Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1208 (Misses' /Misses' Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 559 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Skittl1321
photo
About Skittl1321star
IA USA
Member since: 9/9/07
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/10/12 10:09 AM
Last Updated:4/10/12 11:11 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
This was a good review. Do any of us look like those Vogue models? You seem to have learned lots in making this dress. Understitching will be your new best friend. It works great on waistbands, necklines or anything where you don't want the lining or facing showing on the outside. You don't have swayback with this dress. Swayback gives you extra fabric on the horizontal, yours is vertical. Have fun dancing in your new dress!
4/10/12 11:04 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Such a cute little black dress. Your efforts really paid off. Such a thorough review, very helpful!!
4/10/12 11:27 AM
rmusic1 said...
I think it looks really cute. Well done for attempting to sew a slippery fabric, I might need to invest in a walking foot myself.
4/10/12 1:39 PM
MissLadyAudrey said...
Great Job!
4/10/12 3:13 PM
CTBarb said...
Congratulations on a lovely dress. You used a lot of great problem solving skills here...and isn't that what sewing is all about! No garment ever turns out eaxactly as the instructions are written.
4/10/12 3:28 PM
Skittl1321 said...
Thanks for all the kind comments. And especially for the video- it appears understitching is kind of like topstitching? I think that this is something I can still do at this point, so I will do that to finish the look of the dress. (I should also clarify that when I say "easy and great for beginners" as my rating, I mean that it was easy enough to come up with a finished product. Since I didn't understand all the techniques, and just made do, that may not be good for a beginner who is a perfectionist!)
4/10/12 3:34 PM
TJSEWS said...
This dress is really cute on you. Yes, I have used a walking foot with slippery fabrics with good results as well. I agree with MNBarb that you do not need a swayback adjustment with this dress.
4/10/12 3:43 PM
Skittl1321 said...
So if it isn't swayback causing the extra fabric- how would I get rid of that? Do I just need to narrow out the pattern piece in the upper torso?
4/10/12 3:53 PM
lakaribane said...
Great review and I too love the styling of this dress. RE: understitching, it's topstitching the facing to the combined seam allowances of the neckline seam. I'll try to find you a photo tutorial. BRB
4/10/12 4:26 PM
ggf2005 said...
Cutting the dress on the bias eliminates the need for darts or seamlines that make the flat fabric adhere to the beautiful curves that our bodies make. Follow this link to an excellent article about how grainlines work. http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/5024/go-against-the-grain. I also hope that you let your dress hang for 24 hours before you hemmed it because the fibers in bias cut garments are always shifting and it could stretch even more. Your cheater hem was the best way to go...I made a similar Tom and Linda Platt dress and used a rolled hem. Understitching is also referred to as stitching in the ditch. Basically what you will be doing is sewing a line of stitching parallel to the seam where the facing/lining attaches to the garment as close to the seam as possible through all layers of the facing/lining and the seam allowance. This will give the inside edge just a bit more of weight which will help keep the facing/lining inside the garment. I don't trim my seams until after I have "stitched in the ditch". Then I trim as much of the seam allowance away as possible without cutting through my "stitch in the ditch", this makes curved seams lie very flat. I hope this helps....happy sewing.
4/10/12 5:06 PM
Skittl1321 said...
Yes- I did let it hang 24 hours before hemming! I didn't at first, but that hem was SO bad- over an inch difference from left to right side. I have no idea how I managed to do that, so I cut it off (too difficult to rip out and not distort the fabric). I had done a full rolled hem, but when I realized I didn't have enough fabric, after letting it hang, I rehemmed with just a fold over. Thanks for the information on understitch. Vogues definition was very vague.
4/10/12 5:35 PM
SewWil said...
You have a beautiful dress to show for your efforts. Great job!!!
4/10/12 8:37 PM
Fictionfan said...
Nice dress! The vertical wrinkles mean that you have too much width at that level. I think you could take in the back side seams only, not at the front, at the waist level to give it more shaping. In a non-bias cut dress, those wrinkles could be converted to waist darts for the shaping that you need. I agree that you should start with a smaller size. The neck and back waist are too big, but rest of it looks like it fits well. Great review!
5/20/12 0:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

McCall's M5433
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 3/16/08
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-102
photo
Review by MissCelie on 11/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7084 Pattern
Burda 7084 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6244 Pattern
New Look 6244 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us