Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2890 (MISSES' DRESS AND DETACHABLE SHRUG) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 967 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/12 1:09 AM
Last Updated:3/10/14 11:17 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2890 by knitsewmuch

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2890
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by knitsewmuch

Pattern Rating:Difficult, but great for Advanced Sewers
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Vogue 2890  
Fabric:Polyester Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
My daughter picked this pattern after searching through many catalogs. Unfortunately prom is less than a a month away and there was no time to order a prom dress. We did not even look locally for daughter's fear that someone else would show up in the same dress and we can't have that right?

I thought I'd chronicle the progress here:

4/7/12 Daughter cut out pattern pieces as I studied the pattern instructions and previous reviews.

4/8/12 Daughter steamed the satin, chiffon, and lining fabrics as I studied the pattern instructions and made notes for how I wanted to construct the garment.
Decided not to use the chiffon fabric for the dress so had to eliminate a step for the skirt lining application. This dress will be constructed with the drape, train, and overskirt in chiffon. The dress, skirt, and bodice foundation will be cut from the satin fabric and the bodice lining will be cut from matching lining fabric. Have not decided if we will line the skirt since the satin skirt will act as a "lining" for the chiffon overskirt.
Cut out sew-in interfacing and taught daughter how to mark interfacing with pattern markings. Cut out all bodice pieces needed from satin fabric, matched interfacing to foundation pieces and placed in ziplock storage bags to protect from accidental stains, etc.

4/9/12 began sewing interfacing to foundation only to find I'd sewn to wrong side of foundation, after studying pattern-- notice a theme? Removed ( glad I hand sewed) interfacing and sewed to "wrong side" which was actually the right side-- should have cut foundation pieces out in single layer layout with pattern pieces and fabric right side up. But, no worries, foundation will not be seen anyway.

4/11/12 Finished basting interfacing to remaining foundation pieces. Cut out chiffon drapes and back bodice piece. Found that using tissue paper under the chiffon and sewing chiffon with tissue paper and then removing made chiffon much easier to handle. Also began inserting boning into the bodice. Used kitchen shears to cut boning and used nail emery board to smooth the edges after rounding them with the shears. Held bodice pieces up to daughter--uh oh-- not sure of fit. I double checked her measurements against the pattern measurements. I won't worry until I get the side seam sewn and try it on. I'm praying the dress will fit her properly. I have really enjoyed each step in the process of making this dress and it is a lovely pattern. The plan for tomorrow is to get the bodice finished and fitted and begin cutting out skirt pieces.
4/13/12 have bodice fitted. Actually had to take it in some. Cut out bodice lining. Tomorrow I plan to cut out the chiffon overskirt and train. Will have to use king size bed to lay out the huge piece. Will also need to use lots of tissue paper to stabilize while cutting and sewing.

4/23/12 coming down home stretch. The prom is this weekend. We had a final fitting tonight with the shoes and accessories. Only need to hem the dress, finish making the rosettes and make the shrug. My daughter loves it and I think she looks beautiful in it. Pictures will be taken and uploaded soon.

4/25/12 spent last night cutting out the shrug in chiffon. Sewed shrug but does not really look like pattern picture. Not done with it yet but so far don't think I like it in chiffon fabric-- too flimsy.
Also cut out and sewed remaining flowers. Began arranging along bodice front.

Plan to practice using rolled hemmed foot using the chiffon fabric before hemming. Keeping fingers crossed.

4/27/12 finished dress. Love this pattern. The best part was seeing my daughter's face when she tried it on tonight. She looks beautiful in it. Can't wait to see the look on her daddy's face when he sees her in it.

Didn't like the shrug. Maybe I will have time to play around with it tomorrow before the prom.
4/28/12. Went back to fabric store and purchased more chiffon-- luckily it was on sale. This time I measured my daughter and cut the shrug out a little wider. It did not look like the pic on the pattern envelope but it was still flattering. My daughter told me that when she and her date went to dinner it was kind of awkward at first because as they were walking past other diners to be seated people stopped and looked at her and she heard a few "wows" as she passed by. A few people even came to her table and told her how stunning she looked. I am so happy that I had a part in making her first prom extra special.

