SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5497 (Misses' Top)

26 more reviews
Viewed 629 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 346
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/12 8:45 AM
Last Updated:7/23/14 1:48 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5497 by Lori V

  Butterick: 5497 by Lori V  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5497
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Updated review

I made this top for myself this time as the original one was for my second oldest daughter. I used a silk jersey from Mood Fabrics and lengthened the bodice 1/2" I love this new top and it is perfect for summer.
See more information on myblog

Original review:
Pattern Description: A Dolman sleeve top for knits. Long or short sleeves and high boatneck or V cross over bodice variation. Features a classy triangle opening at the back of the neck

I made view B, thought View A might be too deep of front v-neck, meaning a cami worn under this top which would have defeated the open back look.

Sizing: 6 to 20, made a 12

Instructions: They were easy to follow, nice illustrations for most of the step-by-step instructions.

Likes/Dislikes: I liked the classy look of the knit shirt, lots of extras to make it a bit dressier. The gathering on the bodice, the gathered shoulder seams (done with elastic), the triangle opening in the back. Only dislike - it took me too long to get to this cute pattern.

Changes: The pattern calls for elastic in the empire waist seam, which I omitted. It probably will hold the gathers in place better but I thought this would fit Erin perfectly without the elastic and I thought the shirt would be more comfortable without the elastic.

Fabric: A rayon-lycra knit, it has been in my stash for quite sometime.

Conclusion: A fun top to make, with many extra design features

back view on my blog.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cristinagf said...
Very cute!
4/11/12 9:14 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Cute top. I have this pattern and need to make it. I love the back detail
4/11/12 9:26 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Cute top. I have this pattern and need to make it. I love the back detail
4/11/12 9:27 AM
jlg said...
This is very pretty.
4/11/12 9:29 AM
Twinset said...
Very cute indeed!
4/11/12 10:06 AM
SewWil said...
Pretty top!
4/11/12 10:13 AM
Elemenopeo said...
so pretty
4/11/12 10:36 AM
TJSEWS said...
Yes, that back opening is gorgeous!
4/11/12 4:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
Lori -- Your version is great! Are the sleeves really that long in view B? -- Yours look longer and I like them that way. You don't mention changing the pattern there. I'm thinking of making view B for granddaughter and view C for my mom and myself. (My mom is very busty, and we both like the style.)
5/19/12 12:16 PM
Lori V said...
JD, the sleeves are made with no alterations. Sorry so late on responding.
7/9/12 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice! Pretty fabric.
7/23/14 5:56 PM
mary in FL said...
This looks great! Thanks for the idea to "loosen" the lower bodice.
7/24/14 6:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-116

photo
by: SewWil

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now