SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8774 (Misses Jeans)

23 more reviews
Viewed 538 times 
Reviewed by:EliseMarie
photo

 
 
About EliseMariestar
Member since: 10/2/10
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/5/12 10:41 PM
Last Updated:4/5/12 10:43 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EliseMarie said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments. They seem to have some residual shrinkage as Sue pointed out which means that now they are fitting a little bit snugger. Next I will attempt a pair of dress pants. I had always shied away from pants but I love that I can make them as long as I want :)
4/8/12 5:59 AM
marec said...
Bravo!! I have not yet attempted jeans but your pair may nudge me. They are wonderful and the topstitching is fantastic.
4/7/12 10:42 AM
Barbara V said...
Amazing jeans and fit on your first pair. I agree with the other comments about preshrinking and going down a size and taking into consideration the fabric as to weight and stretch. Well done - I'm sure now you are hooked!
4/6/12 11:42 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, great work on your first pair of jeans! I too would recommend possibly going down a size. Also with denim, there is residual shrinkage and many suggest washing and drying the denim at least three times before cutting out your pattern. Another wash and dry prior to hemming ensures you won't loose any length. :)
4/6/12 9:39 AM
1SewSweet said...
Nice job on your first pair! I agree with the others, you may want consider going down a size on your next pair, unless you are comfortable with your fit.
4/6/12 7:57 AM
khurl said...
Wow! Your first pair?!? They say it only takes one to get addicted... Well done
4/6/12 7:52 AM
EleanorSews said...
Looks like you got a fairly good fit. Like dragon 10 says, you might consider going down a size. One problem with not prewashing your denim is that you could lose length ~ of course, if you cut them a bit longer and washed/dried the finished jeans before hemming, you might also avoid the loss of length. Something to think about anyway...
4/6/12 6:23 AM
dragon10 said...
Well done. They look good and you did a good job with the topstitching. I have this pattern but haven't made them up yet. I did try a Burda jeans pattern and went down a size and got more of a jeans (tighter) fit. I suggest you go down a size especially if the denim has stretch. thanks for the review.
4/5/12 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

More Info
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
McCall's 5927

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review