Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1164 OOP (DKNY) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 351 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/12 10:00 AM
Last Updated:5/5/12 4:32 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
It's all in the framing: what is called distinctly dated might also be considered timelessly classic. This is a beautiful classic! It looks so comfortable to wear. I can see it becoming a favorite. (BTW, what is the camel's name? I hope he is doing well.)
5/4/12 11:16 AM
MNBarb said...
I had a dress just like this in the 80's. It was such a treat to wear. Rayon is the perfect choice.
5/4/12 11:21 AM
Mufffet said...
:) Nice dress and fabric.
5/4/12 1:46 PM
Christas said...
Flawless sewing and wonderful review, as usual! Love your fabric choice. I hope you find the time to make a summer version. You might have to put the pic of your favorite camel away to do it! LOL! :-)
5/4/12 6:04 PM
Annette1 said...
Another WINNING review, and of a pattern that I don't even remember ever seeing. I love a color with a stand. Your dress looks SO nice and COMFY and SWISHY. :o)
5/4/12 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
This dress looks like a wonderful classic. I love the rayon print.
5/5/12 5:43 AM
cleverclogs said...
Lovely dress. Those sleeves are certainly drafted way too long if the pattern photos are anything to go by!
5/5/12 8:07 AM
jannw said...
Great fabric for a classic dress! Looks very comfortable with the swishy skirt! Perfect for hopping on that camel if necessary!! Love the magenta tights!
5/5/12 8:41 AM
zoe said...
This looks comfortable and certainly will be a favourite. I love your online 'persona'; Freya Stark is one of my favourite travel writers from the 1930s. In her obituary in the London Times in 1993 they described her as 'the last of the romantic travellers'. I am actually currently reading her book 'Valley of the Assasins'. You must be a fan of hers as well!
5/5/12 10:50 AM
GodsgirlT said...
I like it! The fact that it is classic makes it even better. You picked a great fabric for this one too! I'd wear it in a heartbeat! Good job!
5/5/12 4:04 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. It looks great on you. I like the contrasting tights a lot.
5/5/12 8:22 PM
Stargirl7 said...
As well as between expiditions, I think it is quite the right dress for a lady's travel wardrobe, especially if she is venturing rather farther than is usual. Bravo!
5/5/12 8:25 PM
Heatherrique said...
Bohemian chic is what I like about this dress! I don't think it looks dated at all. I have been seeing a revival of maxi shirt dresses. You make "Florence and the Sewing Machine" look and sound really hip!
5/5/12 9:17 PM
fourkid said...
You always write great reviews - have a wonderful sense of style and an interesting view of life. Thank you for sharing it with us. btw - I love the dress and you in it.
5/16/12 11:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Hibiscus Shirt Hibiscus Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 6971 Pattern
Burda 6971 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brussels Skirt
Brussels Skirt

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by norie crea... on 4/21/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rebecca Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Hopscotch Top, Tunic, and Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us