SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1819 (Misses Costume)

13 more reviews
Viewed 514 times 
Reviewed by:BankOfMom
photo

 
 
About BankOfMom
TX USA
Member since: 4/4/11
Reviews: 1 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/12 12:47 PM
Last Updated:4/3/12 12:51 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jakrum421 said... (11/14/12 12:07 PM) Reply
I'm working on this pattern now. I had to laugh when I saw your photo as I'm using almost the same colors. One little pattern flaw that I've already discovered is that it calls for a 9" zipper and a 7" zipper would've fit much better.
sophie2000 said... (10/13/12 1:54 AM) Reply
Have you redone the waist yet? Could you post some more pictures? I'm attempting to make this costume now, and having a heck of a time. I just think the instructions are awful and so incomplete.
JNormann said... (8/12/12 7:17 PM) Reply
I wish I had read the review before just blithely going ahead with the thought that something was wrong but they ought to know what they were doing... the shell top for under the corset has incorrect directions and if I'd just stopped to use my head, I would have realized that. I wish that Simplicity would reimburse me for the fabric that I just ruined, seeing as I used a lock stitch and removed the seam selvages.
BankOfMom said... (4/10/12 1:21 PM) Reply
Thanks for the comments! I'll post some updated images after I re-do the waistband. Regarding the yardage on the bustle, my fabric was 60" (pattern calls for 45") and I bought 5 yards for both the bustle and front swag and have more than a yard left over (even after using the same fabric for the flounce on the bolero).
MellyDuckie said... (4/8/12 9:53 PM) Reply
Could you provide a photo of the back of the garment? Do you have an estimate about how much yardage goes into the bustle? Thanks.
piffle said... (4/7/12 9:07 AM) Reply
This is such a cool pattern. Nice job!
ghijsmom said... (4/4/12 7:03 AM) Reply
That's quite the outfit. Looks like a lot of work, but the end result is, I want to say neat, cool. I expect those are old-fashioned words. At any rate, I like it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Butterick 5101

photo
by: Mary Themo...

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 1247

photo
by: KaSchu

Review