SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2880 (MISSES' DRESS)

12 more reviews
Viewed 727 times 
Reviewed by:Danmar
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danmar
Member since: 11/3/11
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/12 8:46 PM
Last Updated:4/27/12 0:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shayedknits said...
Thanks for the review! I am working on this dress, too and I just finished sewing all of the lining. I then thought that I sewed it backwards (I was also assuming that the seams should face the inside of the dress, so the right side of the lining would show)...but I guess I did it correctly! Thanks-can't wait to see pictures of yours!
4/23/12 11:38 AM
Danmar said...
You are welcome! I could not have made this dress without the other reviewers tips! So I thought I should return the favor. Pics will be a few days as I want to wait until my daughter puts it on again. How are you handling the slippery chiffon? Any special method? The gelatin sounds crazy but really works if your fabric is washable!
4/23/12 9:15 PM
Danmar said...
Hi all, Can you see my photos? Having trouble with the process!
4/24/12 8:19 PM
Calama said...
Wow, looks gorgeous!
4/24/12 9:01 PM
EliseMarie said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Took my breath away this dress is so pretty :-)
4/24/12 10:06 PM
Scheri said...
What a lucky young lady to have someone make her such a beautiful gown.
4/27/12 0:56 AM
Dale C said...
Beautiful! She's very lucky to have you sewing her prom dress!
4/27/12 1:00 AM
Stephanie C. said...
That is a gorgeous dress!
4/27/12 1:32 AM
BillieJean said...
My gosh - this is so beautiful. I can't imagine ever tackling anything this daunting. But you sure did make it work.
4/27/12 6:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
Very beautiful and thank you for the detailed review!
4/27/12 6:38 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great review! I made this last year for my daughter and I wish I had left off the boning, etc. It was a ton of work, but she has gotten a lot of use out if it. She sings in competitions. Your dress is soooo lovely!
4/27/12 9:59 AM
zoe said...
Great detailed review! Beautiful dress!
4/27/12 10:19 AM
twinkle72 said...
This is beautiful!
4/27/12 11:28 AM
tsedai said...
It looks like the dress walked off of the pattern envelope! It looks stunning!
4/27/12 2:30 PM
Fictionfan said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely!!! This is really a labor of love for your lucky daughter. I bet she'll be the envy of her friends at the prom. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/27/12 10:55 PM
LynnMR333 said...
awesome!! thanks for sharing!!
4/28/12 8:02 AM
Schnipps said...
That dress is wonderful! You did not sew the boning at all? But you did the foundation parts (1,2,3 and 4)? In another review I jus read, she did the boning except on the shoulders. I just started with the very first steps of a prototype and I would really like to omit the boning.
5/2/12 5:05 PM
ChristineX said...
That is such a hot dress! I love it!
5/2/12 9:49 PM
salsera7 said...
Very ambitious project. You did a wonderful job!
5/5/12 12:46 PM
Danmar said...
Schnipps--- I omitted the entire foundation with boning. So instead I used 1/4" elastic across the shoulders. Did not need it across bodice or back. So there ends up being 3 layers in the bodice. The chiffon and two linings.
5/8/12 11:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-126

photo
by: Janiki

Review