SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 9902 (oop blouses)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1232 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/02 10:42 PM
Last Updated:4/11/04 2:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nikki, a few years ago, I phoned Vogue to find out what their standard neck measurements were , since it's not covered in their measurement charts (as far as I know, only Burda includes the neck!). Here's what I was told their standards are, taken at the base of the neck: Size 10=14.5 inches. Size 12=14.75 inches. Size 14=15 inches. Size 16=15.25 inches.
7/19/02 4:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Elona, that's great information! Thanks. Nikki, were the sleeves on this shirt like a blouse sleeve (high cap) or more like a men's shirt (low, wide cap)? I've had this pattern in my stash for a while and just haven't gotten around to making it yet. My strategy when trying a new shirt pattern is like yours: use a patterned, 100% cotton fabric--it's easiest to work with, so you can tell if the pattern pieces go together nicely. Congratulations on taking the big step to using the silk. What did you interface with in the silk version?
7/19/02 10:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Elona, based on that information, maybe I should go up two sizes! Skymom, the sleeves have a high cap. I actually used some cotton muslin for interfacing on the silk shirt. I was a bit afraid it might be too heavy, but I am satisfied with the result. I haven't used silk enough yet to have decided what kind of interfacing I like best.
7/19/02 10:59 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
minieme said...
Ooooh I love the cats! Where did you find those cuff links?
4/11/04 6:36 PM
Nikki said...
minieme, I found the cufflinks a few years ago from inthecuff.com; I don't know if they still carry them or not. But you can make your own cufflinks out of buttons, either with the cufflink studs or by using two buttons tied together with a thread tack.
4/11/04 8:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-104

photo
by: Judy Willi...

Review