Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 60432-1021 (Pleated Dirndl Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 195 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/12 11:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
AH yes, one DOES need at least ONE olive green silk bikable skirt! :) This is really nice! Nice hemming and thanks for that tip about starting at the hem to seam up the sides. I do not do rolled hems, as I have never been able to do them no matter how much help or what tips I read or try. Good for you! :)
3/21/12 2:59 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Great skirt! The pleats really are a more flattering alternative to the gathers. Reassuring for me to see this put in practice here as I'll be making a sixties Big Dress next week and was worried that (after all the effort and the expense of fabric) it will make me look like a tubby child... I hope to come across this lovely silk someday: olive green is one of my fave colours. Thanks (yet again) for your many great tips.
3/21/12 3:27 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dirndl skirt. I agree the pleats are much better than gathers. Your sewing projects always look just as good on the inside as the outside. As usual, thank you for the detailed review.
3/21/12 4:01 PM
rivergum said...
I love this skirt, and the way you have styled it with the wrap top. Great colours too!
3/22/12 0:27 AM
Sanibelle said...
You do such beautiful, meticulous work. The skirt paired with the wrap top is especially flattering. I love the whole look!
3/22/12 4:27 AM
marec said...
As usual, your review taught me something new...and I got to enjoy photos of your skirt again. Love it and it is so flattering on you.
3/22/12 10:37 AM
ryan's mom said...
Really cute! I love these looks.
3/22/12 8:04 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You were so smart to pleat the skirt out! I avoid the gathered skirts and never thought about pleating! Beautiful skirt!
3/22/12 8:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us