SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6098 (dress and top)

Viewed 558 times 
Reviewed by:Mushywear
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mushywearstarstarstar
HI USA
Member since: 5/13/08
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/12 10:25 PM
Last Updated:4/8/12 10:30 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mcbrow said...
I have this pattern as well and appreciated the recommendation to make a muslin first. I was considering leaving the neckline as is and then wearing a tank top or cami underneath for coverage. Very helpful review, and you look lovely in your dress!
7/3/12 12:04 PM
MareeAlison said...
This is a lovely dress - I think the link to the pattern shown is wrong?? It's to a child's outfit. Thanks for the review.
5/7/12 7:46 PM
Cikka said...
I have the same issues. I think from the list of fabrics on the back including lightweight double knit etc that this pattern is not really meant for two way stretch (otherwise known as four way stretch, apparently) - even though it figures on said list! I think it's sized for less stretchy knits. It must be, as double knit and most of the others on the list are much less stretchy and you can't use them in patterns meant for two way stretch fabric.
4/26/12 6:13 AM
Hilary said...
This turned out so pretty! It was definitely worth the effort-I love the fabric choice, too :D
4/9/12 9:40 PM
evdH said...
Color and fabric design look perfect on you. Super fitting job too!
4/9/12 9:34 PM
Barbara V said...
Your dress is beautiful and with a super fit. Good job on all the adjustments.
4/9/12 12:49 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and great tips on problems with the fit.
4/9/12 12:16 PM
marjoriekh said...
I'm so tempted to try this after seeing your version, but NL always has so much extra ease. I may have to break down and muslin this one, though, as yours looks great. Thanks for the info about your changes.
4/9/12 10:46 AM
Sue Parrott said...
This is so very cute! I love your fabric choice and it fits you so well! Nice work!
4/9/12 9:58 AM
velosewer said...
This dress has worked out brilliantly on you.
4/9/12 7:25 AM
MNBarb said...
I love this style of dress and you have found the perfect scale and color of fabric to make it summery.
4/9/12 7:07 AM
pdiddly said...
this dress looks great on you
4/9/12 6:36 AM
marec said...
Love this dress on you.
4/9/12 0:59 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Love the dolman on this pattern. makes it so current! You look smashing!!
4/9/12 0:36 AM
zoe said...
Classy!
4/8/12 10:37 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!
4/8/12 10:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 3573

photo
by: Renren

Review
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

More Info
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Fusible Interfacing DVD

More Info
Simplicity 2343

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review