Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Icon Shirt (Icon Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 359 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/20/12 11:56 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
In my many years of sewing I have often sewn garments that I personally do not feel is "me" which are then gleefully taken by my DS because they are in fact down right pretty - even beautiful -which I realise when I see her wearing them - and Martha I think you are doing the same darn thing - I absolutely love your blouse and the fabrics you used - it's so modern but not overly so - I would expect to see this in an expensive RTW store so please wear it often - or I could send you my address?
3/20/12 12:12 PM
anncie1 said...
I want this!!!
3/20/12 12:16 PM
Claverie said...
Looks SOOOO much better than the pattern/web site. Great looking shirt!
3/20/12 1:30 PM
sfshaza said...
I adore this top. I love the stripes, I love the color blocking. I love your modification with the buttons at the side hem. I can't wait to make this one up!
3/20/12 2:24 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Love this top and the stripes, especially the navy cuff with red lining!
3/20/12 4:20 PM
Kemish said...
Great review. I just traced this pattern off this morning and am looking forward to making it. I was intrigued by the funnel neck. Love yours in stripes. I appreciate TSW unique and detailed instructions - I'm looking forward to starting my blouse.
3/20/12 5:23 PM
FreyaStark said...
It's fun and distinctive, but I agree with you about the fabric. Something plain or with a fine pattern might be better. But do keep wearing it. It's much too good to waste, and you might come around to liking it more.
3/21/12 0:05 AM
cmcarr said...
It's interesting that we sewers are always the hardest critics. I love everything about you shirt. Please send it to me if you don't like it. I wear a medium also. I just finished my first TSW pattern and I love all the details. I never knew there were so many independent pattern companies until I found Pattern Review. I have sewn forever but I have learned more in the past 2 years than the last 40 years. Thanks everyone.
3/21/12 0:47 AM
Karine said...
Martha, I love your Icon shirt! I hope the stripes grow on you because they're super - I especially like the red mixed in. Great idea on the buttons for the side flap. I'm just finishing this top and think I'll copy that idea. For what it's worth, the hanging pocket is really fun - you might want to consider it on your next one. I'm thinking, too, about making the back shorter next time. Very nice work - you're so creative!
3/21/12 9:16 AM
DorothyK said...
This is fabulous. I love your use of the stripes and buttons. Looks like I'll have to get this pattern :-)
3/21/12 10:48 AM
Cultured Purl said...
I am waiting for my pattern right now ( ordered as a kit) I have been wondering why the other side of the fabric needed to show, now I know I LOVE LOVE LOVE your shirt and would love to do mine in stripes any day( I love stripes in anything tho), I love the cowl of the neckline, I think they have a winner in this pattern, and I think yours is absolutely fun and perfect for summer! This shirt looks like an expensive boutique shirt, and you did a great job on sewing it,,,, hope mine turns out as well as yours does, I will be making a few of these myself! ( gosh I love stripes!)
3/21/12 2:32 PM
Cultured Purl said...
This particular pattern and the Hybiscus are my all time favorite shirts of SW, I absolutely LOVE both of them and could make them repeatedly in diff ways Would love to know where one gets such wonderful shirting fabric love this blouse, both patterns are on my table now~
3/21/12 2:34 PM
magoe6217 said...
Martha, I think this is a real winner. When you start receiving the many compliments that I am sure will be coming your way, hopefully it will grow on you.
3/22/12 7:09 PM
mm said...
I was hoping someonw would review this pattern. It looks great and I want one.
3/23/12 6:55 AM
SJ Kurtz said...
I really like your fabric use on this; I bought this pattern to make a shirt for my sister, and she thought your version much nicer. Ditto the ReVisions instructions; sometimes you have to make a little model of something to see how it works (my spatial sense is less bendy than it used to be)
4/8/13 2:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 2132
photo
Review by Sister of ... on 12/5/09
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2648
photo
Review by aburlock on 3/11/12
Read Review

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0119 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5998 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us