SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3216 (Vintage Opera Coat)

Review submitted in Vintage Contest Contest
Viewed 1061 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/12 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
OMG. What a beautiful coat.
4/15/12 10:01 PM
lyndle said...
Have been following progress on your blog. How do you fit in so much sewing? This looks fab, and multifunctional - do you think Peter could borrow it from Cathy for a night out?
4/16/12 0:34 AM
sew2little said...
Kathy is glowing!
4/16/12 0:57 AM
Athene said...
A very lovely coat, and I continue to enjoy the adventures of Cathy.
4/16/12 2:08 AM
petro said...
I remember these, seeing my mother in that shape of coat. I always loved them. Lucky Cathy.
4/16/12 2:17 AM
Scheri said...
Beautiful coat Peter. Love your fabric color choices.
4/16/12 2:42 AM
Cerisa said...
That is one gorgeous coat and Cathy looks radiant in it.
4/16/12 2:49 AM
rivergum said...
Gorgeous! I love this coat and Cathy looks stunning in it.
4/16/12 5:41 AM
Bonnie O said...
Fantastic ensemble!
4/16/12 5:51 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful ensemble! I like your collar and cuff changes.
4/16/12 6:19 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, folks!
4/16/12 7:32 AM
ChantillyDreams said...
Too much fun!!! If I could get my hubby to the opera, I'd be proud to wear that!
4/16/12 8:59 AM
pterion said...
Wonderful coat! Lovely springy color brings out the rose in Kathy's cheeks. Amazing sewing and storytelling. Well done!
4/16/12 9:37 AM
Jeffer said...
Very creative!! Wish I could visit the garment district to pick up fabric like that at those prices :). The style of the coat seems perfect for Cathy
4/16/12 11:51 AM
JEF said...
Cathy is in another stunner. Great sewing Peter! Anyof it done on your treadle?
4/16/12 1:38 PM
Peter in NYC said...
He, he....no. But I did make them all on my Featherweight!
4/16/12 2:14 PM
portercs said...
Lovely!!!
4/16/12 6:15 PM
Sue Parrott said...
This is a wonderful coat!
4/16/12 10:10 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm wetting my pants after reading Cathy's story. Doesn't she look lovely with a bun-in-the-oven/baby bump. Hats off to you and your creativity! I want to live in the day when a coat and robe can be cut from the same pattern. Throw those fitting worries out the window.
4/18/12 1:30 PM
jmosew said...
I just love the Cathy photo shoots. That coat is lovely and the maternity top is very pretty too. Cathy wears them so well!
4/18/12 7:30 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Cathy is stunning in the beautiful opera coat and ensemble! Do let us know when the baby arrives.
4/20/12 8:03 AM
Aroura said...
You've outdone yourself this time! Cathy looks fantastic, and love the story, glowing mom-to-be. :). Perfect colors for her!
4/20/12 12:01 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! I love the coat and the stripey smock. The floral lining is a cute and witty touch.
4/24/12 8:03 AM
droxy said...
Cathy looks fab. You should see my male cousin. =) Fantastic coat. I have a vintage 80s kenmore and a singer 401. Wish I had time to sew more.
4/24/12 12:40 PM
BMH said...
Lovely, with beautiful details.
4/25/12 11:28 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
Beautiful ensemble! Cathy is lucky to have her own personal courtier. I am just a few miles over the bridge (hint hint)
4/26/12 1:02 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Congratulations!!!! Well done....well done!
4/27/12 11:31 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Yipee skippy...You did a great job...probably first of it's kind. THe opera coat really turned out fantastic, like your collar. Can't wait to see her new bundle of joy!
4/27/12 4:10 PM
SewWil said...
Congratulations! Cathy looks marvelous in her opera coat. I enjoyed reading about Cathy's exploits in her new outfit.
5/1/12 0:32 AM
Fluffy bunny said...
Great coat! Thanks also for the photoshoot. You've made me laugh on a horrible rainy day!
5/1/12 8:07 AM
Weif said...
Great coat and I love your story board!!
5/1/12 9:26 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everyone! They're always fun to create, though running into neighbors in the elevator sometimes raises a few eyebrows.
5/1/12 10:18 AM
GinormicaMG said...
Peter you are something else! I love the sophisticated 50ís look and your work is impeccable.
5/9/12 2:16 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice, and I really am amazed at an opera coat from that housecoat pattern; I wouldn't have made that leap.
6/5/12 8:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Burda 7658

photo
by: julliams

Review
Onion 1041

photo
by: Marge99

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now