Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6139 (Misses'/Children's/Girls' American Colonial Costumes)

6 more reviews
Viewed 129 times 
Reviewed by:volvogirl
photo

 
 
About volvogirlstar
Member since: 7/4/10
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 17)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/12 8:40 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
lazyjgirl said... (9/2/12 11:20 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review, because I need to sew this dress in a day, for a parade tomorrow. I was going to cut out a large, but now, I'll do the medium or small for the bodice. You've saved me a bunch of time but putting in this review. Thank you!
Eminor said... (4/4/12 1:54 PM) Reply
Very cute dress! And that fabric looks just perfect!
Aroura said... (3/23/12 10:40 PM) Reply
It looks really good! I can't see the problem with the back, and it sounds like it was a hit at Colonial days with the kids. Good job!
volvogirl said... (3/23/12 9:28 PM) Reply
Hmmm. I'd have to look at it again, but maybe I did miss a gather or something. I don't see one in the line drawing, but who knows! I admit that it could completely be user error. Btw, I love the book Stargirl! One of my all time favorites.
Stargirl7 said... (3/23/12 9:13 PM) Reply
I wonder, as it is a fitted bodice, whether all the excess on the upper back shoulder was supposed to be gathered/eased in to provide some wearing ease? Fitted garments that don't have upper back darts should have a back shoulder seam that's longer than the front, and some notches to indicate where it should be gathered/eased in. It's basically a dart but a sort of released one. Or, maybe it was just drafted oddly. Either way, the dress is great! So nice for you to dress up for the event - I'm sure the kids loved it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

StyleArc Kerry Cargo Pant

photo
by: sewtofit

Review
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details