from the top of the head to the feet, and 5 ft from arm tip to arm tip. I cut all of the pieces out in one night, including the batting, and it took about 3 nights to sew it up ,and another night to clip all of the edges. I washed & dried it 4 times, and then used a lint roller and scissors to remove any extra long strings and fuzz that was stuck to the quilt. The tote bag only took 1 night to measure cut and sew up. I used one of the drawstring hooks that are available at Joann's to pull the drawstring through.
11/19/04 1:17 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I will have to get that. My kids took a quilting class using this technique but making a rectangle blanket. This looks more fun but is an easy technique.
11/19/04 1:51 PM
AnneM said...
That is adorable; I'm certain it is a big hit with whatever child received it.
11/21/04 7:49 PM
janyb said...
I liked the idea of "ragging" the nose and eyes so tried it on the quilt I made. It turned out really cute. Thanks for the idea.
12/13/08 10:54 AM
MamaG68 said...
I am new at making these types of quilts. I don't quite understand how I am to put the pieces together once quilted. It is very confusing to me. Can you advise on how to do this? I am making two of the for my son to take home to my grandson's and I need to have them done by Wednesday. Thank you for any help.
2/22/10 11:32 PM
SewTwin said...
MamaG68, This pattern is very simple. You are basically sandwiching 2-3 layers of fabrics with another 2-3 layers of fabrics. Then stitching them on one side.Do this for a whole row,over & over.Then put each row together.By the time you have stitched each row together, you should have a seam on each side.I did always do an outside seam to stabilize.You lastly make cuts in the selvedge(hanging from the seam).then put it all in the washer & dryer 3-4 times.This will make it bloom, and look little like fur?..Hope this helps, sorry for the delay, had not checked my email, lately...
2/23/10 8:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 0000
photo
Review by PittyPat on 5/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2014-138
photo
Review by Elaray on 1/29/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us