SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M4848 - OOP (suit yourself)

Review submitted in Swimwear Contest Contest
Viewed 242 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
Friend of PR

About Oceanpegstar
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews: 46 (patterns: 40)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/1/12 0:00 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
petro said... (4/4/12 6:52 AM) Reply
Very pretty fabric, and a great choice of style for a more covered up beach look. Thanks for the construction pictures of the inner bra.
Oceanpeg said... (4/3/12 4:02 AM) Reply
One thing about this pattern and the fabric print, both really disguises the body shape on a plus size body on the swim dress. The pattern is OOP (Out Of Print) but still available on the manufacturers website. Just put the number in, M4848, and it will come up. Made a change on the bra insert. I added a seperate band for the elastic on the bottom part of the bra. This pattern gives you a choice of putting in B/C cups or the D/DD cups when making up the simple bra insert. Only 2 pieces to the bra, the ront and the back, with 2 darts in the front. The swimdress also has just 2 pieces, to, the front and the back. The pants consist of 4 pieces, but just 2 pattern parts, the front and back, with right and left sides. The waist band is turned down. No extra pattern piece for the waist band. The bra insert is put in as if it was interfacing. As I said, not very complicated in doing this one up.
Pollycotton said... (4/2/12 2:22 AM) Reply
Great look
Oceanpeg said... (4/2/12 0:39 AM) Reply
Thank you all. I had a bobby problem is why I changed the D cup bra by adding the band to lower the elastic to solve that problem. Afterwards, I added the lace to mainly correct the problem of the bottom hem rolling and turning up. That was an afterthought after my swimwear contest entry was submitted.
ryan's mom said... (4/1/12 6:18 PM) Reply
Really cute, Ocean! I love this pattern and the skinny straps. Thanks for the pics on the bra lining. I don't have huge boobs by any means, but they're big enough to warrant cups. I like seeing how others do their bra lining for C cups or larger--very helpful! Thx!
myeclecticmess said... (4/1/12 10:21 AM) Reply
Super cute and very practical too. Thanks for the detailed review.
AuntieShel said... (4/1/12 9:39 AM) Reply
Yes, you certainly will be a fashionable grandma, the suit is so cute and love the fabric you used!!!
Aroura said... (4/1/12 3:21 AM) Reply
Very pretty! Great fabric choice.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-134

by: liliv

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Pattern Details