SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2853 (capes)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1220 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/04 4:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $11.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
ROFL!! I thoroughly enjoyed your review- I think I'd love your family, so I guess that makes me a weirdo too :oP hehe-the cape is really great, I knew exactly what it was when I first saw it, the dark riders are very spooky and you succeeded marvelously in creating that look. Thanks so much for sharing and telling about your family :o) btw-the sword is really cool!
11/28/04 5:07 PM
Diana M said...
Excellent job -- love the spirit of it all!
11/28/04 5:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
That cape is so authentic!! I love it. I'm an LOTR fanatic too, so I don't think your family is weird at all.
11/28/04 7:16 PM
JDpenelope said...
I don't know from Dark Riders, but I did enjoy your review. I fell asleep during the first 10 minutes of the first LOTR movie--don't understand the appeal, but realize I'm in the minority here. At my son's request, I pre-ordered the complete LOTR Box set due out on Dec 17, just in time for Christmas.
11/28/04 10:14 PM
AnneM said...
Weird, nothing. You should really try the books again. Nice cloak; I'm certain your son loves the look.
11/29/04 12:02 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I'd rather sew the outfits than watch the movie too - but it came out great!
11/29/04 1:10 PM
Athelas said...
When you get the movies, find the part in the appendix of the first movie that has the Costume Designer discussing how difficult it was to make the Black Rider clothes--I think you'll appreciate it! Yours looks perfect!
11/30/04 7:27 AM
KitnRose said...
Beautiful costume! I love your review, I'm a closet LOTR lover (working on my second of two LOTR-inspiried costumes) and enjoyed reading an 'outsider's' perspective of it all. I'm sure I sound the same to my trekkie friends. :) Many kudos to you for making such a beautiful and authentic costume from a movie that doesn't appeal to you. Excellent job! The gold clasp is just perfect.
12/7/04 9:43 AM
MagpieJen said...
Awesome Nazgul! :-) Yes, I am one of those weirdos too. The costume turned out much better looking than the pattern drawing would have suggested. Did you achieve his ghastly no-face-except-darkness effect by simply draping the hood in front of it? Or is there a black mesh in front of his face?
2/25/05 10:23 PM
drsue said...
No black mesh. I had to seriously re-work the hood in the pattern to get the desired effect.
2/26/05 8:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Favorite Things L005

photo
by: Donel

Review
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now