Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2853 (capes) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 1215 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/04 4:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $9.20 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $9.20  List Price: $11.50   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
ROFL!! I thoroughly enjoyed your review- I think I'd love your family, so I guess that makes me a weirdo too :oP hehe-the cape is really great, I knew exactly what it was when I first saw it, the dark riders are very spooky and you succeeded marvelously in creating that look. Thanks so much for sharing and telling about your family :o) btw-the sword is really cool!
11/28/04 5:07 PM
Diana M said...
Excellent job -- love the spirit of it all!
11/28/04 5:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
That cape is so authentic!! I love it. I'm an LOTR fanatic too, so I don't think your family is weird at all.
11/28/04 7:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
I don't know from Dark Riders, but I did enjoy your review. I fell asleep during the first 10 minutes of the first LOTR movie--don't understand the appeal, but realize I'm in the minority here. At my son's request, I pre-ordered the complete LOTR Box set due out on Dec 17, just in time for Christmas.
11/28/04 10:14 PM
AnneM said...
Weird, nothing. You should really try the books again. Nice cloak; I'm certain your son loves the look.
11/29/04 12:02 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I'd rather sew the outfits than watch the movie too - but it came out great!
11/29/04 1:10 PM
Athelas said...
When you get the movies, find the part in the appendix of the first movie that has the Costume Designer discussing how difficult it was to make the Black Rider clothes--I think you'll appreciate it! Yours looks perfect!
11/30/04 7:27 AM
KitnRose said...
Beautiful costume! I love your review, I'm a closet LOTR lover (working on my second of two LOTR-inspiried costumes) and enjoyed reading an 'outsider's' perspective of it all. I'm sure I sound the same to my trekkie friends. :) Many kudos to you for making such a beautiful and authentic costume from a movie that doesn't appeal to you. Excellent job! The gold clasp is just perfect.
12/7/04 9:43 AM
MagpieJen said...
Awesome Nazgul! :-) Yes, I am one of those weirdos too. The costume turned out much better looking than the pattern drawing would have suggested. Did you achieve his ghastly no-face-except-darkness effect by simply draping the hood in front of it? Or is there a black mesh in front of his face?
2/25/05 10:23 PM
drsue said...
No black mesh. I had to seriously re-work the hood in the pattern to get the desired effect.
2/26/05 8:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Beautiful Magazine 07-2006
photo
Review by Wendy Hahn on 6/20/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jamie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4738
photo
Review by strasfamil... on 5/20/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Gracie Handbag
Gracie Handbag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2471 Pattern
Burda 2471 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us