SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2880 (MISSES' DRESS)

12 more reviews
Viewed 737 times 
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danmar
FL United States
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/27/12 0:35 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danmar said...
Schnipps--- I omitted the entire foundation with boning. So instead I used 1/4" elastic across the shoulders. Did not need it across bodice or back. So there ends up being 3 layers in the bodice. The chiffon and two linings.
5/8/12 11:18 AM
salsera7 said...
Very ambitious project. You did a wonderful job!
5/5/12 12:46 PM
ChristineX said...
That is such a hot dress! I love it!
5/2/12 9:49 PM
Schnipps said...
That dress is wonderful! You did not sew the boning at all? But you did the foundation parts (1,2,3 and 4)? In another review I jus read, she did the boning except on the shoulders. I just started with the very first steps of a prototype and I would really like to omit the boning.
5/2/12 5:05 PM
LynnMR333 said...
awesome!! thanks for sharing!!
4/28/12 8:02 AM
Fictionfan said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! This is really a labor of love for your lucky daughter. I bet she'll be the envy of her friends at the prom. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/27/12 10:55 PM
tsedai said...
It looks like the dress walked off of the pattern envelope! It looks stunning!
4/27/12 2:30 PM
twinkle72 said...
This is beautiful!
4/27/12 11:28 AM
zoe said...
Great detailed review! Beautiful dress!
4/27/12 10:19 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great review! I made this last year for my daughter and I wish I had left off the boning, etc. It was a ton of work, but she has gotten a lot of use out if it. She sings in competitions. Your dress is soooo lovely!
4/27/12 9:59 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very beautiful and thank you for the detailed review!
4/27/12 6:38 AM
BillieJean said...
My gosh - this is so beautiful. I can't imagine ever tackling anything this daunting. But you sure did make it work.
4/27/12 6:12 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is a gorgeous dress!
4/27/12 1:32 AM
Dale C said...
Beautiful! She's very lucky to have you sewing her prom dress!
4/27/12 1:00 AM
Scheri said...
What a lucky young lady to have someone make her such a beautiful gown.
4/27/12 0:56 AM
EliseMarie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Took my breath away this dress is so pretty :-)
4/24/12 10:06 PM
Calama said...
Wow, looks gorgeous!
4/24/12 9:01 PM
Danmar said...
Hi all, Can you see my photos? Having trouble with the process!
4/24/12 8:19 PM
Danmar said...
You are welcome! I could not have made this dress without the other reviewers tips! So I thought I should return the favor. Pics will be a few days as I want to wait until my daughter puts it on again. How are you handling the slippery chiffon? Any special method? The gelatin sounds crazy but really works if your fabric is washable!
4/23/12 9:15 PM
shayedknits said...
Thanks for the review! I am working on this dress, too and I just finished sewing all of the lining. I then thought that I sewed it backwards (I was also assuming that the seams should face the inside of the dress, so the right side of the lining would show)...but I guess I did it correctly! Thanks-can't wait to see pictures of yours!
4/23/12 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 2927

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Eagle's View PM/54

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

More Info
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

More Info