SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2209 (Misses' Dresses & Jacket)

54 more reviews
Viewed 586 times 
Reviewed by:Ripple Dandelion
photo

 
 
About Ripple Dandelionstar
NC USA
Member since: 9/23/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/12 2:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
Oh, thanks for the nice comments, especially on the belt! You guys understand, it's the little things that make us sewers happy. style inspired, yes, I do find the cut rather boxy. I think if I had given myself more room at the bust that would make it a bit curvier for me. Also, I agree that the armholes are a bit low. Not a lot, but a tad. Good luck with your version. I could also see this being shortened to be really cropped.
3/23/12 8:08 PM
style inspired said...
Thanks for the review. The flat band version (C) is is next on my project list once current wip is finished. I'm planning to add two or three buttons. Despite the princess seams I had the impression it could be boxy. How do you find the armholes and sleeves? -Low, loose?
3/23/12 5:01 PM
Lynn67 said...
I would never have pictured your jacket from looking at the pattern envelope - yours looks so elegant! Brilliant idea with the peplum - I may copy that with my swayback too. You should be maniacally pleased!
3/23/12 10:48 AM
redside said...
Inventive pattern changes!
3/23/12 10:09 AM
BexInMD said...
I love the peplum and belt that you added to give back interest.
3/23/12 9:30 AM
becca a said...
Both your jackets are lovely and so chic! Your belt and peplum addition are fantastic, and your fabric choices take this pattern from cute to fabulous.
3/23/12 9:19 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your neck does not look scrawny and the jacket it great! I really love the one with the collar and the little belt thingy truly adds great interest to the back of the jacket. Nice!!
3/22/12 8:02 PM
chrissythegreat said...
It looks great! You make me want to make a 2nd one...
3/22/12 5:41 PM
Claverie said...
Oh... very nice. That was a surprise. Nice touch.
3/22/12 5:24 PM
MaryDB said...
I think those jackets are darling. I especially like the back detail and peplum you added. Nice work!
3/22/12 3:49 PM
Christas said...
Both jackets look lovely. Your changes to the pattern are very nice. I also love your fabric choices.
3/22/12 2:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

More Info
Simplicity 2337

photo
by: Diahn

Review