SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4993 (One Size Rag Quilt Wall Hangin)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1762 times 
Reviewed by:SewTwin
photo

 
 
About SewTwinstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/04 1:33 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
J_J said...
What a cute pattern. I love it. It's going on my wishlist.
11/19/04 7:20 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is so cute.
11/19/04 11:17 AM
Steffie said...
What a fun blanket! I love it. How big is it? From the pic, it looks quite large. How long did it take you to cut and construct? Thanks for the review!
11/19/04 11:56 AM
SewTwin said...
It is pretty big. I would say 6 ft from the top of the head to the feet, and 5 ft from arm tip to arm tip. I cut all of the pieces out in one night, including the batting, and it took about 3 nights to sew it up ,and another night to clip all of the edges. I washed & dried it 4 times, and then used a lint roller and scissors to remove any extra long strings and fuzz that was stuck to the quilt. The tote bag only took 1 night to measure cut and sew up. I used one of the drawstring hooks that are available at Joann's to pull the drawstring through.
11/19/04 1:17 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I will have to get that. My kids took a quilting class using this technique but making a rectangle blanket. This looks more fun but is an easy technique.
11/19/04 1:51 PM
AnneM said...
That is adorable; I'm certain it is a big hit with whatever child received it.
11/21/04 7:49 PM
janyb said...
I liked the idea of "ragging" the nose and eyes so tried it on the quilt I made. It turned out really cute. Thanks for the idea.
12/13/08 10:54 AM
MamaG68 said...
I am new at making these types of quilts. I don't quite understand how I am to put the pieces together once quilted. It is very confusing to me. Can you advise on how to do this? I am making two of the for my son to take home to my grandson's and I need to have them done by Wednesday. Thank you for any help.
2/22/10 11:32 PM
SewTwin said...
MamaG68, This pattern is very simple. You are basically sandwiching 2-3 layers of fabrics with another 2-3 layers of fabrics. Then stitching them on one side.Do this for a whole row,over & over.Then put each row together.By the time you have stitched each row together, you should have a seam on each side.I did always do an outside seam to stabilize.You lastly make cuts in the selvedge(hanging from the seam).then put it all in the washer & dryer 3-4 times.This will make it bloom, and look little like fur?..Hope this helps, sorry for the delay, had not checked my email, lately...
2/23/10 8:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6402

photo
by: Bonnie O

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 4103

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review