Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2679 (Sport Jackets for Women) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 295 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:E.A.Y.
photo
About E.A.Y.
CA
Member since: 1/25/12
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/12 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/26/12 5:32 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wildberrymom said...
Nice muslin and helpful review--look forward to seeing the final project.
3/24/12 10:39 PM
E.A.Y. said...
Thank you! I've finally ordered the fabric and altered the pattern so once I finish a jacket for my husband, I can get going.
4/6/12 9:27 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow - the jacket looks great! You did a terrific job. Where on earth did you find the Schoeller softshell? I have been looking for it everywhere.
4/26/12 11:47 AM
E.A.Y. said...
If you are in Europe, shelby.fi In the States rockywoods.com
4/26/12 11:49 AM
TJSEWS said...
Fabulous!
4/26/12 4:27 PM
E.A.Y. said...
I should add a note about working w/ Schoeller dryskin. This is a woven fabric, so some kind of anti-fray is necessary along the front edges. I used Fray Block. If I'd thought of it, I'd have incorporated some seam tape or something for a nicer finish.
4/26/12 5:34 PM
annakeeton said...
Wow, great jacket! Schoeller makes super quality fabric, so you know this jacket will wear well. Brilliant idea to use bulk zipper tape on the hand pockets to not have to sew around the stop.
4/26/12 7:20 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That's an amazing looking jacket!
4/27/12 1:36 AM
Danmar said...
Nice! I love the color blocking. Your tips are very helpful
4/27/12 9:52 AM
MNBarb said...
I just wore my jacket from this pattern today and was thinking, "this is such a great fit and design". I love the way you color-blocked and topstitched yours. I agree, how nice to have a knock-around comfy jacket that is fit for a woman! Great details in your review.
4/27/12 8:13 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I used microtex (sharp) needles on my Malden PowerStretch jacket too. But I just serged it :-). And did a very tiny zigzag on the topstitching. I have this pattern too but haven't used it yet, thanks for a very thorough review! And thanks for the Finnish link too.
4/29/12 1:21 PM
E.A.Y. said...
For quite a while I could only find the Schoeller from Finland. I was happy to find it in the US. I do not own a serger so I don't know what I am missing! Hopefully this review will also demonstrate that this kind of sewing is possible "sergerless".
4/29/12 2:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 5366
photo
Review by Mauude on 1/6/13
Read Review

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Truly Victorian TV463
photo
Review by sezza899 on 5/4/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3971 Pattern ( Size XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 3971 Pattern ( Size XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us