Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6506 (Misses'/Miss Petite Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 508 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/14/12 10:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitz said...
Very nice!
4/14/12 10:14 PM
SewWil said...
So nice to see this sewn up. I have this pattern in my stash. Your dress is beautiful. Belt? I think it looks nice without a belt but I'm sure the self-fabric tie belt would be nice as well. I think you are right about a contrast belt.
4/14/12 10:32 PM
Christas said...
I have this pattern on my list of ones to buy. I love your version. You really got a nice fit, and the dress looks great on you!
4/15/12 0:00 AM
Maree P said...
This is lovely summer dress Barb. beautifully sewn. I still have the 1980's pattern that you allude to ....I made the sleeveless version too. I find accessorising tricky too...a red or black wide belt with wedge espadrilles?
4/15/12 0:33 AM
prttynpnk said...
This is so classic and all the tips are so helpful- I'm printing this out and putting it with the pattern. Lovely fabric!
4/15/12 5:26 AM
cleverkitty said...
Big applause over here in Ohio, this happens to be so fine a dress that you could not find another likeness, it's timeless and the fit is perfect, don't get me started on the fabric, at the moment I am lusting... I would make the belt just to be able to sew the fabric again and possibly use with other outfits/tunics. A contrast belt in another print would put it over the edge with even more style. Thanks for the tip, I'm going to use it with the project I'm working on :)
4/15/12 10:07 AM
Barbara V said...
Nice choice of style and fabric! It looks super on you! Very informative review.....I will use the "thread come-along on pointed collar" tip...thanks!
4/15/12 10:31 AM
landstromd said...
This dress is absolutely fantastic on you! Wow you can tell you really took your time. I'm so impressed by your fitting and alternations, haven't gotten up the nerve to really try anything on my own, I will need personal lessons! One thing, where do you put the dart in the shoulder seam to help snug things up? thanks again for a great review!
4/15/12 10:47 AM
sew2little said...
So cute, Barb. I love shirtwaists. Your quilt is also beautiful.
4/15/12 5:28 PM
sew2little said...
So cute, Barb. I love shirtwaists. Your quilt is also beautiful.
4/15/12 5:29 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Nice dress and a colorful belt would be a great addition!
4/15/12 5:46 PM
Raye Ann said...
I don't know what it is...we have so many of the same patterns!! This one is on my short list for a new dress, so your terrific review is very helpful. Great dress in a great fabric!
4/15/12 11:15 PM
bhadom said...
Barb, a great review and a terrific dress. You did a wonderful job with the fit and it looks so comfortable.
4/22/12 10:00 PM
Carriekaye said...
I want to make this dress, came on PR and found one review - yours! Well, I started it tonight thanks to your great review and beautiful dress. Now, if I can just get it to look as nice as yours. Thank you for the very thorough review and tip!
4/27/12 1:17 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Barb, Seeing this dress on you...amazing! Your photo's don't even do justice...your fit in this dress was imppecable and the time you took to make this was well worth the effort. I am glad I have this pattern in my stash because you have convinced me to make it. Unfortunately I'd like to make it in YOUR fabric! it is so pretty. Your pearls...just the right touch. Going back and reading this review was helpful too. I think your skirt has just the right amount of fabric...and lots of good tips here. Thanks for the review!
6/11/12 1:23 PM
marec said...
What a beautiful dress Barb. I have been absent quite a bit lately and missed this review. I put this pattern on my wish list.
9/16/12 8:56 PM
Pinkbird said...
Lovely dress and thanks for all the very helpful sewing tips ;)
10/14/12 11:56 AM
mary varcoe said...
Love the dress and Love the Quilt in the background.
11/3/12 6:40 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8863 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8987 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1093
photo
Review by SueV on 1/21/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us