Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2209 (Misses' Dresses & Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 584 times 52 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Ripple Dandelion
photo
About Ripple Dandelionstar
NC USA
Member since: 9/23/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/12 2:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Both jackets look lovely. Your changes to the pattern are very nice. I also love your fabric choices.
3/22/12 2:38 PM
MaryDB said...
I think those jackets are darling. I especially like the back detail and peplum you added. Nice work!
3/22/12 3:49 PM
Claverie said...
Oh... very nice. That was a surprise. Nice touch.
3/22/12 5:24 PM
chrissythegreat said...
It looks great! You make me want to make a 2nd one...
3/22/12 5:41 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your neck does not look scrawny and the jacket it great! I really love the one with the collar and the little belt thingy truly adds great interest to the back of the jacket. Nice!!
3/22/12 8:02 PM
becca a said...
Both your jackets are lovely and so chic! Your belt and peplum addition are fantastic, and your fabric choices take this pattern from cute to fabulous.
3/23/12 9:19 AM
BexInMD said...
I love the peplum and belt that you added to give back interest.
3/23/12 9:30 AM
redside said...
Inventive pattern changes!
3/23/12 10:09 AM
Lynn67 said...
I would never have pictured your jacket from looking at the pattern envelope - yours looks so elegant! Brilliant idea with the peplum - I may copy that with my swayback too. You should be maniacally pleased!
3/23/12 10:48 AM
style inspired said...
Thanks for the review. The flat band version (C) is is next on my project list once current wip is finished. I'm planning to add two or three buttons. Despite the princess seams I had the impression it could be boxy. How do you find the armholes and sleeves? -Low, loose?
3/23/12 5:01 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Oh, thanks for the nice comments, especially on the belt! You guys understand, it's the little things that make us sewers happy. style inspired, yes, I do find the cut rather boxy. I think if I had given myself more room at the bust that would make it a bit curvier for me. Also, I agree that the armholes are a bit low. Not a lot, but a tad. Good luck with your version. I could also see this being shortened to be really cropped.
3/23/12 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 3921
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 4/17/12
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern used
photo
Review by Handmadeby... on 1/7/09
Read Review

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us