SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2527 (Marfy dress)

Viewed 710 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/12 11:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
48 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
Beautiful work. Love the details. And congratulations on your first Marfy!
6/26/12 11:51 PM
Westy85 said...
Wow this turned out amazing considering you didn't have instructions I would have been pulling my hair out. Looks fantastic and the red is so stunning on you! Well done!
6/26/12 11:52 PM
miausiau said...
Fabulous! Those Marfy patterns are so tempting. I love that you used spray paint for the buckle. I have had great success with nail polish for such things as well...it comes in so many colors. The fit looks perfect, and would be great in a stretch as you have planned. Who needs instructions!!
6/26/12 11:54 PM
Christas said...
I'm so impressed! I have admired the Marfy patterns for years, but never have gotten the courage to sew one. Your dress is so lovely and looks so stylish. Your sewing is always so flawless and inspiring.
6/26/12 11:56 PM
PattyE said...
Congrats...it looks great! I've got 2 Marfy patterns and am anxious to try one.
6/27/12 0:03 AM
joanico said...
This is an amazing dress! Congratulations!
6/27/12 0:16 AM
cmcarr said...
Perfection and you wear it well.
6/27/12 0:18 AM
Aya said...
Wow that's a lot of detail considering no instructions! Kudos to you for a great looking dress!
6/27/12 0:58 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous dress, love the classic style with a bit of edge.
6/27/12 1:48 AM
pdiddly said...
I saw a Marfy catalogue for the first time on Sunday and can understand the attraction to this brand - beautiful
6/27/12 3:32 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It's wonderful! Look at the fit - and all the details. I know they had to be time-intensive. Congratulations on creating a winner.
6/27/12 7:10 AM
Jane Wineteer said...
Great job! Congratulations! You are an inspiration to me to try one of the Marfy patterns I have collected.
6/27/12 8:48 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Wow! What a great looking dress, you look wonderful! I love all the details.
6/27/12 8:53 AM
Nan Kay said...
Fantastic dress, and such a good review. I don't know why I have never thought of painting buckles, that is brilliant!
6/27/12 9:00 AM
heathergwo said...
BEAUTIFUL!! Awesome job! Great review! Thank you!
6/27/12 9:19 AM
sfshaza said...
Just wonderful, Barbara! Such interesting detailing and it looks wonderful on you. A very resourceful way of handling the lack of matching buckles!!
6/27/12 9:22 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a gorgeous dress! You are very inspiring and it looks fabulous on you!!
6/27/12 9:45 AM
Karine said...
Wow - that is an incredible dress! For your first Marfy, it looks like a pretty complicated pattern - so congratulations! The detailing really makes this a stand out and it looks terrific on you.
6/27/12 9:53 AM
Patti B said...
You are a braver woman than I -- and with such a gorgeous result. I really like the brown trims even though my first inclination would have been black also.
6/27/12 9:58 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautifully done! The fit and finish is superb and it is a very flattering dress.
6/27/12 9:59 AM
DorothyK said...
Wow, Barbara, this is a masterpiece. Congratulations on taking the plunge. The result is definitely a step above the ordinary. Looks beautiful on you - and you achieved a perfect fit.
6/27/12 10:08 AM
Jrhee said...
LOVE this awesome dress! Do Marfy patterns ever go on sale?
6/27/12 10:08 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Well done. Congratulations on your first (of many?) Marfy. Your dress looks fabulous and anything but simple. The details are fabulous, and perfectly executed.
6/27/12 10:10 AM
Silknmore said...
What a gorgeous dress and so well fitted. Congratulations!
6/27/12 10:23 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I have long admired the Marfy patterns but not as brave as you. What a fantastic job on this dress, so cool and looks wonderful on you. Just love it!
6/27/12 10:25 AM
Nenewhis said...
How encouraging! I have drooled over Marfy patterns for years. Such a great dress on you!
6/27/12 12:01 PM
Enid E said...
