Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Controlled Exposure: 35 (Fitted Gaiter) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 84 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:E.A.Y.
photo
About E.A.Y.
CA
Member since: 1/25/12
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/12 0:54 AM
Last Updated:12/3/13 6:39 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by E.A.Y.

Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Waterproof Polyester  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I apologize for the missing photo. The photo-storing service I use is currently moving locations. I will replace the photo as soon as I can.

Pattern Description: Fitted gaiter for outdoor use, lined lower section and single layer upper section, closing with 2" Velcro flaps and a webbing strap at the very top.

Pattern Sizing: Four sizes, height of gaiter customizable

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for my modification of the upper pattern piece.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

Notes These gaiters have a lower portion that fits over the shoe (lined), and upper portion that covers the calf (unlined), two wide velcro-covered flaps that close the front from toe to knee, and a top tunnel piece that contains a webbing strap to snug the gaiters up. The lower portion and the two flaps are made of one fabric, and the uppers and top tunnel of a second fabric. A third fabric is used for the lining of the lower portion.

Read Treefrog's review of this pattern for the 'follow the pattern for the most part' version.

I have a 7/8 finished version of pattern (version 1) that is languishing in my UFO pile. I decided to do it again, with some pattern and construction modifications (version 2).

My original attempt used coated Cordura for the lower portion of the gaiter and a three layer Goretex for the upper. This combination of fabric, and the construction techniques, proved overkill for my intended use, and very challenging for my machine to sew. At one point, I was sewing through 1 layer of Velcro, 4 layers of coated Cordura, and multiple layers of Goretex. You have GOT to be kidding!

For version 2 I decided to fix this by changing the kind of material and by making some adjustments to the patterning and construction of the gaiters.

Fabric: Version 2 (the subject of this review) uses coated packcloth for the lowers, and a 2.5 layer waterproof breathable material for the uppers. This WPB material is a very thin and light fabric that does not require lining to protect the breathable membrane from abrasion as is often the case with this kind of fabric (I got it from Questoutfitters). The lower portion is lined with Supplex, a woven nylon fabric.
I also decided to use the packcloth for the top tunnel piece since the fabric I chose for the uppers is extremely thin and I was afraid it would not hold up to having 3/4" webbing pulled back and forth.

Pattern: The uppers of these gaiters are a large rectangle with a dart in the back to provide shaping. The size of the pattern to use is determined by the distance around the cuff of one's boot.
If you have bulky boots and skinny legs, I suppose this would work. But for me, with low-profile light-weight shoes, and well-padded curvy bicyclist's calves, this turned out less than optimal and not nearly as close fitting as I would like.

I decided to re-draft the uppers, using a center back piece and side front pieces, since the single dart shaping technique leaves a seam at the center back, where cold wet snow is most likely to land.
I borrowed the draft (for making steampunk-ish buttoned gaiters) from this site.
This draft turned out better than the original pattern, but I should have had the side seams further toward the back of my calf for a better fit.
I seamsealed the seams on the waterproof/breathable uppers and where the uppers meet the lowers. I used liquid sealer, not seam seal tape.

Construction The top tunnel piece is constructed by folding a wide piece of the upper fabric wrong sides together, sewing all around the 3 raw edges, and then putting a buttonhole (for the webbing strap to come out of) near one edge, making a double layer assembly, with raw edges on 3 sides.
This assembly is then treated like a single layer cuff, folding the ends in and so on. This means the ends of the top tunnel piece are 8 layers thick where you sew through them.
I decided to use a single layer top tunnel piece for version 2, with a reinforcing scrap under the buttonhole.

I also decided to fix the way the Velcro flaps were adjusted to be the right length.
The pattern piece for the Velcro flaps is the same length for every size, just cut off to fit once the flaps are attached to the uppers. This is a great technique and timesaver in terms of the directions for this garment, but leaves Velcro all the way through the seam allowance where the top tunnel piece is attached. Unnecessary and bulky.
So I measured the assembled gaiter and cut the flaps to fit, and the Velcro 1/2" shorter than that measurement.

I also decided, since I will only wear these gaiters with trail running shoes or very light boots (both by Inov8), that I could dispense with the adjustable instep strap and just sew both ends down since one length strap would work w/ both pairs of shoes I use.

The pattern calls for a D-ring and Velcro closure at the calf (Velcro on the top tunnel piece and on one side of the 3/4" webbing). I had borrowed some Outdoor Research gaiters from REI in the past and liked their low profile cam-buckle closure better. So I did that on version 2.

I had a great deal of difficulty sourcing gaiter hooks (used to hold the front of the gaiter down by hooking to the laces of the shoe) so I faked it. I hand stitched the hook end of some very sturdy "coat hooks" to a small piece (single layer) of the 3/4" webbing used elsewhere in the gaiters.

Seattle Fabrics has, in the past, offered riveted boot hooks already applied to 3/4" webbing, but they are no longer available. The gaiter hooks from Questoutfitters were wider than I wanted.

I used polyester thread and microtex needles. I used a new needle for each pair of gaiters. This coated stuff is hard on needles.

Conclusion: This is a great pattern, useable as is, but much improved with some thoughtful modifications.
I really like the lined lower section, and despite all my whining about the top tunnel construction, I do like the way this pattern is designed.
My super lightweight gaiters (135 grams, less than 5 ounces for the pair) kept me dry and comfortable on a truly miserable rainy camping trip.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BJ1400 said...
Wow, those look great!
4/5/12 1:24 PM
E.A.Y. said...
Thanks! The yellow (which is rather hideous on its own) is nicely toned down by the green.
4/6/12 9:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 7871 dresses
photo
Review by Toozie on 4/16/08
Read Review

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8648 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by NVK on 12/18/12
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1660 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 1660 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us