Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5495 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 861 times 59 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 180 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:4/5/12 8:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
This is lovely on you.
4/5/12 8:56 PM
Dynamo said...
The colours of this dress look fab on you!
4/5/12 9:05 PM
Kathy7661 said...
Your dress and shawl are very pretty. They look great together.
4/5/12 9:12 PM
lorrwill said...
Brilliant. You just made me realize that this would be a great pattern to knock off that infamous blue engagement dress from a few years back.
4/5/12 9:47 PM
Elke said...
Both the dress and shawl are lovely on you!
4/5/12 10:00 PM
Christas said...
Ooooh, how very pretty! You look wonderful in it and the shawl adds such a nice touch. I'm so glad to see you sewing again. I've missed your reviews so much!
4/5/12 10:22 PM
Ann Smith said...
Great colors for you. The elastic in the back really makes it work for you. And the shawl is gorgeous.
4/5/12 10:41 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. The colors are wonderful. Love your shawl. Beautiful work!
4/5/12 10:46 PM
DorothyK said...
Beautiful - both the dress and the shawl. Perfect colors, perfect fit.
4/5/12 11:02 PM
EliseMarie said...
Simply lovely! Great job. You look beautiful in your dress.
4/5/12 11:18 PM
Scheri said...
Very pretty
4/5/12 11:36 PM
beth5646 said...
Everything about your dress and shawl is absolutely gorgeous, Looks beautiful on you . I love it.
4/6/12 0:47 AM
ArtAttack said...
This looks great as a dress...beautiful on you!
4/6/12 1:07 AM
tryinghard said...
Looks lovely. Suits you :)
4/6/12 1:34 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful looking dress conversion - love the shawl too
4/6/12 3:42 AM
FreyaStark said...
Both dress and shawl are fabulous. They make a great pair, and they look great on you.
4/6/12 6:51 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I love seeing your photos and reviews because you have such a talent for choosing colors and shapes that suit you perfectly. I have similar coloring and you always give me ideas for the types of combinations that could work for me! This dress is gorgeous.
4/6/12 7:04 AM
halleyscomet said...
Very pretty dress!
4/6/12 8:39 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow!! Beautiful dress, gorgeous shawl, inspiring outfit!!
4/6/12 9:02 AM
annie11 said...
Absolutely beautiful! I have yet to try this pattern, and I think you have inspired me to dig it out this weekend!
4/6/12 9:41 AM
ssssdeb said...
How did you change the neckline on front? Yours looks much higher than the pattern picture. Just curious.
4/6/12 11:44 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
The fabric is from Jo-Ann's! Wow. It's stunning. I had no idea. Perhaps I should shop there more....And your knitting. Beautiful.
4/6/12 11:51 AM
Barbara V said...
Thank you all for your comments! ssssdeb - thank you for asking this question. I completely forgot to mention this adjustment. I raised the front point by 1 1/2 inches. This was marked on the pattern which then changed the fold line to 1/2 inch wider. This suited me just fine to have 1/2 inch more on each side of the neck edge. So finally, then I added 1/2 inch to the back neck edge. Hope this is helpful :-)
4/6/12 12:01 PM
nellc said...
Great dress, your fabric is lovely and the shawl works perfectly with it.
4/6/12 12:32 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Very nice dress, so flattering on you! And your shawl is gorgeous. I'm a knitter, too, so I appreciate your fine work on it.
4/6/12 11:38 PM
Jrhee said...
Wonderful work! I love the dress, and the shawl is perfect for it. (and your home is lovely too!)
4/8/12 2:45 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Oh my what a great idea to make this top into a dress. Love, love your fabric choice! Brilliant!
4/8/12 3:59 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! You look splendid. The fabric is festive and bright.
4/25/12 3:33 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! You look splendid. The fabric is festive and bright. I will definitely try your sway back solution when I make similar tops and dresses.
4/25/12 3:34 PM
Annette1 said...
WELL, Miss Priss, it's about time I'm seeing some reviews from you! (OKAY, I'm the one who's been slacking off on my PR-ing, but I'm going through all my "favorites" and trying to catch up. That being said, what a GORGEOUS dress on you. These lively colors are pefect on you. :o) I love it with the shawl, too. Don't tell me you play the piano, along with all your OTHER talents.
4/30/12 10:13 PM
callmeRuth said...
Love, love, love, both the dress and shawl. Beautiful!!!!
5/21/12 12:00 PM
gl12547 said...
Your color choice is excellent, and I love your scarf.
5/23/12 10:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-117 blouse
photo
Review by Frogstitch... on 1/3/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0157 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0157 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9499 Pattern
Burda 9499 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by style insp... on 6/2/13
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Five Easy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us