SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2572 (Women's shapewear)

2 more reviews
Viewed 960 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews: 221 (patterns: 211)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 135 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 2:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said... (9/29/13 9:51 AM) Reply
Great review, I will have to try this pattern. There are so many awesome Jalie's out there to try!
irmartin said... (6/13/13 1:33 PM) Reply
Looks Great!!!! Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about this pattern. Now, I thinkI will try it.
canei said... (4/15/13 8:13 AM) Reply
Nice. I love making shapewear. I have this and have made several. Better fit than RTW and cost effective once you find your supplier.
Levone said... (3/26/12 9:24 PM) Reply
Wow, I love the idea of making my own shapewear, yours look perfect. I'm always disappointed with my store bought ones. Great review!
marjoriekh said... (3/26/12 10:02 AM) Reply
Thanks! Not looking for compression, but invisible, cool comfort in the heat. Thank you for this very helpful review.
MNBarb said... (3/25/12 8:54 AM) Reply
Wow! Perfect fit and no undergarment lines in a natural fiber.
pdiddly said... (3/25/12 3:12 AM) Reply
wonderful - will have to have a go myself
morzel said... (3/25/12 3:08 AM) Reply
Thanks for this good review!
wildberrymom said... (3/24/12 11:20 PM) Reply
Thanks for a great review and inspiration!
clothingengineer said... (3/24/12 10:43 PM) Reply
marjoriekh - My rayon/lycra knit is about as thin and flimsy as you can get and it worked really well for this pattern. However I wasn't looking for compression - I mostly wanted a comfortable way of avoiding VPL. I think you could use any fabric as long as it has lots of stretch in both directions.
marjoriekh said... (3/24/12 9:31 PM) Reply
Maybe this is the answer to my summer VPL and panty ride-up problems. Do you have any further advice about fabric selection? Light weight OK, or needs body?
Ripple Dandelion said... (3/24/12 4:03 PM) Reply
What a helpful and great review. I need this pattern!!!
clothingengineer said... (3/24/12 1:24 PM) Reply
Cindyann - they don't after I lengthened them and made sure the stretch lace is tight enough. It is very important to make sure the fabric you use has 70% 4-way stretch.
cindyann said... (3/24/12 1:07 PM) Reply
What a great review! Do the legs ride up at all?
2mulie said... (3/24/12 12:21 PM) Reply
Excellent!! I've often wanted to make these, especially when I don't get the fit I want in RTW and have to spend major $$$ to be unhappy. Thank you for your review and modifications.
VirginiasDghter said... (3/24/12 10:53 AM) Reply
Yes! Yes! Love those!
Elemenopeo said... (3/24/12 10:41 AM) Reply
great job - thanks for the tips!
Kathy7661 said... (3/24/12 10:16 AM) Reply
Great job...I'll have to get this pattern! Thank you for the review...very helpful!
RadarRadiance said... (3/24/12 10:06 AM) Reply
They look great, perfect for those clingy knit dresses!
Living Beauty said... (3/24/12 10:04 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. You did such a great job on this pattern. I always wondered how a pattern for "shape wear" would work out for a home sewing engineer! Beautiful!
mlsews said... (3/24/12 3:58 AM) Reply
Those are fantastic!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 40018

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 143924-1001

photo
by: motorharp

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Pattern Details