SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8997 (vintage 1940s) (Nightgown)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 255 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 5:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (4/29/12 5:45 AM) Reply
Thanks again for all your kind comments! FreyaStark, yes, a Liberty lawn would be great! valkyrie01, I sent you a PM.
valkyrie01 said... (4/28/12 1:03 AM) Reply
Wow Margaret, this is beautiful! I woud not change a thing on it! Can yu tell me how to get a hold of this pattern (if this is possible?) Great work!
droxy said... (4/24/12 2:01 PM) Reply
That is a very pretty pattern!
FreyaStark said... (4/24/12 8:08 AM) Reply
Lovely! That pattern would work well in a dainty print like a Liberty lawn, and it could also work as a peasant-style top or dress if you felt so inclined.
StudioCherie said... (4/23/12 11:25 PM) Reply
Great review. Thanks for being so thorough.
loti said... (4/17/12 1:35 PM) Reply
So lightweight a wisp of a nightie, very pretty, and romantic.
jannw said... (4/16/12 9:30 PM) Reply
How pretty!! and another great review with lots of info!
cindyann said... (4/16/12 10:01 AM) Reply
I just love vintage nightgowns and yours looks so pretty. I'm sure it will be most comfortable to wear.
Margaret said... (4/16/12 6:14 AM) Reply
Thanks everyone! Petro, that is one of the things I was thinking of doing. I'm not sure if 3/4" elastic might still try to curl in the neckline, so I may have to do a double casing with narrower elastic, so that I can make the elastic closer to the edge shorter. But either way, I'd keep the bow (even just tacking one on top if I have to). Have fun with your pattern!
velosewer said... (4/15/12 10:10 PM) Reply
I like the off centre bow too.
jenleeC said... (4/15/12 9:01 PM) Reply
Lovely nightgown and great review, thanks.
renren said... (4/15/12 11:46 AM) Reply
So light and airy . . . and pure and innocent. Very nice vintage nightgown and then as a bonus another great review from the great Margaret!
Q Valley Mary said... (4/15/12 9:44 AM) Reply
Lovely nightgown, Margaret. And it looks comfortable to wear as well.
petro said... (4/15/12 8:01 AM) Reply
Very pretty. I have a 1940's nightie pattern too, perhaps I'll dig it out and try it now. For the curved neck/ribbon issue - what about putting elastic with ribbon sewn at the ends of it, so the elastic does the work, and you still get a ribbon to tie?
Rhonda in Montreal said... (4/15/12 7:44 AM) Reply
And it's pretty, feminine, elegant AND sexy ;D
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Marfy 2264

photo
by: yorkshire ...

Review
Merchant & Mills Top 64

photo
by: Kate 88

Review
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Pattern Details