SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1819 (Misses Costume)

10 more reviews
Viewed 467 times 
Reviewed by:BankOfMom
photo

 
 
About BankOfMom
TX USA
Member since: 4/4/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/12 12:47 PM
Last Updated:4/3/12 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ghijsmom said...
That's quite the outfit. Looks like a lot of work, but the end result is, I want to say neat, cool. I expect those are old-fashioned words. At any rate, I like it.
4/4/12 7:03 AM
piffle said...
This is such a cool pattern. Nice job!
4/7/12 9:07 AM
MellyDuckie said...
Could you provide a photo of the back of the garment? Do you have an estimate about how much yardage goes into the bustle? Thanks.
4/8/12 9:53 PM
BankOfMom said...
Thanks for the comments! I'll post some updated images after I re-do the waistband. Regarding the yardage on the bustle, my fabric was 60" (pattern calls for 45") and I bought 5 yards for both the bustle and front swag and have more than a yard left over (even after using the same fabric for the flounce on the bolero).
4/10/12 1:21 PM
JNormann said...
I wish I had read the review before just blithely going ahead with the thought that something was wrong but they ought to know what they were doing... the shell top for under the corset has incorrect directions and if I'd just stopped to use my head, I would have realized that. I wish that Simplicity would reimburse me for the fabric that I just ruined, seeing as I used a lock stitch and removed the seam selvages.
8/12/12 7:17 PM
sophie2000 said...
Have you redone the waist yet? Could you post some more pictures? I'm attempting to make this costume now, and having a heck of a time. I just think the instructions are awful and so incomplete.
10/13/12 1:54 AM
jakrum421 said...
I'm working on this pattern now. I had to laugh when I saw your photo as I'm using almost the same colors. One little pattern flaw that I've already discovered is that it calls for a 9" zipper and a 7" zipper would've fit much better.
11/14/12 12:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

McCall's 8358

photo
by: lauramae

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Buy Now