SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5206 (Criss-Cross Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1578 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/04 1:01 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
kathleenb, on me the crisscross does go above the bust.
12/24/04 5:58 AM
kathleenb said...
I love the way your top fits. But scrolling through your album, all your garments fit beautifully......Because of the fabric's pattern, I can't tell if the crossover is above your bust or across it....on me it goes across, and I''m not sure it should....
12/23/04 4:31 PM
Mini said...
I compared this pattern to the LH Cowl pattern. This one is boxier, and doesn't have the nice waist/hip curves of the tunic length Cowl. If I use the Criss Cross pattern, I will just trace the neck treatment and use it on the Cowl body. It would be easy to transfer the neckline to any top that already fits, once you see how it is constructed. (I think this neckline could also be used on a woven top-just be sure the vee is deep enough to go over the head easily.) HTH
12/16/04 8:11 PM
jlg said...
Thanks for all of the suggestions. Karmeng, the criss cross is not really a wrap. The left upper front piece is just sewn to the right piece. Definitely, no droop or peek a boo. Also, if I had bothered to look at the jacket patterns that I had previously made, I would have known to make a larger size. Her Bolero jacket, which is my favorite of her jackets, is cut in a small, even though that is for a size 37 bust (I'm a 34). Her Swing Skirt, however, which is my favorite of her skirts, I cut exactly the size for my hips listed on the envelope (35 inch hips) and that is perfect for me in stretch fabric and still pretty good in woven. I guess holding the pattern pieces up to me isn't good enough to see if a pattern is going to fit well. Sherrill, my top doesn't have any gathering. The left front yoke for the gathered version is a little over 2 1/2 inches longer than the ungathered version. Hope that helps.
11/26/04 6:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Good save. Glad it is so warm and sunny where you are.
11/26/04 9:49 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Very nice save on some really cute fabric. It would have been a shame to throw this away. I plan to morph the gathered cross-over view onto a TNT pattern. How much is gathered on this view? I plan to cut and spread to make the gathers, I just don't know how much to spread.
11/26/04 9:48 AM
KarmenG said...
jlg - does the criss cross part stay closed? Does the overlap (public) side stay "up" or will it droop as you wear it? Thanks
11/26/04 9:13 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
Jlg, I think your top looks MUCH nicer than the pattern photos. I have hesitated buying this pattern even though I prefer the above-the-bust criss-cross too--because I didn't like the way it looked on the envelope. As for that diagonal drape, well, it's just the way knit patterns are drafted in RTW and I've noticed that the "designer" pattern designers are very much in an RTW mindset when it comes to fitting. I have added darts before on dark fabrics, and they looked fine. A couple of times I've also tried the method in Sandra Betzina's Fast Fit book which increases the pattern cup size without adding a dart. It worked quite well for me, but it does require a good bit of cutting and taping on the pattern.
11/26/04 9:05 AM
KarmenG said...
Well - the top looks very cute so it was indeed a nice save. What size do you usually cut in LH patterns? Have shoulders been OK when using her patterns in the past? I'm just curious how this experience compares so we can all learn from this. I'd like to give the pattern a try too. Thanks
11/25/04 9:02 PM
Elona said...
This is really cute on you, in spite of your misgivings! Those "drapes" you refer to are pretty much indicative of a need for a bust dart, all right, but they're really the rule in RTW (unless lycra and a tight fit is involved). Non-sewists probably don't even notice them--what else is new? Adding a bit of shaping isn't too time-consuming, really. Just marking the waistline on your pattern and tapering the side seam half and inch in and out there makes a big difference. As to the need for bust ease, have you ever tried slitting the front pattern horizontally at the bust apex, spreading the pieces half and inch to one inch, and making a wee curvy "bleb" at the side seam there? You ease in the tiny bit of extra, and it has the effect of giving a little more bust fullness without a real dart. I think this shaping is actually built into Loes' Cowl top. Wonder if it would be hard to morph the two?
11/25/04 2:25 PM
drsue said...
A nice save. Love the fabric on you but do think you look cuter in more fitted tops.
11/25/04 1:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2005-112

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now