3/10/14 Added more photos of dress detail.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MareeH said...
Following your progress carefully as my daughter has just decided on this dress too. Just a little terrified about embarking on this one but you're encouraging me to give it a go.
4/23/12 8:54 PM
knitsewmuch said...
MareeH, I did not find the pattern to be difficult. Just take your time and I'm sure you will be pleased with the result. I know I am.
4/28/12 1:20 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Wow! Beautiful. Love the colour.
4/28/12 10:32 AM
Danmar said...
Very pretty! Can't wait to see her in it!
4/28/12 12:28 PM
VogueMistress said...
How beautiful is that?
4/28/12 10:56 PM
Lovin To Stitch said...
How beautiful……both daughter and gown! Great job!
4/28/12 11:15 PM
psm484 said...
Gorgeous daughter! Gorgeous dress!
4/28/12 11:57 PM
misslydia said...
amazing job. So beautiful. You are to be congratulated.
4/29/12 1:22 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Absolutely stunning dress, and your daughter's happiness shows in the photograph.
4/29/12 2:00 AM
PrincessBinky said...
Looks AMAZING
4/29/12 4:24 AM
Irishandmore said...
:-) It turned out beautiful. Love that color!
4/30/12 9:53 AM
Dilliander said...
Yes, that is a "wow" dress, your daughter looks beautiful.
5/1/12 11:14 PM
cmcarr said...
Stunning!
5/1/12 11:33 PM
khall said...
Best prom dress EVER!!! Gorgeous daughter!!!
5/1/12 11:40 PM
carolinablue said...
I agree with the other reviews....absolutely a beautiful dress for a beautiful girl
5/1/12 11:47 PM
valkyrie01 said...
An absolute stunner! :)
5/1/12 11:50 PM
magpie57 said...
Beautiful all round and a great review. I both chuckled and held my breath as you got down to the wire!
5/1/12 11:50 PM
sewbarbie said...
"Wow" is an understatement.
5/2/12 0:16 AM
almost said...
What a beautiful dress and it looks stunning on your daughter.....must have made for a memorable prom!
5/2/12 0:44 AM
Barbara V said...
What a lovely Mother/Daughter story. This is a masterpiece! You did an amazing job. Your daughter looks so feminine and beautiful in it.
5/2/12 0:56 AM
nightowlgal said...
That's a gorgeous prom dress! And I'm impressed that your daughter participated a little in its creation -- mine doesn't even like to be fitted!
5/2/12 1:43 AM
brandywine said...
A stunning dress on a stunning girl, no wonder people said 'wow'. You should be super proud!
5/2/12 2:26 AM
QueenZ said...
I enjoy reading your beautiful story with a beautiful ending. Well done!
5/2/12 2:38 AM
Mazzygirl said...
I love this pattern & your daughter looks absolutely stunning in that colour! Beautifully made & well deserving of hte praise she got!
5/2/12 4:56 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Oh my gosh the dress is so gorgeous as is your daughter in it, no wonder she received so many compliments.
5/2/12 7:31 AM
ggf2005 said...
Inspirational! Beautiful! I have two weeks to make my DD's dress...her own design and I hope we live to tell the tale!
5/2/12 12:40 PM
piffle said...
simply stunning! What a lucky daughter you have!
5/2/12 1:20 PM
norie creates said...
What a beautiful ending to your review! What we won't due for our kids right? She looks amazing and I can feel your pride in making her night so special!
5/2/12 1:49 PM
CCQ said...
Beautiful and what a great memory both you will have of the joint effort of creating a one-of-a kind prom dress.
5/2/12 1:53 PM
ChristineX said...
That is just gorgeous! I love the color, it is one I would wear too.
5/2/12 4:14 PM
ryan's mom said...
Very beautiful!
5/3/12 6:40 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Gorgeous!
5/3/12 9:01 AM
Levone said...
Beautiful dress! You wouldn't have been able to find one as perfect for her as this one in the stores.
5/3/12 11:23 AM
slmstyle said...
Gorgeous, both the gown and your daughter in it! I always wondered how complicated this pattern design would be. Thanks for breaking it down into what seems to be fairly understandable and manageable steps.
5/3/12 12:12 PM
salsera7 said...
You and your daughter did an absolutely wonderful job. Nothing like teamwork and the style and color suits her so well.
5/3/12 3:50 PM
catalak said...
Your daughter and her gown are stunning!
5/3/12 7:41 PM
ImSewMom said...
Gorgeous!
5/5/12 11:29 AM
GodsgirlT said...
This dress is perfect on your daughter! She's got great taste and you have the skills to match! Enjoyed reading your review!
5/5/12 3:51 PM
momma2many said...
Thanks for the review my son is engaged and my future daughter in law has picked this out as a wedding dress your daughter is lovely btw
5/9/12 8:52 PM
Mufffet said...
This is lovely - the style and color are fabulous and the fit - well you did a fantastic job! :)
5/31/12 8:18 PM
MadeInHisImage said...
Beautiful!!!
11/12/12 9:21 PM
sfgb said...
Your daughter is gorgeous and so is the dress! You did a magnificent job.
4/17/13 11:31 AM
alpenrose said...
OH MOM!! YOU did just great ! :-)
3/11/14 0:03 AM
Baja Susana said...
Beautiful dress, beautiful daughter! The color is perfect for her, as is the dress. Loved your review.
3/11/14 9:40 AM
CathrynR said...
And I repeat, WOW, excellent job. The dress and your daughter look absolutely lovely.
3/11/14 12:50 PM
Lagolden2 said...
Beautiful dress, color,and fabric. It is so important to read the instructions and I am glad you emphasized hand sewing- basting- it can tedious but so so necessary. This prom dress is super- Well done.
3/11/14 2:58 PM
ggf2005 said...
well you've done it now....she's going to have you making her suits for work and her wedding gown...wouldn't trade the experience for anything in the world. exquisite.
3/12/14 0:31 AM
Kendrasewsindetroit said...
I have to say, you hit a home run! It looks perfect! Your daughter is one fortunate baby! I'm sure she must have been very proud to say that her mom made her gown especially for her. Great job, mom;)
3/12/14 2:05 PM
carolynw said...
I can well understand th e"WOW" as she went by - absolutely beautiful dress - the colour is wonderful and your daughter is so beautiful! Great work
3/13/14 7:03 PM
misshollywood17 said...
I got a little choked up reading this until the end. Absolutely gorgeoud. Your daughter is so lucky to have a mother like you, and I applaud you for having her be part of the process so that she can really appreciate how much work goes into it. She should be proud as well as you. Absolutely AMAZING!
3/14/14 1:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2406 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by peppercon on 1/27/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Silhouette Patterns 115 Ann's Top
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 1/6/12
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1535 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6965 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us