SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6139 (Misses'/Children's/Girls' American Colonial Costumes)

6 more reviews
Viewed 124 times 
Reviewed by:volvogirl
photo

 
 
About volvogirlstar
Member since: 7/4/10
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/12 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lazyjgirl said... (9/2/12 11:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review, because I need to sew this dress in a day, for a parade tomorrow. I was going to cut out a large, but now, I'll do the medium or small for the bodice. You've saved me a bunch of time but putting in this review. Thank you!
Eminor said... (4/4/12 1:54 PM) Reply
Very cute dress! And that fabric looks just perfect!
Aroura said... (3/23/12 10:40 PM) Reply
It looks really good! I can't see the problem with the back, and it sounds like it was a hit at Colonial days with the kids. Good job!
volvogirl said... (3/23/12 9:28 PM) Reply
Hmmm. I'd have to look at it again, but maybe I did miss a gather or something. I don't see one in the line drawing, but who knows! I admit that it could completely be user error. Btw, I love the book Stargirl! One of my all time favorites.
Stargirl7 said... (3/23/12 9:13 PM) Reply
I wonder, as it is a fitted bodice, whether all the excess on the upper back shoulder was supposed to be gathered/eased in to provide some wearing ease? Fitted garments that don't have upper back darts should have a back shoulder seam that's longer than the front, and some notches to indicate where it should be gathered/eased in. It's basically a dart but a sort of released one. Or, maybe it was just drafted oddly. Either way, the dress is great! So nice for you to dress up for the event - I'm sure the kids loved it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 4513

photo
by: CaitlinH

Review
Vogue Patterns 1293

photo
by: Nikki

Review
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Pattern Details