SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4993 (One Size Rag Quilt Wall Hangin)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1765 times 
Reviewed by:SewTwin
photo

 
 
About SewTwinstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/04 1:33 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
MamaG68, This pattern is very simple. You are basically sandwiching 2-3 layers of fabrics with another 2-3 layers of fabrics. Then stitching them on one side.Do this for a whole row,over & over.Then put each row together.By the time you have stitched each row together, you should have a seam on each side.I did always do an outside seam to stabilize.You lastly make cuts in the selvedge(hanging from the seam).then put it all in the washer & dryer 3-4 times.This will make it bloom, and look little like fur?..Hope this helps, sorry for the delay, had not checked my email, lately...
2/23/10 8:10 PM
MamaG68 said...
I am new at making these types of quilts. I don't quite understand how I am to put the pieces together once quilted. It is very confusing to me. Can you advise on how to do this? I am making two of the for my son to take home to my grandson's and I need to have them done by Wednesday. Thank you for any help.
2/22/10 11:32 PM
janyb said...
I liked the idea of "ragging" the nose and eyes so tried it on the quilt I made. It turned out really cute. Thanks for the idea.
12/13/08 10:54 AM
AnneM said...
That is adorable; I'm certain it is a big hit with whatever child received it.
11/21/04 7:49 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I will have to get that. My kids took a quilting class using this technique but making a rectangle blanket. This looks more fun but is an easy technique.
11/19/04 1:51 PM
SewTwin said...
It is pretty big. I would say 6 ft from the top of the head to the feet, and 5 ft from arm tip to arm tip. I cut all of the pieces out in one night, including the batting, and it took about 3 nights to sew it up ,and another night to clip all of the edges. I washed & dried it 4 times, and then used a lint roller and scissors to remove any extra long strings and fuzz that was stuck to the quilt. The tote bag only took 1 night to measure cut and sew up. I used one of the drawstring hooks that are available at Joann's to pull the drawstring through.
11/19/04 1:17 PM
Steffie said...
What a fun blanket! I love it. How big is it? From the pic, it looks quite large. How long did it take you to cut and construct? Thanks for the review!
11/19/04 11:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is so cute.
11/19/04 11:17 AM
J_J said...
What a cute pattern. I love it. It's going on my wishlist.
11/19/04 7:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 4132

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review

Pattern

Butterick 5447

photo
by: Ysenia

Review
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now