SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2248 (misses dresses)

10 more reviews
Viewed 504 times 
Reviewed by:penelopey4
photo

 
 
About penelopey4star
CO USA
Member since: 5/27/11
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/19/12 5:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
zoe said...
Very cute dress!
3/19/12 6:04 PM
CJgal said...
I think this is beautiful! I love the back especially. Could you possibly tack the neckline down by hand? I think you could make it work!
3/19/12 6:21 PM
penelopey4 said...
CJgal, I did tack it by hand to see if that would help, but nope. I also considered putting a piece of boning in the facing to shape it my body. Any thoughts on that? Is boning even shapeable??
3/19/12 6:25 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, I like the cut out in the back and your fabric is lovely.
3/19/12 7:00 PM
LorrieAnn said...
See if your library has "Sewing 911" by Barbara Deckert. It contains fixes for many sewing disasters, and if I recall correctly, she addresses using boning to make a very low-backed dress conform to the body....that might help the neckline problem....I hope you can make this gorgeous dress wearable to your satisfaction.
3/19/12 7:33 PM
LorrieAnn said...
oh, gosh, I didn't mean to imply your dress is a disaster - far from it.
3/19/12 7:34 PM
PattyE said...
I think Hollywood Fashion Tape would be perfect for your neckline issue. It's a lovely dress.
3/19/12 7:44 PM
penelopey4 said...
Wow, thanks for the ideas, ladies!! I'm hopeful now that I can fix it! :)
3/19/12 7:58 PM
MaryDB said...
That dress is darling on you! Nice job.
3/19/12 8:46 PM
jlg said...
So pretty in the picture.
3/19/12 9:13 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
Super cute and love your fabric choice
3/19/12 10:45 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! This is a beautiful dress! The gaping doesn't look bad at all.
3/19/12 11:02 PM
tigergirl said...
I hope you can do some sort of fix, it would be such a shame to have this dress wasted.
3/20/12 7:22 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is gorgeous and fits you so perfectly--the gaping front, as you said, is not noticeable in the pic. Not sure what you can do to fix it, but am very sure there is a fix. Hope you do, cuz it would be a shame not to get lots of wear from this beautiful dress.
3/20/12 8:41 PM
JenniferMM said...
Very pretty!
3/22/12 12:01 PM
Gendun said...
IT's very pretty! Have you considered adding a piece of lace horizontally to raise the neckline? It might be lovely in white and your fabric would make it look like a design feature.
2/20/13 1:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now