Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1277 (Misses Reversible Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 511 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 176
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 169
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/12 7:52 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lcdrbetty said...
Beautiful fabric choices, & love the overall look! Too bad about the "tugging" issues. I hate feeling like the garment pulls back. Gret review!
4/9/12 8:07 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
OH it is so beautiful... love the swirly-ness and contrast outlining... maybe some drapery weights on the side that wants to ride up? I think it is lovely...
4/9/12 8:24 AM
prttynpnk said...
Beautiful art piece. I like the ties, too.
4/9/12 8:28 AM
Marge99 said...
I like the ties and the fabrics look lovely together.
4/9/12 8:56 AM
mastdenman said...
I love the jacket. The ties do make it look nicer from the back. Maybe your mom will get used to the asymetrical design part. It really is beautiful.
4/9/12 10:02 AM
Aroura said...
Absolutely beautiful "art to wear" piece, lucky mom! Good idea to add teh back ties to make it less shapeless. Those curvy shapes do like like serious fabric hogs...but beautiful result. Sorry the fit and collar are so off. :(
4/9/12 11:31 AM
Ann Smith said...
It really is a big fabric hog. Fortunately for me, when I made it I was using large stash pieces. Personally I like the swing jacket shape and the asymmetry but I know it is not for everyone. The labeling of the pattern pieces is confusing but you have helpful advice to deal with that. Your fabric choices are beautiful together.
4/9/12 2:22 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful job - your fabric choices are lovely and your workmanship superb. I hope the style grows on your mom - it would be a shame if she doesn't wear it.
4/10/12 9:39 AM
pdiddly said...
wonderful to see another review on the jacket, because I was inspired by others and bought the pattern. Great rendition of the jacket - well made.
4/10/12 11:06 AM
Baba Yaga said...
This is an exceptionally good review. I appreciate your comments on the structure of the jacket and how it feels to wear it - your reflections and the amount of detail you offer are a big help.
4/10/12 11:19 AM
CSY said...
Your jacket is a WOW! Even with the issues you mention. Great review. Thank you.
4/10/12 11:42 PM
Annie P said...
Thanks for the great review. I have this pattern and was thinking of making it sometime. I'll have to think about it a bit more. That said, your mother's coat is really lovely and you did a beautiful job. I think it is one of those clothes that grow on you the more you wear it.
4/13/12 4:05 AM
fourkid said...
Great review. Love the fabric choices. I like it so much better with the back tie!
6/18/12 11:11 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
OOOh! Bought this one on recent sale but love!!! your ties. Also, did you use the same type of fabrics for each, i.e., all wools, or all cottons, or all ...etc? If so, which did you use? I just may make this! Great review!!!
2/13/13 4:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 3733
photo
Review by Chris Kell... on 1/5/06
Read Review

McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )
McCalls 5731 Pattern ( Size 3-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Butterick 4686 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Geneva Designs apron
photo
Review by donaleen on 5/22/11
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XL-3L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marlo Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us