SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4954 (Jacket - design your own)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews: 453 (patterns: 420)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 122 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/04 11:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said... (11/30/04 3:52 PM) Reply
Sue I just finished mine like this, and I love your fabric choice and that you changed the pattern collar. I don't think your fabric stretched as much as the lining needs to be longer - my jacket did the same thing. The jacket looks great and I'm wearing mine with jeans too. !
Liana said... (11/28/04 9:00 PM) Reply
Darling jacket Sue! Love the fringe. Texture Weft is great for allover fusing on a jacket, as it doesn't stiffen it at all, just holds it in place.
Elemenopeo said... (11/27/04 9:33 PM) Reply
I would have fused the whole jacket with Armo Weft - it drapes nicely. Try a sample to see. Cute jacket. You are so productive!
KarmenG said... (11/27/04 2:31 PM) Reply
Love the fringe - it looks excellent! So contemporary - boy aren't you cranking out the projects!! Go Sue!!
LisaLS said... (11/27/04 2:30 PM) Reply
Looks great! I have that pattern AND that fabric. :) Made a last minute decision to make a skirt instead of the jacket. Big mistake. It makes my butt look 3 times bigger than it really is. If I had seen this review first, I would have just stuck with the original plan. :P
SueV said... (11/27/04 12:24 PM) Reply
You know, I'm not sure where I would have put stablizer on it because I don't want it stiff. But I should have definetly put some on the hem, about 2". I do this on "tailored" jackets, and don't know why I didn't think if it for this. Also, I had this pattern for several months, cut out, and was hesitant on making it; but glad I got it done. So, "SewTabby", go for it! It's not as bad as you may think!
BjP said... (11/27/04 11:55 AM) Reply
Very cute.....but due to the looseness of the weave, where would you have put stabilizer on it? I've read this comment on other reviews as well yours, so where do you mean you should put the stabilizer? On the whole body of the jacket? Very nice look - and yes, it will look great with jeans!
SewTabby said... (11/27/04 11:53 AM) Reply
Gorgeous! I have this pattern, and have been itching to get it made up. Your jacket turned out really nicely, and is good inspiration for me to get off my duff and make one of my own. Thanks!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Butterick 5314

photo
by: MissyBelle

Review
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Pattern Details