SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1819 (Misses Costume)

12 more reviews
Viewed 489 times 
Reviewed by:BankOfMom
photo

 
 
About BankOfMom
TX USA
Member since: 4/4/11
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/12 12:47 PM
Last Updated:4/3/12 12:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jakrum421 said...
I'm working on this pattern now. I had to laugh when I saw your photo as I'm using almost the same colors. One little pattern flaw that I've already discovered is that it calls for a 9" zipper and a 7" zipper would've fit much better.
11/14/12 12:07 PM
sophie2000 said...
Have you redone the waist yet? Could you post some more pictures? I'm attempting to make this costume now, and having a heck of a time. I just think the instructions are awful and so incomplete.
10/13/12 1:54 AM
JNormann said...
I wish I had read the review before just blithely going ahead with the thought that something was wrong but they ought to know what they were doing... the shell top for under the corset has incorrect directions and if I'd just stopped to use my head, I would have realized that. I wish that Simplicity would reimburse me for the fabric that I just ruined, seeing as I used a lock stitch and removed the seam selvages.
8/12/12 7:17 PM
BankOfMom said...
Thanks for the comments! I'll post some updated images after I re-do the waistband. Regarding the yardage on the bustle, my fabric was 60" (pattern calls for 45") and I bought 5 yards for both the bustle and front swag and have more than a yard left over (even after using the same fabric for the flounce on the bolero).
4/10/12 1:21 PM
MellyDuckie said...
Could you provide a photo of the back of the garment? Do you have an estimate about how much yardage goes into the bustle? Thanks.
4/8/12 9:53 PM
piffle said...
This is such a cool pattern. Nice job!
4/7/12 9:07 AM
ghijsmom said...
That's quite the outfit. Looks like a lot of work, but the end result is, I want to say neat, cool. I expect those are old-fashioned words. At any rate, I like it.
4/4/12 7:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 313195-1001

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-107

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now