SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Misses' Top)

60 more reviews
Viewed 888 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:4/5/12 8:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
This is lovely on you.
4/5/12 8:56 PM
Dynamo said...
The colours of this dress look fab on you!
4/5/12 9:05 PM
Kathy7661 said...
Your dress and shawl are very pretty. They look great together.
4/5/12 9:12 PM
lorrwill said...
Brilliant. You just made me realize that this would be a great pattern to knock off that infamous blue engagement dress from a few years back.
4/5/12 9:47 PM
Elke said...
Both the dress and shawl are lovely on you!
4/5/12 10:00 PM
Christas said...
Ooooh, how very pretty! You look wonderful in it and the shawl adds such a nice touch. I'm so glad to see you sewing again. I've missed your reviews so much!
4/5/12 10:22 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great colors for you. The elastic in the back really makes it work for you. And the shawl is gorgeous.
4/5/12 10:41 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. The colors are wonderful. Love your shawl. Beautiful work!
4/5/12 10:46 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful - both the dress and the shawl. Perfect colors, perfect fit.
4/5/12 11:02 PM
EliseMarie said...
Simply lovely! Great job. You look beautiful in your dress.
4/5/12 11:18 PM
Scheri said...
Very pretty
4/5/12 11:36 PM
beth5646 said...
Everything about your dress and shawl is absolutely gorgeous, Looks beautiful on you . I love it.
4/6/12 0:47 AM
ArtAttack said...
This looks great as a dress...beautiful on you!
4/6/12 1:07 AM
tryinghard said...
Looks lovely. Suits you :)
4/6/12 1:34 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful looking dress conversion - love the shawl too
4/6/12 3:42 AM
FreyaStark said...
Both dress and shawl are fabulous. They make a great pair, and they look great on you.
4/6/12 6:51 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I love seeing your photos and reviews because you have such a talent for choosing colors and shapes that suit you perfectly. I have similar coloring and you always give me ideas for the types of combinations that could work for me! This dress is gorgeous.
4/6/12 7:04 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very pretty dress!
4/6/12 8:39 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!! Beautiful dress, gorgeous shawl, inspiring outfit!!
4/6/12 9:02 AM
annie11 said...
Absolutely beautiful! I have yet to try this pattern, and I think you have inspired me to dig it out this weekend!
4/6/12 9:41 AM
ssssdeb said...
How did you change the neckline on front? Yours looks much higher than the pattern picture. Just curious.
4/6/12 11:44 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
The fabric is from Jo-Ann's! Wow. It's stunning. I had no idea. Perhaps I should shop there more....And your knitting. Beautiful.
4/6/12 11:51 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for your comments! ssssdeb - thank you for asking this question. I completely forgot to mention this adjustment. I raised the front point by 1 1/2 inches. This was marked on the pattern which then changed the fold line to 1/2 inch wider. This suited me just fine to have 1/2 inch more on each side of the neck edge. So finally, then I added 1/2 inch to the back neck edge. Hope this is helpful :-)
4/6/12 12:01 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, your fabric is lovely and the shawl works perfectly with it.
4/6/12 12:32 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Very nice dress, so flattering on you! And your shawl is gorgeous. I'm a knitter, too, so I appreciate your fine work on it.
4/6/12 11:38 PM
Jrhee said...
Wonderful work! I love the dress, and the shawl is perfect for it. (and your home is lovely too!)
4/8/12 2:45 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Oh my what a great idea to make this top into a dress. Love, love your fabric choice! Brilliant!
4/8/12 3:59 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! You look splendid. The fabric is festive and bright.
4/25/12 3:33 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! You look splendid. The fabric is festive and bright. I will definitely try your sway back solution when I make similar tops and dresses.
4/25/12 3:34 PM
Annette1 said...
WELL, Miss Priss, it's about time I'm seeing some reviews from you! (OKAY, I'm the one who's been slacking off on my PR-ing, but I'm going through all my "favorites" and trying to catch up. That being said, what a GORGEOUS dress on you. These lively colors are pefect on you. :o) I love it with the shawl, too. Don't tell me you play the piano, along with all your OTHER talents.
4/30/12 10:13 PM
callmeRuth said...
Love, love, love, both the dress and shawl. Beautiful!!!!
5/21/12 12:00 PM
gl12547 said...
Your color choice is excellent, and I love your scarf.
5/23/12 10:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-108

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1217

photo
by: sandramary

Review