Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3242 OOP (Vintage 49er Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 181 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/12 3:17 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Very nice! The 49er looks like an American classic that is not known where I live, but I certainly wish I could have one. I'll have to watch out for a suitable pattern. You have done well to reuse the skirt fabric so successfully, too.
3/21/12 5:02 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Beautiful, beautiful. I want one, too! I have a small men's plaid shirt jacket that was handed down to me, but a women's version like yours would be so much better fitting and looking.
3/21/12 6:06 AM
birdmcfarland said...
I love this! great work
3/21/12 6:59 AM
Rhoda K said...
Such a nice jacket and repurpose project! I had a red/gray one when I was in high school and literally wore it out.
3/21/12 7:32 AM
jlg said...
I recognized this as the Pendleton jacket as soon as I saw it. Great job.
3/21/12 8:15 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
What luck finding an additional fabric source.. your jacket is fabulous!
3/21/12 8:27 AM
karen n said...
Fabulous job, Mary and it looked great real life too as I got to see it on you at the Expo! The best part? Mary impressed me in that she put this right in her washing machine with Woolite, no dryer (correct me if I'm wrong) and it comes out beautifully!
3/21/12 9:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Fantastic jacket - looks perfectly lovely.
3/21/12 2:18 PM
SavageCoco said...
Oh, SNAP! Finding an identical skirt can only mean it was fated for perfection! Well done!
3/21/12 3:43 PM
21wale said...
Very nice! Such a classic and looks great in the plaid.
3/21/12 6:44 PM
snaffles said...
Beautiful jacket...I love Black Watch plaid. I've been looking for this pattern for ages. I'm pretty sure Lucy was wearing an original one in the classic rumba scene she did with Ricky when she had eggs in her jacket pockets. Waste of a great jacket.
3/24/12 3:47 AM
sewpelican said...
Love your jacket. I have some Pendleton skirts packed away as my waist has "grown". Hated to part with them , but now am inspired to make a vest or two. "Serge and topstitch is what P is doing now", is that to reduce amount of fabric they use I wonder? Their SA used to be quite generous.
11/3/12 4:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3693 Cardigans
photo
Review by pfaffkj on 2/13/10
Read Review

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other UFO Contest 2009
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 1/31/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us