Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5206 (Criss-Cross Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1576 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/04 1:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
A nice save. Love the fabric on you but do think you look cuter in more fitted tops.
11/25/04 1:30 PM
Elona said...
This is really cute on you, in spite of your misgivings! Those "drapes" you refer to are pretty much indicative of a need for a bust dart, all right, but they're really the rule in RTW (unless lycra and a tight fit is involved). Non-sewists probably don't even notice them--what else is new? Adding a bit of shaping isn't too time-consuming, really. Just marking the waistline on your pattern and tapering the side seam half and inch in and out there makes a big difference. As to the need for bust ease, have you ever tried slitting the front pattern horizontally at the bust apex, spreading the pieces half and inch to one inch, and making a wee curvy "bleb" at the side seam there? You ease in the tiny bit of extra, and it has the effect of giving a little more bust fullness without a real dart. I think this shaping is actually built into Loes' Cowl top. Wonder if it would be hard to morph the two?
11/25/04 2:25 PM
KarmenG said...
Well - the top looks very cute so it was indeed a nice save. What size do you usually cut in LH patterns? Have shoulders been OK when using her patterns in the past? I'm just curious how this experience compares so we can all learn from this. I'd like to give the pattern a try too. Thanks
11/25/04 9:02 PM
Everyday Sewist said...
Jlg, I think your top looks MUCH nicer than the pattern photos. I have hesitated buying this pattern even though I prefer the above-the-bust criss-cross too--because I didn't like the way it looked on the envelope. As for that diagonal drape, well, it's just the way knit patterns are drafted in RTW and I've noticed that the "designer" pattern designers are very much in an RTW mindset when it comes to fitting. I have added darts before on dark fabrics, and they looked fine. A couple of times I've also tried the method in Sandra Betzina's Fast Fit book which increases the pattern cup size without adding a dart. It worked quite well for me, but it does require a good bit of cutting and taping on the pattern.
11/26/04 9:05 AM
KarmenG said...
jlg - does the criss cross part stay closed? Does the overlap (public) side stay "up" or will it droop as you wear it? Thanks
11/26/04 9:13 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very nice save on some really cute fabric. It would have been a shame to throw this away. I plan to morph the gathered cross-over view onto a TNT pattern. How much is gathered on this view? I plan to cut and spread to make the gathers, I just don't know how much to spread.
11/26/04 9:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Good save. Glad it is so warm and sunny where you are.
11/26/04 9:49 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for all of the suggestions. Karmeng, the criss cross is not really a wrap. The left upper front piece is just sewn to the right piece. Definitely, no droop or peek a boo. Also, if I had bothered to look at the jacket patterns that I had previously made, I would have known to make a larger size. Her Bolero jacket, which is my favorite of her jackets, is cut in a small, even though that is for a size 37 bust (I'm a 34). Her Swing Skirt, however, which is my favorite of her skirts, I cut exactly the size for my hips listed on the envelope (35 inch hips) and that is perfect for me in stretch fabric and still pretty good in woven. I guess holding the pattern pieces up to me isn't good enough to see if a pattern is going to fit well. Sherrill, my top doesn't have any gathering. The left front yoke for the gathered version is a little over 2 1/2 inches longer than the ungathered version. Hope that helps.
11/26/04 6:14 PM
Mini said...
I compared this pattern to the LH Cowl pattern. This one is boxier, and doesn't have the nice waist/hip curves of the tunic length Cowl. If I use the Criss Cross pattern, I will just trace the neck treatment and use it on the Cowl body. It would be easy to transfer the neckline to any top that already fits, once you see how it is constructed. (I think this neckline could also be used on a woven top-just be sure the vee is deep enough to go over the head easily.) HTH
12/16/04 8:11 PM
kathleenb said...
I love the way your top fits. But scrolling through your album, all your garments fit beautifully......Because of the fabric's pattern, I can't tell if the crossover is above your bust or across it....on me it goes across, and I''m not sure it should....
12/23/04 4:31 PM
jlg said...
kathleenb, on me the crisscross does go above the bust.
12/24/04 5:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8317
photo
Review by otterine on 2/28/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Clutch Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-109 Striped blouse
photo
Review by Ghainskom on 6/25/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5582 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us