Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2962 (Misses Swimsuit) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear
Review submitted in Swimwear Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 947 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:ryan's mom
photo
About ryan's momstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 11/30/04
Reviews written: 128
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/12 9:29 PM


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
WOW...excellent - you really DID pull out all the stops and this is a great looking suit and of course looks great on you! :) Congrats!
3/30/12 10:15 PM
Judy Kski said...
You look fabulous in your new swimsuit! Thanks for all the time you spent writing an incredibly detailed review. I loved all the insight you provided on the entire process. I, for one, will be referring back to it as I work on incprving my swimsuit sewing skills. Good luck in the contest!
3/30/12 10:20 PM
tsedai said...
Looks great! Thanks for such an excellent review!
3/30/12 10:52 PM
BeckyC said...
Your suit looks wonderful on you! I love the ruched neckline trim and the way you incorporated the print fabric by adding princess seams - what a great idea and very slimming to have the solid black on the sides. What a great project to utilize all of your machines. Thanks for the detailed review!
3/30/12 11:14 PM
annakeeton said...
Awesome suit and the lycra print rocks! Thanks for including all of the details and photo links in your review.
3/30/12 11:35 PM
sewing for fun said...
Fantastic!
3/31/12 1:02 AM
Dilliander said...
Wonderful review and wonderful swimsuit.
3/31/12 4:32 AM
RobbieK said...
I have this pattern! I've used it, but my swimsuit didn't look as good as yours, wait maybe it's the body it was on ;) I love what you've done and you've inspired me to make another.
3/31/12 8:09 AM
Teeavilnor said...
Thank you so much your wonderful review on adding bra cups your suit is A+
3/31/12 8:27 AM
JEF said...
1. You look fantastic in this suit. 2. Your review is wonderful - thank you so much for all the detailed info and photos. 3. I think the ruching a very stylish detail. 4. I have a black cat who looks just like yours (there is a certain similarity to black cats, isn't there?) who helps out in the exact same way!!!
3/31/12 8:48 AM
Bonnie O said...
YOU LOOK GREAT! I love the fabric combo. Congrats on the weight loss.
3/31/12 9:39 AM
AuntieShel said...
You are absolutely stunning in your suit!!! We should all be so lucky to look like that at 45 after 4 kids!! Absolutely LOVE the black and green combo. Am thinking I should try making a suit out of bathing suit fabric, yours is so inspiring!
3/31/12 7:07 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the demo on sewing the cups in - very good information! Great suit and cute kitty!
4/1/12 0:17 AM
petro said...
Wow! perfect fit, wonderful swimsuit.
4/4/12 7:41 AM
KHinson said...
What a beautiful suit and great fit. I don't think I could pull it off with a regular sewing machine.
4/4/12 9:36 AM
cindysewsaz said...
Absolutely awesome! (Both the review and the suit!) Thanks for the detailed review!
4/4/12 11:54 AM
sew4real said...
Great review! Your suite look professionally done. I am inspired to try my hand at making a swim suite. I like your kitty cats, mine do the same thing!
4/7/12 8:58 AM
fractal said...
Fantastic swimsuit and a wonderfully detailed review. Well done!
4/9/12 11:43 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Fabulous job!! Congratulations! Thanks so much for the excellent tut on the bra lining!
5/1/12 11:58 AM
Lynn67 said...
Just wanted to say thanks for all the pics of the bra cups - I was directed here by a fellow PR'er since my bra cups didn't work out for a halter I'm making. I've learned a lot from your pics (like cutting out the inside lining - where did I think my little boobs would go?). Awesome bathing suit, too, BTW!
6/4/12 6:31 PM
Jrhee said...
I somehow missed this review the first time around! AMAZING swimsuit and technique. I see that you used an elasticator foot - I'm currently using it on my 3rd swimsuit, and while very convenient, I can't get it to feed smoothly over seams. I'll play around with it some more, I suppose.
7/16/12 1:54 PM
caper81 said...
Great swimsuit! Thanks for including all of your photos along with your detailed review. Very helpful! :)
7/17/12 8:17 AM
Jane Mary said...
Thank you so very much for this outstanding review! I have made many swimsuits for my daughter when she was little and have now decided to attempt one for myself. I am done paying over $100 for a designer swimsuit and another $89 for matching cover-ups! I especially love your suggestion on getting the Elastic Applicator Foot. I just ordered mine and can't wait for it to arrive! I also have the Baby Lock Imagine Wave...so hoping for the same great results that you achieved! I also loved your idea of color blocking and making the adjustments specifically for your body type. Something you can not do with Ready-to-Wear. I have a custom dress form and already can see where I need to add a bit more fabric here or there.....which the swimsuit designers don't...since their models are perfect and most everyday people are not! And, love your feline friends...we have two here as well. You look amazing in your swimsuit! The pattern companies should consider asking you to write an instruction booklet to compliment their patterns. And, if you modeled the suit....they would get more sales. Great job! Thanks so much for the help and inspiration! I will continue to follow your work, as I hope to be in your sewing ability league someday!
3/24/14 11:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 1941 Misses blouse
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 6/19/12
Read Review

New Look 6463 Pattern
New Look 6463 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4885 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 4885 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7196
photo
Review by Kim Winson on 11/5/02
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us