SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2572 (Women's shapewear)

1 more reviews
Viewed 826 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 201
Favored by: 91 people
patterns reviewed: 191
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mlsews said...
Those are fantastic!
3/24/12 3:58 AM
Living Beauty said...
Thanks for the review. You did such a great job on this pattern. I always wondered how a pattern for "shape wear" would work out for a home sewing engineer! Beautiful!
3/24/12 10:04 AM
RadarRadiance said...
They look great, perfect for those clingy knit dresses!
3/24/12 10:06 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Great job...I'll have to get this pattern! Thank you for the review...very helpful!
3/24/12 10:16 AM
Elemenopeo said...
great job - thanks for the tips!
3/24/12 10:41 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Yes! Yes! Love those!
3/24/12 10:53 AM
2mulie said...
Excellent!! I've often wanted to make these, especially when I don't get the fit I want in RTW and have to spend major $$$ to be unhappy. Thank you for your review and modifications.
3/24/12 12:21 PM
cindyann said...
What a great review! Do the legs ride up at all?
3/24/12 1:07 PM
clothingengineer said...
Cindyann - they don't after I lengthened them and made sure the stretch lace is tight enough. It is very important to make sure the fabric you use has 70% 4-way stretch.
3/24/12 1:24 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
What a helpful and great review. I need this pattern!!!
3/24/12 4:03 PM
marjoriekh said...
Maybe this is the answer to my summer VPL and panty ride-up problems. Do you have any further advice about fabric selection? Light weight OK, or needs body?
3/24/12 9:31 PM
clothingengineer said...
marjoriekh - My rayon/lycra knit is about as thin and flimsy as you can get and it worked really well for this pattern. However I wasn't looking for compression - I mostly wanted a comfortable way of avoiding VPL. I think you could use any fabric as long as it has lots of stretch in both directions.
3/24/12 10:43 PM
wildberrymom said...
Thanks for a great review and inspiration!
3/24/12 11:20 PM
morzel said...
Thanks for this good review!
3/25/12 3:08 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful - will have to have a go myself
3/25/12 3:12 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Perfect fit and no undergarment lines in a natural fiber.
3/25/12 8:54 AM
marjoriekh said...
Thanks! Not looking for compression, but invisible, cool comfort in the heat. Thank you for this very helpful review.
3/26/12 10:02 AM
Levone said...
Wow, I love the idea of making my own shapewear, yours look perfect. I'm always disappointed with my store bought ones. Great review!
3/26/12 9:24 PM
canei said...
Nice. I love making shapewear. I have this and have made several. Better fit than RTW and cost effective once you find your supplier.
4/15/13 8:13 AM
irmartin said...
Looks Great!!!! Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about this pattern. Now, I thinkI will try it.
6/13/13 1:33 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Great review, I will have to try this pattern. There are so many awesome Jalie's out there to try!
9/29/13 9:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now