SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5497 (Misses' Top)

26 more reviews
Viewed 594 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 342
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 341
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/12 8:45 AM
Last Updated:7/23/14 1:48 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5497 by Lori V

  Butterick: 5497 by Lori V  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5497
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Updated review

I made this top for myself this time as the original one was for my second oldest daughter. I used a silk jersey from Mood Fabrics and lengthened the bodice 1/2" I love this new top and it is perfect for summer.
See more information on myblog

Original review:
Pattern Description: A Dolman sleeve top for knits. Long or short sleeves and high boatneck or V cross over bodice variation. Features a classy triangle opening at the back of the neck

I made view B, thought View A might be too deep of front v-neck, meaning a cami worn under this top which would have defeated the open back look.

Sizing: 6 to 20, made a 12

Instructions: They were easy to follow, nice illustrations for most of the step-by-step instructions.

Likes/Dislikes: I liked the classy look of the knit shirt, lots of extras to make it a bit dressier. The gathering on the bodice, the gathered shoulder seams (done with elastic), the triangle opening in the back. Only dislike - it took me too long to get to this cute pattern.

Changes: The pattern calls for elastic in the empire waist seam, which I omitted. It probably will hold the gathers in place better but I thought this would fit Erin perfectly without the elastic and I thought the shirt would be more comfortable without the elastic.

Fabric: A rayon-lycra knit, it has been in my stash for quite sometime.

Conclusion: A fun top to make, with many extra design features

back view on my blog.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cristinagf said...
Very cute!
4/11/12 9:14 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Cute top. I have this pattern and need to make it. I love the back detail
4/11/12 9:26 AM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Cute top. I have this pattern and need to make it. I love the back detail
4/11/12 9:27 AM
jlg said...
This is very pretty.
4/11/12 9:29 AM
Twinset said...
Very cute indeed!
4/11/12 10:06 AM
SewWil said...
Pretty top!
4/11/12 10:13 AM
Elemenopeo said...
so pretty
4/11/12 10:36 AM
TJSEWS said...
Yes, that back opening is gorgeous!
4/11/12 4:04 PM
JDpenelope said...
Lori -- Your version is great! Are the sleeves really that long in view B? -- Yours look longer and I like them that way. You don't mention changing the pattern there. I'm thinking of making view B for granddaughter and view C for my mom and myself. (My mom is very busty, and we both like the style.)
5/19/12 12:16 PM
Lori V said...
JD, the sleeves are made with no alterations. Sorry so late on responding.
7/9/12 8:51 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice! Pretty fabric.
7/23/14 5:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6236

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 3628

photo
by: Aroura

Review