SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 917 (3 tees)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1278 times 
Reviewed by:R. Tee
photo

 
 
About R. Tee
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/02 11:05 PM
Last Updated:7/18/02 11:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Last nite I took off the sleeves and was pleased to find that the short-sleeve version turned out to be a very nice top! To respond to everyone's helpful comments: 1) Amanda: as I mentioned in my review I expected the sleeves to fall below my shoulders. I did not expect them to fall so close to my elbows. I found the dropped sleeves to be unnaturally dropped. 2) Skymom: I found the amount of ease in the body of the top to be perfect for a top, tunic or dress. Basically I do really like the body of the garment. The neckline, amount of ease in the body and short sleeves which extenuate from the body of the garment are all very nice!
7/19/02 3:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
From the pattern sketch, it looks as though the long-sleeved version is the cut-on short-sleeved top with added sleeves starting partway down the upper arm. It's a bit odd--not quite dolman, and not really a dropped shoulder, either. However, I imagine that the tight lower sleeves are important for keeping the whole thing from just slipping down your arms and over your hands. I'd love to hear how the short-sleeved version goes. What did you think of the amount of ease in the body--would it be sufficient for this to be a straight but not tight dress or tunic?
7/19/02 10:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
R.Tee, I have made both versions of this, and I think the seam that joins the body to the sleeve is not meant to hit your shoulder. The short sleeve top has cut-on short sleeves similar to KS 3036. It may be more the style than the size that didn't work for you. Hope the short sleeve one works out better.
7/19/02 9:56 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I am sorry this pattern didn't work so well for you. I agree that the sleeves are very tapered, but I found that sewing the seam allowance at 3/8" instead of 5/8" in the sleeve area was enough to fix them. Let us know how the shirt works as a short sleeve, I have considered that but not yet tried it.
7/19/02 0:33 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
mudcat, i used cotton/lycra (95/5).
7/18/02 11:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What kind of fabric did you use?
7/18/02 11:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity SEW U By Wendy

photo
by: House of P...

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now