SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1277 (Misses Reversible Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 542 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 184
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 177
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/12 7:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lcdrbetty said...
Beautiful fabric choices, & love the overall look! Too bad about the "tugging" issues. I hate feeling like the garment pulls back. Gret review!
4/9/12 8:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OH it is so beautiful... love the swirly-ness and contrast outlining... maybe some drapery weights on the side that wants to ride up? I think it is lovely...
4/9/12 8:24 AM
prttynpnk said...
Beautiful art piece. I like the ties, too.
4/9/12 8:28 AM
Marge99 said...
I like the ties and the fabrics look lovely together.
4/9/12 8:56 AM
mastdenman said...
I love the jacket. The ties do make it look nicer from the back. Maybe your mom will get used to the asymetrical design part. It really is beautiful.
4/9/12 10:02 AM
Aroura said...
Absolutely beautiful "art to wear" piece, lucky mom! Good idea to add teh back ties to make it less shapeless. Those curvy shapes do like like serious fabric hogs...but beautiful result. Sorry the fit and collar are so off. :(
4/9/12 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
It really is a big fabric hog. Fortunately for me, when I made it I was using large stash pieces. Personally I like the swing jacket shape and the asymmetry but I know it is not for everyone. The labeling of the pattern pieces is confusing but you have helpful advice to deal with that. Your fabric choices are beautiful together.
4/9/12 2:22 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful job - your fabric choices are lovely and your workmanship superb. I hope the style grows on your mom - it would be a shame if she doesn't wear it.
4/10/12 9:39 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful to see another review on the jacket, because I was inspired by others and bought the pattern. Great rendition of the jacket - well made.
4/10/12 11:06 AM
Baba Yaga said...
This is an exceptionally good review. I appreciate your comments on the structure of the jacket and how it feels to wear it - your reflections and the amount of detail you offer are a big help.
4/10/12 11:19 AM
CSY said...
Your jacket is a WOW! Even with the issues you mention. Great review. Thank you.
4/10/12 11:42 PM
Annie P said...
Thanks for the great review. I have this pattern and was thinking of making it sometime. I'll have to think about it a bit more. That said, your mother's coat is really lovely and you did a beautiful job. I think it is one of those clothes that grow on you the more you wear it.
4/13/12 4:05 AM
fourkid said...
Great review. Love the fabric choices. I like it so much better with the back tie!
6/18/12 11:11 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
OOOh! Bought this one on recent sale but love!!! your ties. Also, did you use the same type of fabrics for each, i.e., all wools, or all cottons, or all ...etc? If so, which did you use? I just may make this! Great review!!!
2/13/13 4:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: Sew Red Ro...

Review
Simplicity 2069

photo
by: sew1moremo...

Review
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now