SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6557 (1974 Look Slimmer Dress)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:lyndle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lyndlestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 3/19/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 6:50 AM
Last Updated:4/15/12 8:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Looks great! I like it so much better on you then the envelope! I also enjoy your sense of humor! Nora :)
4/15/12 7:22 AM
petro said...
I love the 'nice collar thingy', the seams near the top in the centre front panel and the buttons. Lots of style!
4/15/12 7:42 AM
sewhappygrams said...
I love the style and the dress looks good on you! Love the fact that you used your Aunts old buttons. Isn't it great to access to vintage buttons? Thanks for the review and sharing with us.
4/15/12 9:08 AM
EleanorSews said...
I really love the way you fitted this pattern. It is beautiful on you. Nice to have your aunt's buttons. That's always special. All in all, great! And, what a fun review to read ~ even better, useful.
4/15/12 10:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
You look so fab in your new dress, which you gave a modern-day edge!
4/15/12 11:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great design lines on this pattern and lovely fit on you. Sorry about the iron, but now you get a new one!
4/15/12 11:55 AM
lyndle said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! It does look better than in the photo. New iron... hmm, the new irons I have tried out at other people's places all suck - I am getting out my screwdriver first!
4/15/12 4:24 PM
KathySews said...
you got a great fit and the dress looks great.
4/16/12 7:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
You did a great job on the fit. Now make it in something pretty.
4/16/12 6:13 PM
lyndle said...
Winter here is a pretty sombre dressing time... at least for me. But you're right, I should keep this on the list of possible dresses in something pretty and summery for the end of the year.
4/16/12 10:41 PM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful dress!
4/17/12 11:29 PM
mendospot said...
I think it looks great. Please post it in the Gallery of the wikia vintage pattern board!
4/20/12 7:06 PM
Wianno Girl said...
Agree it looks way better on you than the envelope and I add a great sense of humour keeps your mind open to solutions - Congrats on both.
4/21/12 12:07 PM
StudioCherie said...
Love the details and the fit. Your dress is beautiful.
4/21/12 1:36 PM
brissie71 said...
What a lovely dress! I find it interesting that it's a vintage pattern as it looks so modern and fresh to me. I'm also sympathising with you on the technology fail - what a pain! :-)
4/22/12 3:35 PM
Margaret said...
Looks great on you! Sorry about the iron!
4/22/12 5:19 PM
magpie57 said...
I think this looks lovely on you!! Sorry about your iron. I had one I loved that my husband bought before we got married. He needed it when he joined the military. It died the day he retired! 20 years and a few days. I guess that is the best they can do, 20 years!
4/23/12 11:38 PM
Adventurer said...
Congratulations on entering a contest! I haven't yet, but hope to. Really enjoyed your humor. Nice details and collar thingy.
4/24/12 11:19 PM
ImListening said...
This is a very attractive dress. I guess it's the combination of style, fabric, fit, and sewing skill that makes it this way. The buttons are a nice detail.
4/26/12 5:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 1312

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Buy Now
HotPatterns 1008

photo
by: ScaryMerry

Review