Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4790 (Retro '52 Wrap Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 484 times 63 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:awesomepotatoes
photo
About awesomepotatoesstar
Member since: 10/10/11
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:4/1/12 2:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
Congrats on your first review! Your dress is a beautiful colour. Circular hems are tricky and time consuming for both beginners and experienced sewists. You have done a lovely job!
4/1/12 9:15 AM
Claverie said...
Love the handle and the avatar... Dress looks nice, and clever how you did the closure (mine wasn't going to hold with snaps either!) About the hemming, CRAFTSTYLISH recommends: 1. Turn up the hem edge inch. Press and machine stitch along the fold. 2. Trim away the excess fabric in the hem allowance close to the stitching. 3. Turn up the hem again. Press and machine stitch along the fold. but I find just pulling the fabric taught in step three and avoiding pressing altogether, works well for me. Yep, practice. Nice dress though, and yep, I have two... too.
4/1/12 9:50 AM
zoe said...
A very cute retro look, updated by the shorter length. Looks very pretty on you.
4/1/12 1:48 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Pretty!
4/1/12 9:29 PM
JEF said...
Very cute on you. I really think it looks great.
4/2/12 8:17 AM
magpie57 said...
I hand baste the first turn on all my skirts. Of course, I love hand sewing so it is no bother to me. The second turn, done on the machine, does not get puckers that way. It really doesn't take that long. One TV show and the longest hem is done. I like this dress and I think you are very clever to go get bedsheets.
4/2/12 10:49 PM
TJSEWS said...
Your dress is beautiful. I love it!
4/3/12 4:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 2860
photo
Review by SewersCoop on 6/24/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4914
photo
Review by becca a on 11/11/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1664 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1664 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6925 Pattern
Burda 6925 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us