SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Misses' Top)

60 more reviews
Viewed 902 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 195 people
patterns reviewed: 92
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:4/5/12 8:48 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gl12547 said...
Your color choice is excellent, and I love your scarf.
5/23/12 10:23 PM
callmeRuth said...
Love, love, love, both the dress and shawl. Beautiful!!!!
5/21/12 12:00 PM
Annette1 said...
WELL, Miss Priss, it's about time I'm seeing some reviews from you! (OKAY, I'm the one who's been slacking off on my PR-ing, but I'm going through all my "favorites" and trying to catch up. That being said, what a GORGEOUS dress on you. These lively colors are pefect on you. :o) I love it with the shawl, too. Don't tell me you play the piano, along with all your OTHER talents.
4/30/12 10:13 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! You look splendid. The fabric is festive and bright. I will definitely try your sway back solution when I make similar tops and dresses.
4/25/12 3:34 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! You look splendid. The fabric is festive and bright.
4/25/12 3:33 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Oh my what a great idea to make this top into a dress. Love, love your fabric choice! Brilliant!
4/8/12 3:59 PM
Jrhee said...
Wonderful work! I love the dress, and the shawl is perfect for it. (and your home is lovely too!)
4/8/12 2:45 AM
whistlin dixie said...
Very nice dress, so flattering on you! And your shawl is gorgeous. I'm a knitter, too, so I appreciate your fine work on it.
4/6/12 11:38 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, your fabric is lovely and the shawl works perfectly with it.
4/6/12 12:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for your comments! ssssdeb - thank you for asking this question. I completely forgot to mention this adjustment. I raised the front point by 1 1/2 inches. This was marked on the pattern which then changed the fold line to 1/2 inch wider. This suited me just fine to have 1/2 inch more on each side of the neck edge. So finally, then I added 1/2 inch to the back neck edge. Hope this is helpful :-)
4/6/12 12:01 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
The fabric is from Jo-Ann's! Wow. It's stunning. I had no idea. Perhaps I should shop there more....And your knitting. Beautiful.
4/6/12 11:51 AM
ssssdeb said...
How did you change the neckline on front? Yours looks much higher than the pattern picture. Just curious.
4/6/12 11:44 AM
annie11 said...
Absolutely beautiful! I have yet to try this pattern, and I think you have inspired me to dig it out this weekend!
4/6/12 9:41 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!! Beautiful dress, gorgeous shawl, inspiring outfit!!
4/6/12 9:02 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very pretty dress!
4/6/12 8:39 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I love seeing your photos and reviews because you have such a talent for choosing colors and shapes that suit you perfectly. I have similar coloring and you always give me ideas for the types of combinations that could work for me! This dress is gorgeous.
4/6/12 7:04 AM
FreyaStark said...
Both dress and shawl are fabulous. They make a great pair, and they look great on you.
4/6/12 6:51 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful looking dress conversion - love the shawl too
4/6/12 3:42 AM
tryinghard said...
Looks lovely. Suits you :)
4/6/12 1:34 AM
ArtAttack said...
This looks great as a dress...beautiful on you!
4/6/12 1:07 AM
beth5646 said...
Everything about your dress and shawl is absolutely gorgeous, Looks beautiful on you . I love it.
4/6/12 0:47 AM
Scheri said...
Very pretty
4/5/12 11:36 PM
EliseMarie said...
Simply lovely! Great job. You look beautiful in your dress.
4/5/12 11:18 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful - both the dress and the shawl. Perfect colors, perfect fit.
4/5/12 11:02 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. The colors are wonderful. Love your shawl. Beautiful work!
4/5/12 10:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great colors for you. The elastic in the back really makes it work for you. And the shawl is gorgeous.
4/5/12 10:41 PM
Christas said...
Ooooh, how very pretty! You look wonderful in it and the shawl adds such a nice touch. I'm so glad to see you sewing again. I've missed your reviews so much!
4/5/12 10:22 PM
Elke said...
Both the dress and shawl are lovely on you!
4/5/12 10:00 PM
lorrwill said...
Brilliant. You just made me realize that this would be a great pattern to knock off that infamous blue engagement dress from a few years back.
4/5/12 9:47 PM
Kathy7661 said...
Your dress and shawl are very pretty. They look great together.
4/5/12 9:12 PM
Dynamo said...
The colours of this dress look fab on you!
4/5/12 9:05 PM
jlg said...
This is lovely on you.
4/5/12 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8496

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Buy Now