SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6506 (Misses'/Miss Petite Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 523 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 10:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitz said...
Very nice!
4/14/12 10:14 PM
SewWil said...
So nice to see this sewn up. I have this pattern in my stash. Your dress is beautiful. Belt? I think it looks nice without a belt but I'm sure the self-fabric tie belt would be nice as well. I think you are right about a contrast belt.
4/14/12 10:32 PM
Christas said...
I have this pattern on my list of ones to buy. I love your version. You really got a nice fit, and the dress looks great on you!
4/15/12 0:00 AM
Maree P said...
This is lovely summer dress Barb. beautifully sewn. I still have the 1980's pattern that you allude to ....I made the sleeveless version too. I find accessorising tricky too...a red or black wide belt with wedge espadrilles?
4/15/12 0:33 AM
prttynpnk said...
This is so classic and all the tips are so helpful- I'm printing this out and putting it with the pattern. Lovely fabric!
4/15/12 5:26 AM
cleverkitty said...
Big applause over here in Ohio, this happens to be so fine a dress that you could not find another likeness, it's timeless and the fit is perfect, don't get me started on the fabric, at the moment I am lusting... I would make the belt just to be able to sew the fabric again and possibly use with other outfits/tunics. A contrast belt in another print would put it over the edge with even more style. Thanks for the tip, I'm going to use it with the project I'm working on :)
4/15/12 10:07 AM
Barbara V said...
Nice choice of style and fabric! It looks super on you! Very informative review.....I will use the "thread come-along on pointed collar" tip...thanks!
4/15/12 10:31 AM
landstromd said...
This dress is absolutely fantastic on you! Wow you can tell you really took your time. I'm so impressed by your fitting and alternations, haven't gotten up the nerve to really try anything on my own, I will need personal lessons! One thing, where do you put the dart in the shoulder seam to help snug things up? thanks again for a great review!
4/15/12 10:47 AM
sew2little said...
So cute, Barb. I love shirtwaists. Your quilt is also beautiful.
4/15/12 5:28 PM
sew2little said...
So cute, Barb. I love shirtwaists. Your quilt is also beautiful.
4/15/12 5:29 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Nice dress and a colorful belt would be a great addition!
4/15/12 5:46 PM
Raye Ann said...
I don't know what it is...we have so many of the same patterns!! This one is on my short list for a new dress, so your terrific review is very helpful. Great dress in a great fabric!
4/15/12 11:15 PM
bhadom said...
Barb, a great review and a terrific dress. You did a wonderful job with the fit and it looks so comfortable.
4/22/12 10:00 PM
Carriekaye said...
I want to make this dress, came on PR and found one review - yours! Well, I started it tonight thanks to your great review and beautiful dress. Now, if I can just get it to look as nice as yours. Thank you for the very thorough review and tip!
4/27/12 1:17 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Barb, Seeing this dress on you...amazing! Your photo's don't even do justice...your fit in this dress was imppecable and the time you took to make this was well worth the effort. I am glad I have this pattern in my stash because you have convinced me to make it. Unfortunately I'd like to make it in YOUR fabric! it is so pretty. Your pearls...just the right touch. Going back and reading this review was helpful too. I think your skirt has just the right amount of fabric...and lots of good tips here. Thanks for the review!
6/11/12 1:23 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful dress Barb. I have been absent quite a bit lately and missed this review. I put this pattern on my wish list.
9/16/12 8:56 PM
Pinkbird said...
Lovely dress and thanks for all the very helpful sewing tips ;)
10/14/12 11:56 AM
mary varcoe said...
Love the dress and Love the Quilt in the background.
11/3/12 6:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6466

photo
by: facesunder...

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now