SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6139 (Misses'/Children's/Girls' American Colonial Costumes)

6 more reviews
Viewed 124 times 
Reviewed by:volvogirl
photo

 
 
About volvogirlstar
Member since: 7/4/10
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 17)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/12 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lazyjgirl said... (9/2/12 11:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review, because I need to sew this dress in a day, for a parade tomorrow. I was going to cut out a large, but now, I'll do the medium or small for the bodice. You've saved me a bunch of time but putting in this review. Thank you!
Eminor said... (4/4/12 1:54 PM) Reply
Very cute dress! And that fabric looks just perfect!
Aroura said... (3/23/12 10:40 PM) Reply
It looks really good! I can't see the problem with the back, and it sounds like it was a hit at Colonial days with the kids. Good job!
volvogirl said... (3/23/12 9:28 PM) Reply
Hmmm. I'd have to look at it again, but maybe I did miss a gather or something. I don't see one in the line drawing, but who knows! I admit that it could completely be user error. Btw, I love the book Stargirl! One of my all time favorites.
Stargirl7 said... (3/23/12 9:13 PM) Reply
I wonder, as it is a fitted bodice, whether all the excess on the upper back shoulder was supposed to be gathered/eased in to provide some wearing ease? Fitted garments that don't have upper back darts should have a back shoulder seam that's longer than the front, and some notches to indicate where it should be gathered/eased in. It's basically a dart but a sort of released one. Or, maybe it was just drafted oddly. Either way, the dress is great! So nice for you to dress up for the event - I'm sure the kids loved it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Pattern Details
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Pattern Details