Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 7975 or Kwik Sew 3258">The Contemporary Couture Jacket Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2572 (Women's shapewear)

2 more reviews
Viewed 940 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 217 (patterns: 207)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 124 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said... (9/29/13 9:51 AM) Reply
Great review, I will have to try this pattern. There are so many awesome Jalie's out there to try!
irmartin said... (6/13/13 1:33 PM) Reply
Looks Great!!!! Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about this pattern. Now, I thinkI will try it.
canei said... (4/15/13 8:13 AM) Reply
Nice. I love making shapewear. I have this and have made several. Better fit than RTW and cost effective once you find your supplier.
Levone said... (3/26/12 9:24 PM) Reply
Wow, I love the idea of making my own shapewear, yours look perfect. I'm always disappointed with my store bought ones. Great review!
marjoriekh said... (3/26/12 10:02 AM) Reply
Thanks! Not looking for compression, but invisible, cool comfort in the heat. Thank you for this very helpful review.
MNBarb said... (3/25/12 8:54 AM) Reply
Wow! Perfect fit and no undergarment lines in a natural fiber.
pdiddly said... (3/25/12 3:12 AM) Reply
wonderful - will have to have a go myself
morzel said... (3/25/12 3:08 AM) Reply
Thanks for this good review!
wildberrymom said... (3/24/12 11:20 PM) Reply
Thanks for a great review and inspiration!
clothingengineer said... (3/24/12 10:43 PM) Reply
marjoriekh - My rayon/lycra knit is about as thin and flimsy as you can get and it worked really well for this pattern. However I wasn't looking for compression - I mostly wanted a comfortable way of avoiding VPL. I think you could use any fabric as long as it has lots of stretch in both directions.
marjoriekh said... (3/24/12 9:31 PM) Reply
Maybe this is the answer to my summer VPL and panty ride-up problems. Do you have any further advice about fabric selection? Light weight OK, or needs body?
Ripple Dandelion said... (3/24/12 4:03 PM) Reply
What a helpful and great review. I need this pattern!!!
clothingengineer said... (3/24/12 1:24 PM) Reply
Cindyann - they don't after I lengthened them and made sure the stretch lace is tight enough. It is very important to make sure the fabric you use has 70% 4-way stretch.
cindyann said... (3/24/12 1:07 PM) Reply
What a great review! Do the legs ride up at all?
2mulie said... (3/24/12 12:21 PM) Reply
Excellent!! I've often wanted to make these, especially when I don't get the fit I want in RTW and have to spend major $$$ to be unhappy. Thank you for your review and modifications.
VirginiasDghter said... (3/24/12 10:53 AM) Reply
Yes! Yes! Love those!
Elemenopeo said... (3/24/12 10:41 AM) Reply
great job - thanks for the tips!
Kathy7661 said... (3/24/12 10:16 AM) Reply
Great job...I'll have to get this pattern! Thank you for the review...very helpful!
RadarRadiance said... (3/24/12 10:06 AM) Reply
They look great, perfect for those clingy knit dresses!
Living Beauty said... (3/24/12 10:04 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. You did such a great job on this pattern. I always wondered how a pattern for "shape wear" would work out for a home sewing engineer! Beautiful!
mlsews said... (3/24/12 3:58 AM) Reply
Those are fantastic!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Stretch & Sew 312

photo
by: sizzle4

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details