Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Colette Patterns: Pastille (Pastille) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 521 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Bullock
photo
About Irene Bullockstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 3/22/10
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/12 4:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful!! I love your bilingual blog and reviews, too. :)
3/31/12 6:44 PM
zoe said...
Well, despite all of the challenges, it certainly looks cute on you. I have read that Collette patterns are sized for a 'c' cup fit in the bodice ( one reason I've shyed away from them so far). I've wondered about differences between pictures on the pattern envelopes, and real life fit ( and even style) differences too. Surely they sew it up from the same patterns??? Interesting review.
3/31/12 6:55 PM
barebear said...
Like zoe said, their patterns are drafted for a 'c' cup instead of the standard 'b' cup. This is a nice change for those of us who are doomed to do FBA's for the rest of our lives, but less so for those who don't. When I choose to go up a size instead of spending the time doing an FBA, the fit is always way too big at the waist and shoulders. Sounds like a similar problem for you, just the opposite way. You may want to consider doing a small bust adjustment (SBA) on the size 4 instead of going down a size. That said, this looks very lovely on you! I hope you try it again once you're willing to look at it again. :D
3/31/12 8:44 PM
marec said...
It looks great on you in the photos, but if it is too tight when sitting...well, it's too tight. I love Colette designs, and struggle with the fit too. There are SBA tutorials on her blog. Hope you make another-it is perfect on you.
4/1/12 1:10 AM
JEF said...
Wow - I think it is so cute on you and I love your photo. I would have no idea the fit wasn't as anticipated/designed. It just looks wonderful on you.
4/1/12 10:06 AM
Irene Bullock said...
Oh, I know about the ample bosom policies at Colette Patterns. Indeed, I should have done an SBA, like I did with the Jasmine blouse. Going down a size was not such a bad idea, it's just that I often forget to give the waist a good 1-2 cms. extra, which I always need regardless of the size (I'm kind of a rectangle).
4/1/12 3:24 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Great dress. Perfect LBD, I must say. The neckline is lovely. Thanks for a helpful review!
4/2/12 3:09 AM
TJSEWS said...
I think it looks great on you and hope you give it another try once you have some time away from it.
4/3/12 3:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

No Pattern Used Bags
photo
Review by BeckyMc on 1/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3713 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1092
photo
Review by Re Becca on 9/19/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us