SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> #116 12/04-1/05 (Purse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1326 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 119
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/22/04 8:35 AM
Last Updated:11/22/04 8:42 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gail S said... (11/23/04 1:49 PM) Reply
Love it! I wanted to try this but was discouraged by the pulling the zipper apart project. I did this once on another quick to make project and it was almost the death of me! It took me forever to get the zipper put back together and I invented several new swear words in the process. I am all for the longer zipper wimp method. Sign me up! I'm going to add this one to my got to do projects.
Asa Hagstrom said... (11/22/04 1:44 PM) Reply
So cute! Great tip about the zipper.
cindyann said... (11/22/04 12:22 PM) Reply
Well I can certainly understand your frustration with the zipper. It took me forever to get mine back on too. Your idea for a longer zip is by far less stressful. Your bag is very pretty!
Oopsy-Daisy! said... (11/22/04 11:37 AM) Reply
I like your "wimp" zipper solution! I, too, feared making this bag when I read you had to remove the zipper pull. Now I think I will try this bag, too. Yours (and the others') are gorgeous!
Susan M said... (11/22/04 10:29 AM) Reply
Absolutely beautiful! I've looked at that Threads several times and worried about the zipper. Thanks for a great solution.
Rustybobn said... (11/22/04 10:11 AM) Reply
Thanks! Linda, I've added the finished dimensions to the review under pattern sizing.
Mary Stiefer said... (11/22/04 9:10 AM) Reply
I think your idea to use this zipper makes much more sense for a lot of projects. Your bag looks wonderful (even after all the broken needles - hehehe).
LindaS. said... (11/22/04 8:48 AM) Reply
Thanks for a great review. I'll be making some of these as gifts and will not even attempt the zipper according to directions. Yours makes so much more sense. Beautiful bag - what are the final dimensions?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

New Look 6785

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Pattern Details