SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> e816 (body shaper)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1125 times 
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 182
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/12 10:21 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - what a great job
3/28/12 11:29 PM
smwknits said...
Thanks for reviewing a pattern in this neglected category. Very helpful
3/28/12 11:58 PM
USMCMom said...
Thanks! Your reviews are always so helpful. I've been looking at the Jalie pattern, so your comparison was helpful. Now with summer/spring skirt season upon us, I want something like this. Is this as "heavy duty" as Spanx, or more a smoother, bike short type of thing?
3/29/12 0:03 AM
clothingengineer said...
@USMCMom - The beauty of this pattern is that you can get different results depending on the type of fabric you use (as Jonson notes on her website). I made this out of milliskin, which is a light to medium weight fabric. It has more compression than plain jersey but less than powernet. It isn't quite as heavy duty as my Maidenform Control It! firm control thigh slimmer.
3/29/12 0:29 AM
pdiddly said...
think I could do with these - great job
3/29/12 3:35 AM
minasmom said...
Great review and thanks for actually modeling the results. My daughter is waiting for me to make hers...you've just motivated me.
3/29/12 9:48 AM
Karine said...
Great job and very helpful review - thanks!
3/29/12 11:38 AM
cindyann said...
Great review! Thanks for the comparison.
3/29/12 2:09 PM
Dynamo said...
These look super sleek on you! I just checked out the pattern and am surprised to see the fabric requirement is 1.6m of 150 cm. Really? That seems quite a lot to me.
3/29/12 2:32 PM
clothingengineer said...
Dynamo - it says you need 7/8 yard each for the fashion fabric and lining, but it is because you need more length than width. I think this would work fine with a narrower yardage.
3/29/12 4:05 PM
mtnbluebird said...
Great job! I could use one of these!
3/29/12 5:27 PM
USMCMom said...
Yes, I just read the rest of the info on Christine's website and she gives really thorough info about different kinds of fabric. Thanks again for the great review.
3/29/12 7:21 PM
Elemenopeo said...
great review - you get such nice results in your sewing too
3/30/12 11:30 AM
myeclecticmess said...
Thanks for reviewing this and bringing this to my attention. I love the idea of cotton or rayon lined shapewear for summer! I'm always debating between comfort and good looks. Great job!
3/30/12 7:18 PM
PattiinATL said...
If this shapewear gives me your waistline, I'm getting it!
4/27/12 5:51 PM
Barbara R said...
Great review! I didn't know about this pattern, but will now toodle on over to Christine's website. Thanks!
5/7/12 2:57 PM
marthamyers said...
So very interesting - thanks for the review.
9/14/12 8:54 AM
sewme47 said...
Just found this review...sounds like a winner!
3/8/13 6:14 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Really appreciate the thought and details -- thank you.
9/15/13 1:48 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Thank you for the great details. So helpful (especially with an expensive pattern)!
10/12/13 6:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity 5705

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now