Barbara, as usual another winner! I love the lines and the zipper detail of this dress. You look great in it, and I truly admire your sewing skills!
6/27/12 1:08 PM
CSY said...
Outstanding!
6/27/12 1:33 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for the very encouraging comments!!!! Jrhee, I have never noticed Marfy patterns on sale; however, I received a 15% discount through Club BMV membership - http://clubbmv.mccall.com/ and savings on shipping with multiple patterns as follows: $5.50 for 1-2, $11.50 for 3-4, etc.
6/27/12 1:41 PM
slmstyle said...
Kudos to you for trying a Marfy pattern, your efforts resulted in a beautiful, successful dress!
6/27/12 1:59 PM
msmull3562 said...
Love the dress! It looks fantastic.
6/27/12 2:32 PM
Seamin in LA said...
I hadn't seen this pattern before but it has great detailing and you did a fabulous job on your first Marfy, congrats. My first one is close to completion so I look forward to joining you in the "Did a Marfy" club.
6/27/12 3:30 PM
Seamin in LA said...

6/27/12 3:30 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow, your dress is just absolutely beautiful!
6/27/12 4:02 PM
kias2 said...
This dress looks pefect on you. Each detail is SO neat. I would feel so proud to produce work like this. Lovely colour on you too.
6/27/12 4:43 PM
rozzybabe said...
Your creations are ALWAYS beautifully sewn, & this is no exception! Great job, great improvising with notions! You've given me the extra push I needed, & I'll order a Marfy for Fall sewing. Perhaps will do my first review with it too!!
6/27/12 5:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
You did not need any set of directions to create a Marfy-lous and mesmerizing dress, Barbara! Impressive details and outstanding craftladyship on your dress. :-)
6/27/12 5:39 PM
marthamyers said...
Beautifully fitted and a very attractive result. The red-brown combination is a unique and successful combination. Bravo!
6/27/12 9:50 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! Fantastic looking dress. Great job!!!
6/27/12 9:58 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's really a beautiful and unique dress. The sewing and topstitching looks perfect. Enjoy wearing your fabulous creation!
6/28/12 12:04 PM
Ann Smith said...
Wow! Look at all the comments. Now that is a noteworthy dress to get everybody to respond like this. Congrats.
6/28/12 4:13 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Love the details of this dress, from the rounded front and exposed zipper to the pockets and strapped sleeves. Very European and chic! And your execution is perfect. Very well sewn, very stylish - a winner!
6/28/12 10:17 PM
Annette1 said...
CONGRATULATIONS on taking the Marfy plunge, something I haven't worked up the confidence to do as of yet. :o) Your dress is OUTSTANDING in all the details, including the SPRAY PAINT! I've made a few trips to the hardware store for some little sewing detail myself -- ha! -- or had Bailey go for me, since he knows his way around so much better than I do. (He works part-time for our local hardware store here.) You've also achieved such a nice fit. If you make it again, be sure and post a NEW review -- rules be d#(*$med! -- instead of just "updated." Otherwise, I'll miss it for sure -- ha!
7/1/12 1:27 AM
jewelea said...
Truly exceptional work...I admire everything you make. What style!
7/1/12 8:08 PM
Sewing Gal said...
Wow! This dress looks great on you. I have been toying with the idea of ordering a Marfy pattern. Maybe I'll get brave and do so soon. Your dress looks absolutely beautiful.
7/7/12 11:52 AM
Fictionfan said...
Stunning! Just stunning. I'll say it even though the other 43 people already told you how wonderful your dress is. Thanks for the review and the ideas! Congratulations on your first Marfy and welcome to the addiction. Their patterns are in a class of their own, worth every minute and every penny.
8/28/12 11:41 PM
heatherlynn said...
Thanks for a great review and this dress really looks fabulous on you!
9/5/12 3:36 PM
Hetty said...
Just beautiful!
12/27/12 0:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now