SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6295 (1965 Designer Fashion)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 528 times 
Reviewed by:VirginiasDghter
photo

 
 
About VirginiasDghter
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/10
Reviews written: 33
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 8:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nan Kay said...
Great dress, it looks wonderful on you too! It may be a vintage pattern, but it certainly is in style now, especially with the narrow belt.
4/14/12 8:36 AM
RobbieK said...
That is a really good lookin' dress!
4/14/12 8:36 AM
kjcaron said...
Very pretty!
4/14/12 8:43 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Very pretty and really like your fabric choice
4/14/12 8:48 AM
happytobehere said...
So ladylike! Looks great with the belt.
4/14/12 8:57 AM
Renata said...
Very stylish. I like it.
4/14/12 9:03 AM
jenleeC said...
Your dress looks very classy and I was admiring the neckline which looks like it is the perfect depth. Gotta love the bow too!
4/14/12 9:15 AM
DreinPA said...
It looks very contemporary and fits so well. I think the multiple panels would cut up the larger floral too much and agree with your decision not to use the silky print. Oh but I would make it again in another fabric if I were you!
4/14/12 9:20 AM
Robin Denning said...
you should be a model, this looks so great! If I saw this in an advertisement, I would want the dress :)
4/14/12 9:21 AM
rebe said...
What a great way to create a wonderful memory! Beautiful Dress.
4/14/12 9:39 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress is beautiful!
4/14/12 10:19 AM
Christas said...
What a very cute dress! It's definitely a classic that looks just as good today as when the pattern was designed. You look beautiful wearing it!
4/14/12 10:23 AM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks fantastic - very nice
4/14/12 10:23 AM
SewWil said...
Such a pretty dress!!! It looks wonderful and is so flattering on you. What a beautiful to extend your memories.
4/14/12 11:07 AM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful! Looks so much better on you than on the envelop. LOVE the story about how you found the pattern... Stories always make clothes look better, don't they!
4/14/12 12:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Wow, so pretty....very vintage looking and very current looking. Fits you so well. Love the bow!
4/14/12 3:19 PM
petro said...
Great dress!
4/14/12 3:42 PM
sing201 said...
Wow! What an elegant dress. Simplicity should reissue this pattern with your remake. Very stylish for 47 years later.
4/14/12 4:06 PM
jlg said...
This looks great on you.
4/14/12 8:32 PM
zoe said...
Good review. This dress looks great on you. Beautiful.
4/14/12 9:24 PM
1SewSweet said...
This is absolutely adorable on you! I love it!
4/15/12 11:03 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thank you all! You're far too kind...far too kind :-)!
4/15/12 11:49 AM
Norsecross said...
Such a great basic pattern, to be tweaked a myriad of ways! I think you will make it again when you come up with some alteration ideas! I would, this one you made came out so nice, how can you resist!
4/15/12 6:37 PM
velosewer said...
Gorgeous dress.
4/15/12 10:06 PM
lyndle said...
This is great! Love the print and the fit. Are you sure you won't make this again? It looks lovely!
4/16/12 5:53 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thanks again to everyone! @Norsecross - I LIKE the way you think!
4/16/12 1:00 PM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and it's very flattering on you.
4/16/12 4:01 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful! Just beautiful, pretty lady.
4/16/12 6:15 PM
loti said...
Adorable!!
4/17/12 1:32 PM
Fictionfan said...
This is adorable! It looks better on you than the model on the pattern envelope. Isn't it great when something that looks so wonderful was so easy to make! Thanks very much for the review.
4/17/12 11:34 PM
morzel said...
Wonderful dress!
4/19/12 5:31 AM
Peter in NYC said...
That dress looks great on you. Nice job!
4/19/12 7:11 PM
StudioCherie said...
Lovely story about finding the pattern. Your photos are exceptionally beautiful. Great review.
4/21/12 10:11 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress -- looks wonderful on you! Very nice fit!
4/23/12 9:45 AM
droxy said...
That dress looks fab on you. Great job!
4/24/12 12:52 PM
stitchnz said...
Great dress, great fabric for you. You look glamorous AND comfortable. Well done!
4/27/12 6:10 AM
sprKathleen said...
You look wonderful in this dress. You did a superb job with it!
4/27/12 9:42 AM
olynda said...
Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful, the fabric choice and fit is gorgeous!!!
5/26/12 4:00 PM
wordchick said...
I love this! It looks fantastic on you. The print is wonderful...so stylish!
6/27/12 5:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Butterick 5185

photo
by: mochimo

Review
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8084

photo
by: Sandi S

Review