Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8774 (Misses Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 515 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:EliseMarie
photo
About EliseMariestar
Member since: 10/2/10
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/12 10:41 PM
Last Updated:4/5/12 10:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dragon10 said...
Well done. They look good and you did a good job with the topstitching. I have this pattern but haven't made them up yet. I did try a Burda jeans pattern and went down a size and got more of a jeans (tighter) fit. I suggest you go down a size especially if the denim has stretch. thanks for the review.
4/5/12 11:34 PM
EleanorSews said...
Looks like you got a fairly good fit. Like dragon 10 says, you might consider going down a size. One problem with not prewashing your denim is that you could lose length ~ of course, if you cut them a bit longer and washed/dried the finished jeans before hemming, you might also avoid the loss of length. Something to think about anyway...
4/6/12 6:23 AM
khurl said...
Wow! Your first pair?!? They say it only takes one to get addicted... Well done
4/6/12 7:52 AM
1SewSweet said...
Nice job on your first pair! I agree with the others, you may want consider going down a size on your next pair, unless you are comfortable with your fit.
4/6/12 7:57 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, great work on your first pair of jeans! I too would recommend possibly going down a size. Also with denim, there is residual shrinkage and many suggest washing and drying the denim at least three times before cutting out your pattern. Another wash and dry prior to hemming ensures you won't loose any length. :)
4/6/12 9:39 AM
Barbara V said...
Amazing jeans and fit on your first pair. I agree with the other comments about preshrinking and going down a size and taking into consideration the fabric as to weight and stretch. Well done - I'm sure now you are hooked!
4/6/12 11:42 AM
marec said...
Bravo!! I have not yet attempted jeans but your pair may nudge me. They are wonderful and the topstitching is fantastic.
4/7/12 10:42 AM
EliseMarie said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments. They seem to have some residual shrinkage as Sue pointed out which means that now they are fitting a little bit snugger. Next I will attempt a pair of dress pants. I had always shied away from pants but I love that I can make them as long as I want :)
4/8/12 5:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 2455
photo
Review by SeamsFabul... on 8/30/10
Read Review

Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6016 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5895
photo
Review by mimi g. on 5/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (5-12) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo 3 Button Boots Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us