SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4954 (Jacket - design your own)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1383 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews: 466 (patterns: 433)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 128 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/04 11:12 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said... (11/30/04 3:52 PM) Reply
Sue I just finished mine like this, and I love your fabric choice and that you changed the pattern collar. I don't think your fabric stretched as much as the lining needs to be longer - my jacket did the same thing. The jacket looks great and I'm wearing mine with jeans too. !
Liana said... (11/28/04 9:00 PM) Reply
Darling jacket Sue! Love the fringe. Texture Weft is great for allover fusing on a jacket, as it doesn't stiffen it at all, just holds it in place.
Elemenopeo said... (11/27/04 9:33 PM) Reply
I would have fused the whole jacket with Armo Weft - it drapes nicely. Try a sample to see. Cute jacket. You are so productive!
KarmenG said... (11/27/04 2:31 PM) Reply
Love the fringe - it looks excellent! So contemporary - boy aren't you cranking out the projects!! Go Sue!!
LisaLS said... (11/27/04 2:30 PM) Reply
Looks great! I have that pattern AND that fabric. :) Made a last minute decision to make a skirt instead of the jacket. Big mistake. It makes my butt look 3 times bigger than it really is. If I had seen this review first, I would have just stuck with the original plan. :P
SueV said... (11/27/04 12:24 PM) Reply
You know, I'm not sure where I would have put stablizer on it because I don't want it stiff. But I should have definetly put some on the hem, about 2". I do this on "tailored" jackets, and don't know why I didn't think if it for this. Also, I had this pattern for several months, cut out, and was hesitant on making it; but glad I got it done. So, "SewTabby", go for it! It's not as bad as you may think!
BjP said... (11/27/04 11:55 AM) Reply
Very cute.....but due to the looseness of the weave, where would you have put stabilizer on it? I've read this comment on other reviews as well yours, so where do you mean you should put the stabilizer? On the whole body of the jacket? Very nice look - and yes, it will look great with jeans!
SewTabby said... (11/27/04 11:53 AM) Reply
Gorgeous! I have this pattern, and have been itching to get it made up. Your jacket turned out really nicely, and is good inspiration for me to get off my duff and make one of my own. Thanks!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Butterick 5391

photo
by: Rosie who...

Review
Simplicity 9769

photo
by: Artemisia ...

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Pattern Details
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Pattern Details