SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1164 OOP (DKNY)

Viewed 364 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/12 10:00 AM
Last Updated:5/5/12 4:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Vogue Patterns: 1164 OOP by FreyaStark  Vogue Patterns: 1164 OOP by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
It's all in the framing: what is called distinctly dated might also be considered timelessly classic. This is a beautiful classic! It looks so comfortable to wear. I can see it becoming a favorite. (BTW, what is the camel's name? I hope he is doing well.)
5/4/12 11:16 AM
MNBarb said...
I had a dress just like this in the 80's. It was such a treat to wear. Rayon is the perfect choice.
5/4/12 11:21 AM
Mufffet said...
:) Nice dress and fabric.
5/4/12 1:46 PM
Christas said...
Flawless sewing and wonderful review, as usual! Love your fabric choice. I hope you find the time to make a summer version. You might have to put the pic of your favorite camel away to do it! LOL! :-)
5/4/12 6:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Another WINNING review, and of a pattern that I don't even remember ever seeing. I love a color with a stand. Your dress looks SO nice and COMFY and SWISHY. :o)
5/4/12 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
This dress looks like a wonderful classic. I love the rayon print.
5/5/12 5:43 AM
cleverclogs said...
Lovely dress. Those sleeves are certainly drafted way too long if the pattern photos are anything to go by!
5/5/12 8:07 AM
jannw said...
Great fabric for a classic dress! Looks very comfortable with the swishy skirt! Perfect for hopping on that camel if necessary!! Love the magenta tights!
5/5/12 8:41 AM
zoe said...
This looks comfortable and certainly will be a favourite. I love your online 'persona'; Freya Stark is one of my favourite travel writers from the 1930s. In her obituary in the London Times in 1993 they described her as 'the last of the romantic travellers'. I am actually currently reading her book 'Valley of the Assasins'. You must be a fan of hers as well!
5/5/12 10:50 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
I like it! The fact that it is classic makes it even better. You picked a great fabric for this one too! I'd wear it in a heartbeat! Good job!
5/5/12 4:04 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. It looks great on you. I like the contrasting tights a lot.
5/5/12 8:22 PM
Stargirl7 said...
As well as between expiditions, I think it is quite the right dress for a lady's travel wardrobe, especially if she is venturing rather farther than is usual. Bravo!
5/5/12 8:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Bohemian chic is what I like about this dress! I don't think it looks dated at all. I have been seeing a revival of maxi shirt dresses. You make "Florence and the Sewing Machine" look and sound really hip!
5/5/12 9:17 PM
fourkid said...
You always write great reviews - have a wonderful sense of style and an interesting view of life. Thank you for sharing it with us. btw - I love the dress and you in it.
5/16/12 11:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now