Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: BV6859 (1950s Tripple Tiered Skirt) - Type:Skirts
Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 251 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Oceanpeg
photo
Friend of PR
About Oceanpegstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/1/08
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 8:47 PM
Last Updated:4/16/12 3:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
magpie57 said...
Will you put a petticoat under it? I expect that is why it is so full?
4/14/12 2:16 PM
Oceanpeg said...
If I wear it for line dancing or square dancing might do so. Can also wear this as an everyday skirt without the petticoat underneath it. Have several more of these hanging up in my closet. Used to wear this style of skirt for squaredancing back in the 1950s when in high school as well to school as a regular skirt.
4/14/12 7:46 PM
Renren said...
Oh, thanks for that detailed photostream. I read the caption to each photo and followed the process. I like how you zigzagged twice and how straight the stitching is AND how perfectly you pinned in those pleats. Good luck finishing this and I will be watching for the grand finale!
4/15/12 11:59 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Renren. Went out to dinner wearing my pink swing skirt on Monday evening with a group of ladies and got a lot of compliments on it. Wore it just like in the photos, without any extra under garments. It really and definitely is for street wear and not just for special occassions and special events related to the 50's. The 50's dance was sold out, so didn't get a ticket to go to it, wearing my swing skirt this coming weekend. Have worn my other skirts, this same style, to many of our monthly meetings etc., at our clubhouse and elsewhere without the extra undergarments, too. This style of skirt is almost identical to the recent broomstick skirts.
4/17/12 1:33 AM
petro said...
I've been following the progress on the skirt, and now its finished! It looks great.
4/17/12 8:29 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks petro.
4/18/12 6:02 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great looking skirt! Excellent fabric choice.
4/19/12 7:18 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Peter.
4/22/12 2:11 PM
Margaret said...
This looks like such a fun skirt! Must have been a lot to hem though! Love the rickrack (and the cat pics too :)
4/22/12 4:44 PM
StudioCherie said...
terrific entry. The skirt looks great on you!
4/23/12 0:40 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Thanks Margaret & Cherie. One of my 2 cats always seem to find their way into my photos. Especially when its an item I made up and taking photos of it... :)
4/24/12 0:24 AM
Heatherrique said...
What a stunning swing skirt! Very nice work!
5/6/12 0:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2005-108 tee shirt
photo
Review by SueV on 2/6/05
Read Review

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2047 (vintage)
photo
Review by Cowtown Ka... on 10/7/11
Read Review

Simplicity 8523 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Simplicity 8523 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us