SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4954 (Jacket - design your own)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 419
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/04 11:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTabby said...
Gorgeous! I have this pattern, and have been itching to get it made up. Your jacket turned out really nicely, and is good inspiration for me to get off my duff and make one of my own. Thanks!
11/27/04 11:53 AM
BjP said...
Very cute.....but due to the looseness of the weave, where would you have put stabilizer on it? I've read this comment on other reviews as well yours, so where do you mean you should put the stabilizer? On the whole body of the jacket? Very nice look - and yes, it will look great with jeans!
11/27/04 11:55 AM
SueV said...
You know, I'm not sure where I would have put stablizer on it because I don't want it stiff. But I should have definetly put some on the hem, about 2". I do this on "tailored" jackets, and don't know why I didn't think if it for this. Also, I had this pattern for several months, cut out, and was hesitant on making it; but glad I got it done. So, "SewTabby", go for it! It's not as bad as you may think!
11/27/04 12:24 PM
LisaLS said...
Looks great! I have that pattern AND that fabric. :) Made a last minute decision to make a skirt instead of the jacket. Big mistake. It makes my butt look 3 times bigger than it really is. If I had seen this review first, I would have just stuck with the original plan. :P
11/27/04 2:30 PM
KarmenG said...
Love the fringe - it looks excellent! So contemporary - boy aren't you cranking out the projects!! Go Sue!!
11/27/04 2:31 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I would have fused the whole jacket with Armo Weft - it drapes nicely. Try a sample to see. Cute jacket. You are so productive!
11/27/04 9:33 PM
Liana said...
Darling jacket Sue! Love the fringe. Texture Weft is great for allover fusing on a jacket, as it doesn't stiffen it at all, just holds it in place.
11/28/04 9:00 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Sue I just finished mine like this, and I love your fabric choice and that you changed the pattern collar. I don't think your fabric stretched as much as the lining needs to be longer - my jacket did the same thing. The jacket looks great and I'm wearing mine with jeans too. !
11/30/04 3:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now