SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> BV6859 (1950s Tripple Tiered Skirt)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Oceanpegstar
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 8:47 PM
Last Updated:4/16/12 3:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
What a stunning swing skirt! Very nice work!
5/6/12 0:45 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Margaret & Cherie. One of my 2 cats always seem to find their way into my photos. Especially when its an item I made up and taking photos of it... :)
4/24/12 0:24 AM
StudioCherie said...
terrific entry. The skirt looks great on you!
4/23/12 0:40 AM
Margaret said...
This looks like such a fun skirt! Must have been a lot to hem though! Love the rickrack (and the cat pics too :)
4/22/12 4:44 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Peter.
4/22/12 2:11 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great looking skirt! Excellent fabric choice.
4/19/12 7:18 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks petro.
4/18/12 6:02 PM
petro said...
I've been following the progress on the skirt, and now its finished! It looks great.
4/17/12 8:29 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Renren. Went out to dinner wearing my pink swing skirt on Monday evening with a group of ladies and got a lot of compliments on it. Wore it just like in the photos, without any extra under garments. It really and definitely is for street wear and not just for special occassions and special events related to the 50's. The 50's dance was sold out, so didn't get a ticket to go to it, wearing my swing skirt this coming weekend. Have worn my other skirts, this same style, to many of our monthly meetings etc., at our clubhouse and elsewhere without the extra undergarments, too. This style of skirt is almost identical to the recent broomstick skirts.
4/17/12 1:33 AM
Renren said...
Oh, thanks for that detailed photostream. I read the caption to each photo and followed the process. I like how you zigzagged twice and how straight the stitching is AND how perfectly you pinned in those pleats. Good luck finishing this and I will be watching for the grand finale!
4/15/12 11:59 AM
Oceanpeg said...
If I wear it for line dancing or square dancing might do so. Can also wear this as an everyday skirt without the petticoat underneath it. Have several more of these hanging up in my closet. Used to wear this style of skirt for squaredancing back in the 1950s when in high school as well to school as a regular skirt.
4/14/12 7:46 PM
magpie57 said...
Will you put a petticoat under it? I expect that is why it is so full?
4/14/12 2:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-123

photo
by: Kay Y

Review
SewBaby Poncho Pizazz Pattern

SewBaby  Poncho Pizazz Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now