SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 917 (3 tees)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1278 times 
Reviewed by:R. Tee
photo

 
 
About R. Tee
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/02 11:05 PM
Last Updated:7/18/02 11:06 PM


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Last nite I took off the sleeves and was pleased to find that the short-sleeve version turned out to be a very nice top! To respond to everyone's helpful comments: 1) Amanda: as I mentioned in my review I expected the sleeves to fall below my shoulders. I did not expect them to fall so close to my elbows. I found the dropped sleeves to be unnaturally dropped. 2) Skymom: I found the amount of ease in the body of the top to be perfect for a top, tunic or dress. Basically I do really like the body of the garment. The neckline, amount of ease in the body and short sleeves which extenuate from the body of the garment are all very nice!
7/19/02 3:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
From the pattern sketch, it looks as though the long-sleeved version is the cut-on short-sleeved top with added sleeves starting partway down the upper arm. It's a bit odd--not quite dolman, and not really a dropped shoulder, either. However, I imagine that the tight lower sleeves are important for keeping the whole thing from just slipping down your arms and over your hands. I'd love to hear how the short-sleeved version goes. What did you think of the amount of ease in the body--would it be sufficient for this to be a straight but not tight dress or tunic?
7/19/02 10:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
R.Tee, I have made both versions of this, and I think the seam that joins the body to the sleeve is not meant to hit your shoulder. The short sleeve top has cut-on short sleeves similar to KS 3036. It may be more the style than the size that didn't work for you. Hope the short sleeve one works out better.
7/19/02 9:56 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I am sorry this pattern didn't work so well for you. I agree that the sleeves are very tapered, but I found that sewing the seam allowance at 3/8" instead of 5/8" in the sleeve area was enough to fix them. Let us know how the shirt works as a short sleeve, I have considered that but not yet tried it.
7/19/02 0:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
mudcat, i used cotton/lycra (95/5).
7/18/02 11:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What kind of fabric did you use?
7/18/02 11:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 4607

photo
by: SewEccentr...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

More Info
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

More Info