SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4954 (Jacket - design your own)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 453
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 420
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/04 11:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Sue I just finished mine like this, and I love your fabric choice and that you changed the pattern collar. I don't think your fabric stretched as much as the lining needs to be longer - my jacket did the same thing. The jacket looks great and I'm wearing mine with jeans too. !
11/30/04 3:52 PM
Liana said...
Darling jacket Sue! Love the fringe. Texture Weft is great for allover fusing on a jacket, as it doesn't stiffen it at all, just holds it in place.
11/28/04 9:00 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I would have fused the whole jacket with Armo Weft - it drapes nicely. Try a sample to see. Cute jacket. You are so productive!
11/27/04 9:33 PM
KarmenG said...
Love the fringe - it looks excellent! So contemporary - boy aren't you cranking out the projects!! Go Sue!!
11/27/04 2:31 PM
LisaLS said...
Looks great! I have that pattern AND that fabric. :) Made a last minute decision to make a skirt instead of the jacket. Big mistake. It makes my butt look 3 times bigger than it really is. If I had seen this review first, I would have just stuck with the original plan. :P
11/27/04 2:30 PM
SueV said...
You know, I'm not sure where I would have put stablizer on it because I don't want it stiff. But I should have definetly put some on the hem, about 2". I do this on "tailored" jackets, and don't know why I didn't think if it for this. Also, I had this pattern for several months, cut out, and was hesitant on making it; but glad I got it done. So, "SewTabby", go for it! It's not as bad as you may think!
11/27/04 12:24 PM
BjP said...
Very cute.....but due to the looseness of the weave, where would you have put stabilizer on it? I've read this comment on other reviews as well yours, so where do you mean you should put the stabilizer? On the whole body of the jacket? Very nice look - and yes, it will look great with jeans!
11/27/04 11:55 AM
SewTabby said...
Gorgeous! I have this pattern, and have been itching to get it made up. Your jacket turned out really nicely, and is good inspiration for me to get off my duff and make one of my own. Thanks!
11/27/04 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable burdatyle handbook blouse

photo
by: jillmandy

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now