Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2012-117A thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 553 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 264 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/12 10:39 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
This dress has been made a few times, but I think this is the first one I have seen with a working zip. I really like it - great job!
4/5/12 11:22 PM
Scheri said...
Excellent work. Look great on you.
4/5/12 11:33 PM
jennybaxt said...
Looks great. Very timely for me as I have just cut mine out. Thanks!
4/6/12 0:18 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress. Very flattering on you. Thanks for the detailed review.
4/6/12 0:23 AM
Barbara V said...
What a really gorgeous dress. The back is stunning! ......and you wear it very well!
4/6/12 0:30 AM
GBK said...
You look fabulous in that dress!
4/6/12 1:54 AM
Liana said...
Great dress, Kay! I love the zipper and the seaming. The red one should be fun to wear too.
4/6/12 2:06 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Just stunning - and beautifully fit and finished, as always.
4/6/12 3:17 AM
pdiddly said...
lovely look lbd, the red one looks good too
4/6/12 3:46 AM
Margaret said...
Stunning dress -- I like how you handled the zipper, and the subtlety of the single color (the red too).
4/6/12 5:18 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress and it looks fabulous on you! Thanks for the great review.
4/6/12 5:57 AM
jennybaxt said...
Looks great. Very timely for me as I have just cut mine out. Thanks!
4/6/12 6:25 AM
Fran G said...
That zipper...along with the rest of your dress...is perfection, Kay!! Great tip on using the fusible as a facing at the neck. Is that a new technique of yours or is it a standard one you apply.? It's really wonderful.
4/6/12 6:38 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very chic.
4/6/12 6:47 AM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous looking dress, love the zipper at the back and the facing from fusible interfacing is such a clever solution to reduce bulk. Thanks for a great review.
4/6/12 7:00 AM
Sue Parrott said...
What a beautiful dress! I am going to have to try this one out! Well done!
4/6/12 9:44 AM
Twinset said...
You look great in your beautiful LBD! Thanks for the detailed review!
4/6/12 10:10 AM
nellc said...
Gorgeous dress, I love the zipper detail.
4/6/12 12:26 PM
Mahler said...
This is such a beautiful and original dress Kay. The back zipper is perfect and I agree on not showing the zip tape. My only question is it comfortable when you sit down ?
4/6/12 1:01 PM
tsedai said...
Dress looks great - I really want to make my own now!
4/6/12 1:13 PM
Deepika said...
WOW! This dress is a total knockout. Your dress looks nothing like the pattern photo. It is 1000 times better. So chic and stylish. I want it!
4/6/12 1:38 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
WOW! Sensational dress with exceptional fit and love the zipper. I especially like it in red as it really highlights the details of the seams. Gorgeous!
4/6/12 2:22 PM
mmcp said...
Yes, no doubt this will inspire many of us to drag out this pattern--looks gorgeous.
4/6/12 7:34 PM
blue mooney said...
Dynamite!
4/7/12 7:49 AM
lamstu said...
WOW. This is awesome. The fit is perfect and the style is so great!
4/8/12 6:35 PM
ChristineX said...
Oh, that is a great dress! :-)
5/2/12 4:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Simplicity 3956 6 made easy
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 1/17/07
Read Review

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8998 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8998 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5439
photo
Review by Sandi S on 6/27/08
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Newport Tote
Newport Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us