SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8997 (vintage 1940s) (Nightgown)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 253 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 5:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thanks again for all your kind comments! FreyaStark, yes, a Liberty lawn would be great! valkyrie01, I sent you a PM.
4/29/12 5:45 AM
valkyrie01 said...
Wow Margaret, this is beautiful! I woud not change a thing on it! Can yu tell me how to get a hold of this pattern (if this is possible?) Great work!
4/28/12 1:03 AM
droxy said...
That is a very pretty pattern!
4/24/12 2:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
Lovely! That pattern would work well in a dainty print like a Liberty lawn, and it could also work as a peasant-style top or dress if you felt so inclined.
4/24/12 8:08 AM
StudioCherie said...
Great review. Thanks for being so thorough.
4/23/12 11:25 PM
loti said...
So lightweight a wisp of a nightie, very pretty, and romantic.
4/17/12 1:35 PM
jannw said...
How pretty!! and another great review with lots of info!
4/16/12 9:30 PM
cindyann said...
I just love vintage nightgowns and yours looks so pretty. I'm sure it will be most comfortable to wear.
4/16/12 10:01 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! Petro, that is one of the things I was thinking of doing. I'm not sure if 3/4" elastic might still try to curl in the neckline, so I may have to do a double casing with narrower elastic, so that I can make the elastic closer to the edge shorter. But either way, I'd keep the bow (even just tacking one on top if I have to). Have fun with your pattern!
4/16/12 6:14 AM
velosewer said...
I like the off centre bow too.
4/15/12 10:10 PM
jenleeC said...
Lovely nightgown and great review, thanks.
4/15/12 9:01 PM
Renren said...
So light and airy . . . and pure and innocent. Very nice vintage nightgown and then as a bonus another great review from the great Margaret!
4/15/12 11:46 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Lovely nightgown, Margaret. And it looks comfortable to wear as well.
4/15/12 9:44 AM
petro said...
Very pretty. I have a 1940's nightie pattern too, perhaps I'll dig it out and try it now. For the curved neck/ribbon issue - what about putting elastic with ribbon sewn at the ends of it, so the elastic does the work, and you still get a ribbon to tie?
4/15/12 8:01 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
And it's pretty, feminine, elegant AND sexy ;D
4/15/12 7:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Butterick 5825

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
McCall's 6231

photo
by: facesunder...

Review

Pattern